We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our stay in Maui Ocean Breezes was wonderful! It was quiet and the only noise we could hear were the singing birds in the morning. It's in a great location away from the main tourist areas and the views are extraordinary - sea view on one side and views of the volcano on the other!

The pool is a refreshing treat first thing in the morning and after a day out exploring and we enjoyed using the barbecue every evening.

We live in the UK so were unable to send the deposit by cheque but were able to do a bank transfer directly to Anjali's Hawaiian bank account. She was always quick to respond to our emails and to confirm that she had received the money. This was very reassuring!

Using Maui Ocean Breezes as our base, we were able to drive to Hana (with many scenic stops and swimming holes on the way, and ate Aunty Sandy's Banana Bread in Keanae- delicious!), we had a tasty lunch in Paia (Cafe Mambo), drove around the West Coast (interesting single lane road for part of it!), went to the beaches (Ulua was great for snorkelling) and also had a couple of early mornings to drive to the Harbours for boat trips to Molokini and Lanai which meant we saw some wonderful sunrises. We also drove to the top of Haleakala Crater and stayed for the sunset which was extraordinary!

One recommendation would be to think ahead in terms of grocery shopping so you don't have to drive out of your way to get dinner! We had trouble finding the shops in Haiku and parking in Paia is not always easy so we sometimes drove 30 minutes (each way) to the Safeway in Kahului.

Thank you Anjali for providing such a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank TheTimsingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were looking for a peaceful place with no crowds and Maui Ocean Breezes was just that. We loved having room to walk around the property, fresh fruit trees to pick from (apple bananas are amazing) and the nice ocean view. Paia, a quaint beach town, is just a short drive away with nice public beaches, restaurants, a local food coop, surf shops and one outstanding gelato shop. Alex was always there if we needed anything and having coolers, beach chairs and snorkeling gear that we could borrow saved us from carrying or buying some. Our whole family enjoyed our stay and would recommend MOB to others..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtyellowjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This early October visit was our first time staying at Maui Ocean Breezes (in the Cottage), though we visit Maui every year to visit our daughter. We love staying on the North Shore side of Maui, and this visit was perfect. Alex is a gracious host, the facilities were quite suitable and very well kept, and the setting was utterly beautiful. It is a very relaxing spot, and as each day passed, we felt more and more at home. A lovely, tranquil location, far from the madding crowd. Haiku is a taste of real Maui living. Thank you.

Room Tip: Cottage is very private, set away from the main house, with a superb view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been around the world. We travel for business and pleasure. We like to stay far from tourists traps and act as locals when we discovers new place, without sacrificing the comfort. In short words, we like to feel like home... And this is ALL what you get as Ocean Breezes... Period... Buy a ticket, rent this place, get a tan, quit your job and stay there forever ! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed here regularly for seven years, and have always found it clean, inviting and in a serene setting. The salt water pool is a welcome change from chlorine, and it is a close drive to Up Country small towns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Anjeli, Ken and Alex the new caretaker Seem to always be working on the property, but if you need something, they are gracious and prompt in helping you.
The grounds with the view of the sea, and the nice-sized clean pool are major pluses. We rented the apartment and it is well-stocked with utensils, dishes, etc. And there was a weber grill (with supplies). food is expensive in Hawaii, and this gave us the opportunity to eat several meals in, without having to drive to the nearby restaurants.
I was with my college-aged daughter, and the privacy that I would appreciate more if I was with a girlfriend or contemporary, made for some nights when we would be under-occupied. But still, compared to the hubbub of the touristy parts of Maui, I am glad we were here.
BTW, this is the country, and if you have major problems with things that crawl (ants) or fly toward your bright iPad screen at night, Maui Ocean Breezes may not be for you. Your loss!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our family (two adults and two teenagers) had the most wonderful stay at the Maui Ocean Breezes in Haiku this past summer. Laura made us feel extremely at home and was totally supportive. We got in just before Tropical Storm Flossie made landfall and we felt wonderfully snug and secure while we watched the storm. Laura made sure of our safety and comfort including checking in on us after the power went out for a short time. The property itself is astonishingly beautiful and the accommodations are really perfect. We had a few special requests that Anjali very graciously responded to and every request was very thoughtfully addressed. We loved being in Haiku--it was central to everything and had an authentic feel to it. The birds on the property deserve a special mention as well if you are into seeing birds--thanks to the flowers and other natural features of the property (that is lovingly attended), there is a wonderful variety of birds that you can enjoy watching while having your morning tea or breakfast. We enjoyed some of the delicious and refreshing organic limes and bananas from the property's own trees. We were very nicely taken care of during our entire stay and would love to return! This is an absolute gem and is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
7.4 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
764 reviews
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
239 reviews
15.6 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
26.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: $215 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing