We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to spend a week when on your´e on Maui”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect place to spend a week when on your´e on Maui”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Firstly this is not by the beach, there is no resturants within walking distance, no noice (besides some birds and geckos). This is pure heaven for the soul.
Maui Ocean Breeze is 15 miles from the airport towards Hana, 1/2 a mile from the main road slightly up in the mountains. The view from our room and the property is breathtaking, we stayed in the part called "The retreat", a large apartment with a big well filled with appliances kitchen and lage living room and a separate tv room. A nice pool and grills for bbq.
But the best thing about Maui Ocean Breeze is KC or Casey, the lady who takes care of you and this place. She´s absolutely fantastic, always helpful and with a smile and a story to be told.

If you stay here and want to eat out somewhat close, drive 15 minutes back against the airport to a small village/town called Paia. You´ll find a couple of good resturants with very moderate prices such as The Fish Market, Flatbread and Mumbo Bar.

To swim and snorkel the best option is to drive to Wailea, takes about 45 minutes but worth the drive.

Thanks KC from Peter & Eva Sweden

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJ655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenDeSure, Owner at Maui Ocean Breezes, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the precious time to write this.
Just wanted to note that perhaps on your next visit check out Haiku the "old pinapple cannery town " which is only a five min drive up the hill and full of charming local cafes like the Lilikoi Grill,
Colleens, Hana Hou. Here you will mostly rub elbows with friendly locals and discover some of the "real Maui " which still exists.
There is a grat work out studio and a yoga and Pilates place here where guests are welcome.
Also a grocercy store with reasonable prices and great local coffee and fruits.
Also check out Twin Falls which are only 2.7 miles towards Hana and come from the dormant volcano... a sight not to be missed to swim under for sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
150
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thanks to our host, Casey, we had a truely wonderful time at the whispering bamboo cottage!
Every morning she opened a fresh cut coconut for us! It was haven!!!! And she baked banana bread for us, made smores for the kids, always brought fresh fruit and made coffee for us on our last morning. She was an angel and made us feel at home far away from home...
We are a family from Switzerland and it was just a great gift to find such a beautiful, sacred place in this tropical paradies. The cottage is so beautifully decorated and the whole atmosphere is just magical...we really hope we will be able to come back soon. Thank you very much for helping making this dream vacation come true!!!!!
Beate, Christophe, Elia & Stella from Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenDeSure, Manager at Maui Ocean Breezes, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the precious time to write this.
Casey is indeed a gem and we are fortunate for having her work in this magical spot with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had to spend the first 5 days of our Maui trip at a resort for a conference unfortunately but were so exited to arrive at Maui Ocean Breezes and enjoy the natural beauty Maui has to offer.
We were welcomed by Casey who was so helpful and inviting and who our daughter Olive fell in love with. We received fresh fruit on our porch every morning which was amazing, directions to awesome places on the island, saw beautiful sunrises over the water and had the most fun playing on the beautiful grounds with our family. Casey provided just the right amount of hospitality and privacy and we will definately recommend this place to our friends and family.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 317AmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

All of the wonderful comments about this place are true and the place is actually better than the pictures. We spent a glorious week in the Hibiscus Hideaway apartment and cooked most of our meals on premises. We really enjoyed the salt water pool, the meditation hut and looked forward to watching the birds on the lawn at breakfast time. The location is very convenient as Haiku town is a 5 min drive and has many good cafes and a very reasonable grocery market with a great selection of local stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Aloha! We stayed at the Maui Ocean Breezes in November 2011. This was our second visit to this beautiful place. In our review of our stay in 2009 we promised ourselves we were going to come back and we did. The second time was as memorable as the first time. After traveling around the world for a couple of months it felt as coming home when we arrived on the island and at Maui Ocean Breezes. Our 'own' aquaruim cottage (swaying palms studio) was just as we remembered and it was as if it we hadn't left at all.
This time we had the fortune to meet Anjali which was a real pleasure. She is very sweet and it is nice to put a face to a name in an email after all these years.
Just as our first stay, time flew by. Just as last time we know one thing for sure and that is that we will be coming back as soon as possible!!
Mahalo, Anjali!!

Room Tip: we only stayed at the Swaying Palms Studio but what I understand from other guests is that the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tongelreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

There is no better place to stay on Maui than the little parcel of heaven called Maui Ocean Breezes. This is the third property where my husband and I have stayed in Maui in three different locations on the island...this is where we will return again and again. The trade winds keep you cool all day and night; the grounds are simply beautiful and the view is stunning. It is peaceful and tranquil...good for the soul. Anjali and Ken are gracious hosts and Casey the caretaker will take good care of you! Maui Ocean Breezes is convenient to all of the island, but you feel like you are a million miles away from the hustle of the crowds. Mahalo Anjali!!

Room Tip: The studio is perfect for a couple. We would like to bring our family for a visit and rent the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

my family came to visit me in Maui, and we rented the studio and cottage. The property is beautiful and kid-friendly. There are plenty of great hiking and North Shore beaches nearby, and we loved coming back in the evening to watch the gorgeous sunset over the ocean-view. During the day we would relax by the pool and hang out on our private lanai. Anjali was a very gracious host, and often brought us fresh fruit from her gardens. It was a really wonderful experience, and I hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Property: Maui Ocean Breezes
Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing