We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Maui”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is where you come to see and feel the real Maui. This was our second visit to Maui and we had booked most of our stay in a busier resort area, but wanted to experience other parts of the island, so we booked Maui Ocean Breezes for the first couple days. We arrived at night to an absolutely beautiful unit which felt like home. Extremely clean, comfortable and expansive with plumeria flowers laid out in every room to greet us. The unit also had a complete kitchen with everything needed to cook your own meals as well as many books to enjoy and games to play. When we woke up in the morning and looked out the window our jaws dropped! From the early morning colors of the sunrise to the beautiful bold colors of the grounds and the very blue ocean in the distance, it was paradise! Walking around the grounds of Maui Ocean Breezes is a real treat! You will find a beautifully manicured lawn with many palm trees, fruit trees and plants such as plumeria, ti leaf, hibiscus, banana, lime and lilikoi (passion fruit). The property is quiet and peaceful with an amazing positive energy! The meditation hut is an extra treat and a very nice place to sit in by yourself to meditate or just take time to enjoy it and look at the beautiful views from the window. At night, we can't even begin to explain how amazing the stars looked. Being away from the busier areas of Maui, you could see stars in the sky that you never even knew were out there, along with hearing the faint sound of the ocean in the distance. One morning our amazing hostess, ReGina, cut fresh coconuts straight from the grounds for us and gave us straws to enjoy the coconut juice and we continued to enjoy the fresh coconut meat...nothing can beat that! Our stay at Maui Ocean Breezes was only to be 3 days, but we didn't want to leave and our hearts told us to contacted the owner, Anjali, to ask if the unit was available for one more night even though it was overlapping with another reservation we already had! Anjali was wonderful and flexible with our request, and the extra day was very much worth it, having one more day to enjoy the beautiful grounds, peace and tranquility it has to offer. If we could do it over, we would have booked Maui Ocean Breezes for a much longer time as it is such a special place and very convenient to the island's north shore attractions such as Haiku, Paia, Makawao, etc. The resort areas are beautiful and fun too, but the north side of the island seems to be more authentic Hawaii. You can always drive over to the west side of the island, but make Maui Ocean Breezes your home stay during your visit. Thank you very very much Anjali and ReGina!! Aloha! Derrick & Cris ~ Detroit, MI

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerrickCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Maui Ocean Breezes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 337 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed there with my parents and sister, and it was more than what we expected. From the great views, to the spacious gardens, and even the salt water pool, this place was a paradise in paradise. It was much better than staying in a hotel and with the great price I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awesomeotastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our family of three had a wonderful 10-day stay in the Bamboo Cottage. There was plenty of room for all of us to spread out. There was a beautiful view of the ocean in the distance and spacious grounds for play. I loved the yoga/meditation hut and enjoyed the egrets that would fly by the window as I practiced. We spent most of our mornings at various beaches and then returned for a rest and afternoon swim in the beautiful pool. Regina, the caretaker, was lovely and brought us fresh bananas, papayas and coconuts off the trees on the grounds. It was great to have the washer and drier. The bed was probably the most comfortable one I've ever slept in. We LOVED being in a quiet and peaceful place, far from the tourist development in the other areas of the island. It reminded us of the north shore of Kauai, where we have stayed many times.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuffetMardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, laid back, away from the large resort hotels experience on Maui, Maui Ocean Breezes is a wonderful place to go. The pool and grounds are very pleasant and private. The serene atmosphere is enhanced by beautiful flowers, a multitude of fragrances, cocoanut and lime trees, and by expansive views of the ocean which you can hear quietly roaring in the background. In the morning and at night the sounds of birds and other wildlife crackle through the air. The namesake, gentle ocean breezes are calming, comforting, and create their own Maui symphany as they jostle with the trees and foliage. Going east from Kahului airport on the way to Maui Ocean Breezes you will encounter Pa'ia, an offbeat, eclectic, "sixties vibe" town with carefree, eccentric inhabitants; and a diverse mix of shops and restaurants. It's a pleasant place to visit, and to engage and interact with the locals. Continuing toward the property you drive along Maui's magnificent and mesmerizing north shore area anchored by popular Ho'okipa Beach Park, where conditions are perfect for both surfing and wind surfing--fun to leisurely watch or participate. And since Maui Ocean Breezes is located just before mile marker 16 on the road to Hana, you'll be fresh heading into those 600+ curves as you enjoy the incredible scenery and waterfalls on your journey to Hana. Maui Ocean Breezes is a perfect place to come just to relax and unwind; but is also strategically located to pursue other uniquely Maui experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We rented the Hibiscus apartment which was one of a 3 rental properties on the same beautiful land in the north east of Maui. We soon realised the care the owner takes of the properties and the love for details which made the place and our stay special and let us feel very welcomed. The apartment was very clean and has everything you need - cooking ware, washing mashine and dryer (one for all rentals), towels, bedclothes etc., even fresh fruits from the garden! You have a perfect view on the ocean and it is very silent - great to relax! Everything was perfect and we will hopefully be back soon!

Room Tip: We rented an apartment which was very pretty and comfortable; 1 living room incl. a kitchen, a teras...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Maui Ocean Breezes is a lush beautiful place in lovely grounds, overlooking the Ocean and right on the Hana Hwy. The accom is comfortable, tasteful and practical. We fell in love with place. A few minutes away is Haiku with live music every night and a little further down the road, Paia. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GnomeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

we stayed at the studio here , very accomidateing ,peaceful and serene . came back want to sell the buisness and move to maui , gives me a goal to strive for it is the nicest spot weve stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattGuilfordCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,067 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
237 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: $214 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maui Ocean Breezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing