We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

After a very long trip (24 hours from Europe) we finally arrived in paradise. The cute cottage located in an absolute beautiful and quiet garden enabled a completely relaxed holiday. Everything was available in the house and if something was not working properly it was replaced or organised within a useful time. We really enjoyed our stay on your property and we would definitely return if we once come back to Maui for another vacation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gecko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
150
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

It is difficult to find words other than beautiful, peaceful, idyllic,etc., but these express the impact of this place on the most tropical and scenic part of the island. Parents, grandparents, nanny and three small children had exclusive use of this wonderfully tailored piece of Maui's North Shore, with its lofty vista over the sea and constant refreshing warming breezes. A lovely saltwater pool, fenced for safety and extensive well kept grounds with banana and papaya trees and coconut palms surround a large grassed play area. The units are comfortable and rustically decorated and the privacy and quiet provided us with the most restful nights. Our hosts were remarkable - unobtrusive but responsive to our needs. Very warm and solicitous, Anjali and Ken were particularly kind and attentive to the children. They also welcomed us with food for breakfast since we arrived so late in the evening. A short ride allows you to explore and shop in quaint villages like Paia and Makawao. The world famous big surf windsurfing beach at Hookipa and "Baby Beach" with its sandy beach and calm lagoon are minutes away. There are lots of good hiking trails or mountain biking nearby on the side of Haleakala. This spot is a welcome contrast to the more desert like, condo and commercialized strip mall atmosphere of Kihei. PS...great seafood funky place reasonably priced at the market in Paia and good at Mama's - though the latter is the most expensive in Maui. Altogether Maui Ocean Breezes delivered "as advertised"!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imacpher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

The grounds and rooms on this private residence are just so beautiful I can't recommend it enough. Just about 10 miles from Paia about 1/4 mile off the Hana highway, the location was perfect for what we wanted and very quiet. The owner, Anjali, was not at the property, but our hostess, Regina, was extremely personable and radiated a calm and happy energy. This is not the place for those seeking a high-end luxury resort with room service and on-site restaurants like those to be found on the other side of the island, but is perfect for people who want a quiet place they can feel is their own during their stay. You are really able to settle in and feel as though you live on the island rather than that you are visiting. Beautiful cool star-filled evenings, birdsong and palm tree-sounds before the pre-afternoon heat that is just the right degree of temperature, close to beaches, and warm greetings when you are spotted on the property...I can't wait to return.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jcav606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My daughter and I landed at Maui Ocean Breezes after a "meant to be" connection with lovely owner, Anjali. Before we even arrived it was clear she was reaching out with excellent customer service and genuine care that we have the right room/portion of the house. She was kind and helpful.

I had never stayed in Haiku before, where Maui Ocean Breezes is-- it is a very serene town, away from the tourists and crowds.. close to Paia.. which is a cool plantation town with lots of great places to eat and shop.
.
When we arrived to our apartment I was overcome by the amazing positive energy of the place.. both inside the apartment and around the grounds.. seriously, I said to my daughter, that we had arrived in a paradise! It was PERFECT. I felt a calm energy.. a place to relax, mediate, a spiritual space for my ever evolving process. Lovely fresh flowers were placed throughout the apartment.. and fresh fruits were waiting to enjoy.

We had plenty of time to relax and meditate while gazing at the ocean by day -- spotted many rainbows over the ocean as rain passed through from time to time..and star gazing by night. The sky was dark and magical with stars everywhere--and a beautiful sliver, almost like a smile, new moon over rising in the horizon.

The amenities were very nice.. a salt water pool, lovely gardens with beautiful flowers/land scape, Very clean and comfortable--quiet. The kitchen was perfect for eating in. The bed and bedding were comfortable/cozy. I love Anjali's painted walls.. very ocean like--swirls and waves--all the statues.. the books to browse.

ReJina was the on site hostess during our stay and she was wonderfully helpful and available to answer any of our questions. She and Anjali put together a nice list of "things to know and do" during your stay, etc.. very helpful. It was great to have access to the boogie boards, snorkeling gear, etc.

The mediation room on the property was a special added amenity.

I would love to return to Maui Ocean Breezes again and again!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileenkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Hi There Fellow Travelers,
First of all, I would like to tell you that "MAUI OCEAN BREEZES" isn't a hotel/motel. It's an exceptionally beautiful private property for those of you who are looking for a unique experience on Maui. If you want to be close to the divineness of nature and the true beauty of the ocean and Maui than this property is for you! There is privacy here like nothing my husband and I have ever experienced. We are the type of travelers that love the creature comforts of 5star resorts, but don't like all of the hustle and bustle that goes on 24/7 in your bigger resorts/hotels. "MAUI OCEAN BREEZES" has something for everyone. There are several rental properties on the main property to choose from. We stayed in the "WHISPERING BAMBOO COTTAGE" and just loved it. It has all the amenities that we could possibly want, as do the other apartments/studio. We went straight to Costco getting all of our supplies since we knew we had a full size kitchen and blender for making drinks. To our surprise the kitchen was loaded with the comforts of home! Leave all your snorkel gear at home, beach mats, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc. as the Desures (owners) have all of those supplies there! The swimming pool is a nice size with a tranquil waterfall surrounded by beautiful palm trees, and is gated in case you have little kiddies to worry about. Oh, and pack lightly because you can do your laundry as often as you like. Lastly, if you think Haiku is too far from the action; think again. Everything is a hop, skip, and a short drive away, In fact, Haiku is, in my opinion, the absolute best place to be located. The lushness of this property is amazing with fresh fruits daily and avocados the size of huge pears when in season. The feel of this property lets you know that there definitely is a power greater than one's self. It's heavenly, amazing, friendly, eco-friendly, huge (plantation-like), spiritual, romantic, kid friendly, private, real Maui in it's truest form with all the flora & fauna. We can't wait to return to our new found private paradise in Maui. "MAUI OCEAN BREEZES" IS THE PLACE FOR EVERYONE TO GO FOR ALL OF THE SEASONS! We hope to meet you there, unless we decide to rent the whole place out next time for a wonderful family reunion. Happy traveling to all, and in case The Desure's (owners) read this...thank you for taking such good care of us and providing us with the most beautiful and unique vacation getaway. See you soon.
Janay & Brody Heilman
Grand Junction, Colorado

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitbullsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

A stay at the Maui Ocean Breezes is an invigoration and rejuvination of your soul! Just being there over the weekend, though not nearly long enough to fully appreciate all Maui has to offer, was a completely 'Soul-Satisfying' experience. In fact, though our original itinerary had us journeying all over the island, staying at the M.O.B. was so relaxing that all other plans were soon forgotten & all extra time was spent relaxing around the property! The individual units are exquisitely decorated, quite unique & very aesthetically pleasing. The artistic attention to detail of the interiors of each room was truly something to behold, and I understand it is the owner Anjali who amazingly painted & decorated this all herself! (if you visit the website you can see some of the pictures of the rooms to get an idea, but they must be seen in person to fully appreciate). Anjali is very warm & welcoming, helpful but not at all overly intrusive. She & her husband Ken have done a remarkable job with the Maui Ocean Breezes, which are very highly recommended by this humble guest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneHumbleGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Very nice country estate located perfect for our family travels. We loved it, and echo many of the prior reviews. Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Property: Maui Ocean Breezes
Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing