We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place you might not notice!”
Review of Hana Hou Cafe - CLOSED

Hana Hou Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kokomo & Haiku Rd
Transit: Tour buses, Maui Shuttle bus, Taxi
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place you might not notice!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a fun place. We stumbled in simply looking for coffee in the community shopping center. The French press coffee we had was excellent. We added a terrific breakfast of eggs Benedect with thick slices of bacon, a light sauce, fresh fruit, and lovely presentation. Ended up meeting a friend there for lunch the same day. We had the fish tacos, which were fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and prices reasonable, especially for Maui. We sat in the outdoor patio. I understand there is lots of music here in the evenings. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun spot.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had dinner out on the patio one evening. It was lovely. The food was great and the atmosphere excellent. I would recommend trying this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 542KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great service and food here if you're staying in town. We enjoyed the loco moco, shrimp curry, mushroom pasta, and chicken plate. Skip dessert. It was good, but nothing to brag about.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goftheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Haiku, so this was very close to our Inn. We loved the atmosphere, especially with the live music they offer 6 nights a week. The menu offered mostly fish which I do not eat so I chose the chicken teryaki. I was so disappointed to find it was dark meat still on the bone!! Our server was great about bringing out a burger instead and the in

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb10557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Away from the tourist mobs on the Road to Hana, Haiku is a nice oasis to stop for a breather. The cafe is funky and cool. Plenty of interesting menu items. The pork plate is very good. The loco moco was standard, nice gravy. Across the parking lot is the last decent market on the Road to Hana. Be sure to pick up supplies there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Hou Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing