We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Chips with Silver”
Review of Hana Hou Cafe - CLOSED

Hana Hou Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kokomo & Haiku Rd
Transit: Tour buses, Maui Shuttle bus, Taxi
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips with Silver”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Early birds on a Sunday night in February just us and Silver the cat. A strange combination of dining in Hawaii with a chatty French waiter/owner, with what sounded like Marlene Dietrich coming from the speakers. The wahoo (ono) was delish and the price was right.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Too tired to wait at Coleen's we opted to try HH Cafe. My fish entree was $29 and just mediocre - opakapaka crusted in sesame tasted more fried than I would like, and sides were bland & basic. (It is nice though that they offer brown rice) My sister's eggplant burger was very good & cheap. Maybe not the place for fish. Live music was nice and the place is warm & friendly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food and music”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been coming here quite often and have always gotten the Hawaiian plate. The portions are pretty fair for the price but the kalua pig is 2 thumbs up. Also they have the best chop steak I have ever had. Music is always really good also. Try it :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatingthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice and tiny place with Great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I ended up to this tiny restaurant since we were staying in Haiku.
The place is very nice,well furnished and located in a quiet area. It has also an open area.
I loved it for the beautyful atmosphere that you can breath inside, for the live music that a local guy was playing, and for the traditional Hawaiian food that is served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tremannaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I ate lunch twice and went to dinner once during our stay in Maui. The food was great, the service was great, and the dinner entertainment was wonderful. We certainly got the Aloha Spirit from the people there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank planohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Hou Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing