We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huelo Point Lookout
Nearby Hotels
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$168
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$229
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
$282
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$595
$469
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
$407
$319
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$687
$449
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
138
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainbow cottagefresh eggsprivate hot tubfruitroad to hanamy husband and ioff the beaten pathhawaiian treatsevery directionocean viewfour dayslocation was perfectthe cliffskylightprivacyhousevacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 146 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our stay at Huelo Point Lookout's Rainbow was wonderful. It was all that we hoped and dreamed it would be and everything promised from our research on Huelo Point Lookout's web page. The host's Sharyn and Jeff Stone were informative, friendly and and respectful of our need for privacy. We are happy to consider them friends!

We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars (watching the shooting stars and satellites as he sky was so amazingly clear) and falling asleep looking at the same stars (through the sky lights above us) from our comfy king bed. The outdoor and indoor showers allowed us to shower at the same time (if needed). During the days we went to a variety of beaches on both sides of the island to walk, read, snorkel and relax. We were able to find great food to prepare for our meals and loved the fresh fruit and Hawaiian coffee provided for breakfast. We always looked forward to coming 'home' after our time away. The Rainbow cottage was beautifully furnished with lots of extra towels and touches (fresh flowers, candles etc..) If you want to experience the true side of Maui - away from the tourists and crowds (we did this the first part of our vacation) then look no further then Huelo Point Lookout - WE CAN'T WAIT TO BO BACK!. Thank you Sharyn and Jeff for sharing your piece of Heaven on earth with us!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Huelo Point is one of the best places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. For three nights we resided in the lovely Haleakala Cottage with our private hot tub and lanai, outdoor shower, fantastic bed and great kitchen (including a new gas stove/oven and dishwasher). The cottage was very clean, very well appointed and had every amenity that we could have wanted.

We'd spend the days at the secluded pool on the property (typically we were the only ones there) or up at our cottage or driving up and down the road to Hana.

The location is about 20 minutes outside of Paia and about the same to Haiku or Makawao (all three towns have great restaurants and shops to visit).

if you're looking to escape the resort areas on the island and slow down the pace of your days significantly, Huelo Point is the place to be. The three days we spent there seemed to vanish in a blink and it was almost heartbreaking to make the drive to Kahului airport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BistroBonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our third stay at Huelo Point and it won't be our last. If you are looking for a hotel with room service and meals, stay away. If you are looking for one of the most romantic spots on the face of the earth, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hueloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed in the Ocean View Suite for 8 days with my wife. Location is a little hard to find at first - go in the daytime and use a GPS if possible. Our suite had a large, fully equipped kitchen, living room with a Million $ view of the ocean and sunrise & big clostet- Comfy bed and Bathroom with tub & shower. Best of all a wrap around 2nd floor deck with nearly a 180 view of the Ocean - perfect for sunning, chilling out or watching the starry skies at night. Grounds are beautifully kept and "wild" at the same stime. Nice little pool that some of the younger guests especially enjoyed. Sharyn is a wonderful hostess - gracious and friendly but very respectful of guests' privacy. Nice secluded private hot tub by a small bubbling lagoon.
My only "warning" is that if you are expecting to have a fully working TV or sound system, you won't. There are board games & DVD's and a set to play them on but no TV reception. However the lack of these ythingsBut it adds to the tranquility and restfulness of this unique place. Bring a book, some DVD's if you want and ( most importantly) someone you like.
Also the Ocean View suite is the 2nd floor of the Sunrise Suite. A family with a couple sets of adults and kids would find it to be the perfect set-up.
If you don't have the "aloha" sprit when you arrive here, you will have it by the time you leave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you are looking for a place to hole up on Maui that is away from the crowds, romantic, unusual, charming, totally secure, comfy, and incredibly human-friendly, this is the place! Sharyn and Jeff have carved out a true piece of paradise and kept it intact for their valued guests. After long days of driving in traffic to Hana or Lahaina, it was delightful to approach that coconut palm-lined driveway towards my little Halekala Cottage. My own very private hot tub was always waiting for me, ready to bubble my day away, but of course, that was usually after first taking a dip in the pool. Guests need never want for anything.....Sharyn will gladly lend you chairs, mats, boogie boards, whatever you need.....and you can "pick" your breakfast every morning. "Strawberry" papayas, pineapples, limes, mangoes, fresh herbs, and freshly-laid eggs await you at lovely Huelo Point Lookout, and the cool trade wind breezes are the only air conditioning you will need. On Maui, there really is no other place to stay! The rooms and views are beautiful, the surroundings totally private, the kitchens completely updated with all the amenities you need, the beds comfortable, the outdoor shower a real treat, and Hillary the orange cat will keep you company if you like.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beberebozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews