We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huelo Point Lookout
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hale Ho'omana(Makawao)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paia Inn(Paia)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sprecks Plantation House(Spreckelsville)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
138
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainbow cottagefresh eggsprivate hot tubfruitroad to hanamy husband and ioff the beaten pathhawaiian treatsevery directionocean viewfour dayslocation was perfectthe cliffskylightprivacyhousevacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rainbow Cottage for our honeymoon 10 years ago and just returned for our 10 year anniversary. The place has not changed and was just as kept up and nice as it was 10 years ago. If you are looking for a romantic, relaxing, away from it all get-away...this is your place! Sharyn was very welcoming and had a bottle of wine, fruit and chocolates for us upon or arrival. She even made us some delicious homemade banana bread. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 days at the end of April to finish our Maui vacation, which was mostly spent at the Banana Bungalow.

We rented Rainbow Lookout, and probably spent the first hour wandering around just admiring the place. The views of the fields and ocean out the floor-to-ceiling glass windows are incredible! Despite all the glass there is pretty well complete privacy due to cleverly placed landscaping and the nearest building being about 60 feet away.

Weather is typical for upcountry Maui -- Cooler and wetter than the coast with frequent short, intense rain broken by longer sunny/clear periods. We found it to be ideal weather for relaxing in/around the cottage, and heat/sun are always available where you want them - on the beach a few minutes away.

I can't say enough about Huelo Point in a short review but suffice to say if you go in expecting everything all the other positive reviews have said you won't be disappointed!

Our stay was short due to the (more than worthwhile) cost and limited vacation time but we'll definitely be back!

PERFECT place for a couple to get away for a romantic weekend, and would be an excellent place to base a family vacation in Maui as long as you don't mind a bit of a drive to get to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notaspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Huelo Point this winter. A great location for exploring Hawaii and a refreshing get-away from the crowds of the west side. The accomodations were stunning, with beautiful bright colors and an open-air feel to them. Our house was covered with beautiful Hawaiian flowers when we arrived and our fridge stocked with banana bread, fruit, wine, and coffee. We also had access to a small organic herb garden and were given fresh eggs every morning. Huelo Point is about 20 minutes from the funky town of Paia which we both fell in love with. It has an unbelievable organic, health food store right in town and plenty of fun little stores and restaurants to explore, not to mention some beautiful beaches as well. Huelo is a great location especially if you plan on doing the road to Hana and visiting upcountry, both of which we would recommend.
Overall, Jeff and Sharyn's was great and we couldn't of asked for a better stay at Huelo Point Lookout. It was just what we were looking for and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a more remote, yet stunningly beautiful and private stay.
Thank you Jeff and Sharyn!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Eleven days plus of changing skies.

When we decided on Huelo Point Lookout for our vacation stay, we engaged in an extensive e-mail communication with hostess Sharyn Stone. That was a great introduction to what we experienced in reality. Great personal hospitality coupled with humor.
My wife, Annemarie, is a very spontaneous person and after she walked inside the Star Lookout Cottage she declared to be in heaven: Light, open custom designed interior and views of the surrounding tropical vegetation and landscape everywhere.
We spend 11 nights and enjoyed every minute. Had a hard time leaving for "field trips" exploring Maui.
The constantly changing weather displayed all that was available: Hard ( warm ) winds, rain, thunder and lightning, beautiful cloud formations over the ocean as well as sun in addition to the peace and quiet setting!
It was hard to find time to read the books from the well supplied library; So much to see and hear for us Norther-lings.

Thank you Sharyn, Jeff ( and the chickens ) for the banana bread, home grown bananas, eggs and the great respect for our privacy. We really enjoyed your occasional visits!

We sincerely recommend Huelo Point Lookout.
Mahola!

Hans and Annemarie Littooy Olympia WA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalittooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Sitting in a hot tub here at sunrise and watching the Maui sunrise is choice, I highly recommend it.

We had a wonderful time here and would surely return.

Staying here would be for the adventure inclined, in that the road is very very rutted, it is in the country, and is beautifully remote. For us, it was paradisaical. For those who are into granite counters and poolside service, it would perhaps feel like "rusticating."

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews