We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you expect, everything you want!”
Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We operate a high quality resort on Vancouver Island and so are fussy about our accommodations away from home. David and Bev have set up a top notch home-away- from-home at Maui Tradewinds. Their attention to detail and comfort, their friendly personal local knowledge, advice and information of where to go and what to do have made our ten days on this spectacular Island of Maui as enjoyable and relaxing as could be.
All amenities from laundry to wi-fi for that ever important at home business communication, and a great toll free phone service were all appreciated. The rooms and yard are spotless, the hottub a great way to enjoy a bit of stargazing and their location on the quiet country hillside viewing south to Haleakala.
My only worry with recommending Maui Tradewinds to the travelling world is that it will be booked up for our next visit! Definitely two thumbs up here! Mohalo and Aloha!
Al and Laura of Wilderquest

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilderquesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Tradewinds Suite for our honeymoon back in 2001, and we have always wanted to go back (we are planning on returning for our 10 year reunion). From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by Bev (one of the friendliest and most accommodating hostesses I've ever met) and she gave us a tour of the suite (where she had music playing for us when we entered) as well as tips and pointers of places to visit. Waking up every morning and enjoying Kona coffee in the hot tub was definitely the highlight of our days. The quiet and relaxing environment was a perfect place to chill out and relax. I honestly couldn't imagine staying at a better place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELundeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was our third stay at Maui Tradewinds and as soon as we arrived back home we booked it again in January 2011. This is by far our favorite place to stay in Maui. The views are spectacular and the hot tub at night is to die for. Bev and David are the perfect hosts. The unit we stayed in has a hammock with views of Haleakala, I did not know whether to read or just stare at the amazing views. From the hot tub you can see the beautiful blue Pacific Ocean, Haleakala, and the mountains where the Iao needle is located, The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The Tradewinds Suite is the unit we stay in and is beautifully maintained. Bev and David have thought of everything one could ever need. Maui Tradewinds is close to Makawao, the little town of Haiku and about 15 minutes from Paia. We cannot wait to return in January.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlohaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Justed returned from 8 days, 6 in Hana Maui on the ocean, has 2 nights at Tradewinds in Starwinds house... Loved it, great view of the mountains not much of ocean but Mountains made up for it. had 5 rainbows while we were there, house had all you need loved the outside shower. great host too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gojennygoRomegeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We definitely recommend. The place is both, hidden from touristic crowd and romantic with its exotic garden, tropical birds singing early in the morning and the astonishing view over rain forests, Haleakala volcano and the ocean. We couldn't ask for more. The suite is nicely decorated and clean. The kitchenette is well organized and the spacious bathroom has a sauna. Every evening we spoiled ourselves by waiting for a sunset in an ocean-view Jacuzzi . Unforgettable experience. The owners are beyond friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. They think of everything from all the guides of what to do and where to go (these were not just books but folders they prepared themselves) to beach towels, beach chairs and after sun lotion. We loved it and we're for sure going to come back there when we're going to Maui again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mispell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Okay here's the scoop: when you go to a place like Maui you basically have three choices: (1) Stay at some uber expensive uber fancy schmancy resort like a Four Seasons (in Wailea) crawling with obnoxious people and their obnoxious spawn that looks and feels no different than any other uber expensive fancy schmancy resort (in a posh overly built-up area that looks no different than Boca Raton no less. (So what's the difference right?) Or (2) you can stay in a tourist trap type town like Lahaina with its tatoo parlors and cheezy trinket stores and street hucksters who constantly accost you as you walk down the street to go on this tour or that dive or sit through this must-see Luau. Or, (3), you can enjoy Maui in a style that truly sets you apart from the maddening crowds. Where you can truly feel like a civilized denizen of the world. (There's also a fourth choice: a 4x4 parked on a beach.)

THAT'S what you get when you choose to stay at the Tradewinds. Your hosts, Dave and Bev provide you with a place that is truly to die for greeting you with a fridge with eggs, bagels, a juicy Maui Gold pineapple (the real deal) and Kona coffee beans (you're were expecting Columbian?) ready to grind in their grinder to make unbelieveable coffee every morning.

Their idyllic abode nestled on a hillside overlooking a fabulous vista at the edge of the rain forest on Maui's luxuriously verdant northern coast in the town of Haiku is nothing short of spectacular. There's a private living area in their main house as well as a separate even more private building altogether next door on their compound. We stayed in the main house. But I would imagine what I'm writing about here applies equally there as well.

The large, incredibly tastefully furnished kitchenette/living area faces the vista with a roomy and luxuriously comfortable sleeping area (that rivals ANY posh resort) separated by an accordian screen.

Sunrises abound. Amenities include a large hot tub facing the view along with a covered patio with a hammock and outdoor dining, surrounded by a lush garden that Bev and Dave are constantly improving along with a beautiful garden pool.

There's crisp, sharp, satellite TV for those having withdrawal from "House" or CNN. (Check the guide, however, for times of your favorite can't miss shows.) Oh yeah, there's also wireless internet, too.

They also provide you with an outdoor grill as well as all your beach needs (boogie boards, towels, mats, toys and chairs). The bath is gi-normous and there is a washer/dryer to use there as well.

The best part of the deal is the location. Which on Maui is about as strategic as you can get.

First of all, getting to the Tradewinds is easy. You're a short 18 minutes from Maui's superb airport to the town of Haiku (which has a great coffee shop called Colleens you should check out) where the Tradewinds is.

In one direction you're at the edge of the rain forest (they get some serious rainfall that's movie-like and incredibly soothing to hear). Take the road to Hana (right or East) and take your camera and make sure you have AMPLE memory cards and batteries. Because you'll be stopping every five feet to capture the magnificent vistas and waterfalls along the road to Hana.

In the other direction (toward the airport) is in the artist-colony, Paia, a town worth checking out for its fabulous shops, gelato and perhaps the most incredible restaurant on the planet (Mama's Fish House) although there are other great places to eat there as well. En route you'll pass Hokipo Beach where you can see a dazzling show of wind surfers and kite boarders. It's also the home of "Jaws" the legendary wave that rivals the pipeline on Oahu. Fruit stands are EVERYWHERE providing flowers, fresh mangoes, pineapple, coconut and other natural goodies.

Want to see a volcano or gaze at stars unfettered by atmospheric disturbance? Take a left to take the road to Haleakala crater. Again strategically on the way from Bev and David's.

Taking a left at the airport you are 15 minutes away from Maalaea as you shoot down a highway to find Maui's awesome Aquarium as well as the marina where most of their boating excursions are located.

In Maalaea you can go left towards Wailea (the Boca Raton of Maui) for its shops and a marvelous place to watch a sunset like Mokapu beach park (all the beaches on Maui by the way are public...even those with those uber fancy resorts on them). Again we're talking minutes not hours.

Going in the other direction to the right at Maalaea you travel along a very well paved road toward the western towns (and their shops) and beaches. Again all are public. Some have great waves. Others great snorkeling. Go REALLY north and you'll see the area where surfers go for some fine surfing action. And, again, all are MINUTES not HOURS away.

In short, stay at Bev and Dave's Tradewinds and you're guaranteed an incredible time. Superb accommodations in a strategic location that's close to everything.

Perhaps as close to heaven on earth as one can get.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We rented the Tradewinds Suite, I was a bit concerned when we arrived when I realized the suite is under the owners home. It's on the ground level and is orientated towrds that lanscpaed yard and big views of the mountains to the beach. The owners were terrific and we had complete privacy, my concerns disappeared after a few days of never seeing anyone. The suite and grounds are SPOTLESS, the place was fully stocked with everythign we needed including beach chairs, tons of towels, kitchen is a bit funky with the cooking elements on the covered porch but who is there to cook? It was fine for breakfast and we pretty much eat out. The place has a grill if you want to bbq. The yard was very tropical with a hammock, a beautiful view and a great hot tub and alfresco shower. We used the tub a lot and the best part of the place, sitting in a light morning rain with huge raimbows over the beach, that was pretty special. The yard also has 3 sets of gas tikis and great at hight to set that Hawaiin mood and was great to shower everynight outside under the stars with the tourches lighting up the flowering yard. All in all we'd have zero hesitation of recommending, great value, the area is beautifgul, authentic and close enough to Pia and the airport to have plenty of options for dining and groceries. Don't go to Mama's Fish House - $16 mai tai - I'm sorry that's crazy. Pai Fish Market, awesome and a fraction of the price. Beaches were beautiful onthe north shote - Baldwin in particular but surf was UP, fun to watch but not so easy to leisure swim, we headed to Kehie and went to Big Beach so you are remote in Haiku but nothing takes really that long to get around the island. The Tradewinds Suite is a very special place, the view was a memory maker and it was comfortable, private and clean. If you are a resort lover it is a very different experience but we appreciated the privacy and the setting more than getting fussed over. Go and stay - it's good for your sole!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
6.4 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
763 reviews
23.4 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
14.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
25.9 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
408 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: $295 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing