We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real perfect getaway suite”
Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real perfect getaway suite”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We definitely recommend. The place is both, hidden from touristic crowd and romantic with its exotic garden, tropical birds singing early in the morning and the astonishing view over rain forests, Haleakala volcano and the ocean. We couldn't ask for more. The suite is nicely decorated and clean. The kitchenette is well organized and the spacious bathroom has a sauna. Every evening we spoiled ourselves by waiting for a sunset in an ocean-view Jacuzzi . Unforgettable experience. The owners are beyond friendly, very helpful and knowledgeable. They think of everything from all the guides of what to do and where to go (these were not just books but folders they prepared themselves) to beach towels, beach chairs and after sun lotion. We loved it and we're for sure going to come back there when we're going to Maui again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mispell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
182
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Okay here's the scoop: when you go to a place like Maui you basically have three choices: (1) Stay at some uber expensive uber fancy schmancy resort like a Four Seasons (in Wailea) crawling with obnoxious people and their obnoxious spawn that looks and feels no different than any other uber expensive fancy schmancy resort (in a posh overly built-up area that looks no different than Boca Raton no less. (So what's the difference right?) Or (2) you can stay in a tourist trap type town like Lahaina with its tatoo parlors and cheezy trinket stores and street hucksters who constantly accost you as you walk down the street to go on this tour or that dive or sit through this must-see Luau. Or, (3), you can enjoy Maui in a style that truly sets you apart from the maddening crowds. Where you can truly feel like a civilized denizen of the world. (There's also a fourth choice: a 4x4 parked on a beach.)

THAT'S what you get when you choose to stay at the Tradewinds. Your hosts, Dave and Bev provide you with a place that is truly to die for greeting you with a fridge with eggs, bagels, a juicy Maui Gold pineapple (the real deal) and Kona coffee beans (you're were expecting Columbian?) ready to grind in their grinder to make unbelieveable coffee every morning.

Their idyllic abode nestled on a hillside overlooking a fabulous vista at the edge of the rain forest on Maui's luxuriously verdant northern coast in the town of Haiku is nothing short of spectacular. There's a private living area in their main house as well as a separate even more private building altogether next door on their compound. We stayed in the main house. But I would imagine what I'm writing about here applies equally there as well.

The large, incredibly tastefully furnished kitchenette/living area faces the vista with a roomy and luxuriously comfortable sleeping area (that rivals ANY posh resort) separated by an accordian screen.

Sunrises abound. Amenities include a large hot tub facing the view along with a covered patio with a hammock and outdoor dining, surrounded by a lush garden that Bev and Dave are constantly improving along with a beautiful garden pool.

There's crisp, sharp, satellite TV for those having withdrawal from "House" or CNN. (Check the guide, however, for times of your favorite can't miss shows.) Oh yeah, there's also wireless internet, too.

They also provide you with an outdoor grill as well as all your beach needs (boogie boards, towels, mats, toys and chairs). The bath is gi-normous and there is a washer/dryer to use there as well.

The best part of the deal is the location. Which on Maui is about as strategic as you can get.

First of all, getting to the Tradewinds is easy. You're a short 18 minutes from Maui's superb airport to the town of Haiku (which has a great coffee shop called Colleens you should check out) where the Tradewinds is.

In one direction you're at the edge of the rain forest (they get some serious rainfall that's movie-like and incredibly soothing to hear). Take the road to Hana (right or East) and take your camera and make sure you have AMPLE memory cards and batteries. Because you'll be stopping every five feet to capture the magnificent vistas and waterfalls along the road to Hana.

In the other direction (toward the airport) is in the artist-colony, Paia, a town worth checking out for its fabulous shops, gelato and perhaps the most incredible restaurant on the planet (Mama's Fish House) although there are other great places to eat there as well. En route you'll pass Hokipo Beach where you can see a dazzling show of wind surfers and kite boarders. It's also the home of "Jaws" the legendary wave that rivals the pipeline on Oahu. Fruit stands are EVERYWHERE providing flowers, fresh mangoes, pineapple, coconut and other natural goodies.

Want to see a volcano or gaze at stars unfettered by atmospheric disturbance? Take a left to take the road to Haleakala crater. Again strategically on the way from Bev and David's.

Taking a left at the airport you are 15 minutes away from Maalaea as you shoot down a highway to find Maui's awesome Aquarium as well as the marina where most of their boating excursions are located.

In Maalaea you can go left towards Wailea (the Boca Raton of Maui) for its shops and a marvelous place to watch a sunset like Mokapu beach park (all the beaches on Maui by the way are public...even those with those uber fancy resorts on them). Again we're talking minutes not hours.

Going in the other direction to the right at Maalaea you travel along a very well paved road toward the western towns (and their shops) and beaches. Again all are public. Some have great waves. Others great snorkeling. Go REALLY north and you'll see the area where surfers go for some fine surfing action. And, again, all are MINUTES not HOURS away.

In short, stay at Bev and Dave's Tradewinds and you're guaranteed an incredible time. Superb accommodations in a strategic location that's close to everything.

Perhaps as close to heaven on earth as one can get.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We rented the Tradewinds Suite, I was a bit concerned when we arrived when I realized the suite is under the owners home. It's on the ground level and is orientated towrds that lanscpaed yard and big views of the mountains to the beach. The owners were terrific and we had complete privacy, my concerns disappeared after a few days of never seeing anyone. The suite and grounds are SPOTLESS, the place was fully stocked with everythign we needed including beach chairs, tons of towels, kitchen is a bit funky with the cooking elements on the covered porch but who is there to cook? It was fine for breakfast and we pretty much eat out. The place has a grill if you want to bbq. The yard was very tropical with a hammock, a beautiful view and a great hot tub and alfresco shower. We used the tub a lot and the best part of the place, sitting in a light morning rain with huge raimbows over the beach, that was pretty special. The yard also has 3 sets of gas tikis and great at hight to set that Hawaiin mood and was great to shower everynight outside under the stars with the tourches lighting up the flowering yard. All in all we'd have zero hesitation of recommending, great value, the area is beautifgul, authentic and close enough to Pia and the airport to have plenty of options for dining and groceries. Don't go to Mama's Fish House - $16 mai tai - I'm sorry that's crazy. Pai Fish Market, awesome and a fraction of the price. Beaches were beautiful onthe north shote - Baldwin in particular but surf was UP, fun to watch but not so easy to leisure swim, we headed to Kehie and went to Big Beach so you are remote in Haiku but nothing takes really that long to get around the island. The Tradewinds Suite is a very special place, the view was a memory maker and it was comfortable, private and clean. If you are a resort lover it is a very different experience but we appreciated the privacy and the setting more than getting fussed over. Go and stay - it's good for your sole!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We were looking for a place to spend a couple of weeks that was not in the midst of the shopping loop, or typical tourist attractions. We were looking for a place where we could experience the essence of Maui, that sort of place that makes one want to relocate to this beautiful island. We found it at the Maui Tradewinds. The Tradwinds is Up-Country and feels remote, yet minutes away from excellent restaurants, beaches with surf, the Hana Hwy, fabulous yoga and some quaint shopping. The proprietors possesed the spirit of Aloha, and created a comfortable home away from home for us. Their web advertising was accurate.... what a great gift these days!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We started our Maui vacation by spending 3 days at the Maui Tradewinds in Haiku. Off the beaten path, we were able to relax with an in-room massage by recommendation of the owner. Anything we would need from sunscreen to travel guides were provided as it really was a home away from home. We were given complete privacy, and you could not tell anyone else was on property during the stay. The laid back location was convenient to the Hana Highway and Haleakala. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbluecows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Strongly recommend to spend a peacefull vacation !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inoue73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Maui Tradewinds was the perfect place to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. It's ideally located overlooking a serene valley with a view of Haleakala, the ocean and Moloka'i. It is centrally located but away from the crowded tourist areas. Bev and David were gracious hosts, available when we needed them but very respectful of our privacy. The Tradewinds contained all the amenities anyone would need. The view was fantastic and we enjoyed many sunrises and sunsets from the deck. In short, we could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBinPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
22.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,118 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
5.6 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Property: Maui Tradewinds
Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing