We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop on our Hawaiian honeymoon!”
Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First stop on our Hawaiian honeymoon!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Maui on a late Saturday night and got to the Tradewinds (staying in the Starwind cottage) well after "business hours". Beverly still greeted us and gave us a quick tour, and came back in the morning to go over everything in daylight.

Indeed there are many dry goods for breakfast/snacking. We appreciated those and took a few on our various roadtrips around the island; we also knew this was not a B&B where we would be served hot breakfasts every morning - and that's not really what we were looking for at this point in the trip anyway so we were totally fine with that. We enjoyed the comfy bed, fully stocked kitchen, nice dining table to eat at (or unload hundreds of digital pictures from your camera at!) The "backyard" of the Starwind has a barbeque which the husband grilled on one night. We took advantage of the laundry room provided and washed some clothes! We showered in the outdoor shower – cool! (there is a nice indoor bathroom too, if outdoor cleaning isn’t your thing!). We also indulged in the hot tub one night –what a fantastic deck the Starwind has!

The Tradewinds is a GREAT location if you're going to do a little "do-it-yourself" exploring of Maui, which was what the first part of our honeymoon entailed. Pretty much right at the start of the Hana Highway, very close to local towns Paia and Haiku, and not far from Kahului. As previously mentioned, close to nothing but not too far from anywhere! We enjoyed activity-filled days around the island and loved coming back to the cottage at the end of the day. For purposes of being as objective as possible, I'm not sure we needed to spend $300+ a night for a place we did not spend all too many waking hours in and may have perhaps been fine in the Tradewinds Suite or even a less nice place in Paia or Haiku, as the cottage had more than enough space for 2 adults (we didn’t even use the second bedroom at all) but heck, it was the first stop of the honeymoon and decided to indulge. That being said, this would be a perfect, more-than-affordable place of lodging if there were 2 couples sharing the cottage on a trip, and we thought would also be great for a family with a pair of children. Then you’d really get the best use of all the space provided!

So all in all, an amazing place with zero “cons” to report from us. We loved it and enjoyed the hospitality provided by the owners! Interactions with Bev made it obvious to us that she takes a lot of pride in her property and respects the beauty and nature around her. You’ll surely have a peaceful, beautiful time staying here. Mahalo! (photos to be added shortly!)


A few pieces of advice/comments:
- May be obvious, but if you're going to stay here, you probably already know you need a car!
- A good local eat - Colleen's in Haiku. Yummy, and only 10-minute drive away!
- Tradewinds provides a pretty good starting point for the drive up to Haleakala National Park - if you can get up early enough, make the drive up there to see the sun rise. We did it our last morning before checking out - it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbad311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
184
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Aloha from upstate New York! We enjoyed our stay at Maui Tradewinds. It is everything you could ask for and then some. The perfect honeymoon spot. " Thanks Bev for showing us around when we arrived ~ it was thoughtful of you." David and Bev have a way of never intruding on your privacy but yet whenever you need them they are right there.
A few of highlights were relaxing in the spa and watching the tiki torches after a long day. Also all the fresh local food they had there, we enjoyed all of it. Try a shave ice at the nearby stand its definitely worth it. It hits the spot on a warm day. For anyone looking for the perfect honeymoon getaway look no farther than the Tradewinds! Mahalo, Eugene & Carol H.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvin_S48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Maui Tradewinds surpassed our expectations. If you are looking for quiet and privacy, Tradewinds is the place for you. Bev and David have thought of everything to make your stay a stress free vacation paradise. We so enjoyed our day trips away from the property, knowing that when we returned, the hot tub and quiet calm would be waiting for us. We definitely plan to return to Maui and will stay at Maui Tradewinds, our home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We think that Bev and David are making this place even better. If you are looking for a beautiful spot, tranquility, and privacy, then this is it. I do not think that we have previously stayed in a place of this type where everything works!!!! It is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This wonderful B&B is secluded and relaxing to the max. If you want privacy and beautiful views this place is the best. Beverly and David have made an oasis in one of the most heavenly places on earth. It is in the hills and not on the beach which adds to the relaxation for me. No crowds or noise. We stayed in the cottage so we were totally self contained. The cottage is beautiful, spacious and spotless. Beverly and David were there any time we needed them but left us alone to enjoy our stay. Even though it is not in a tourist area, it is still close to everything. I would highly recommend the Maui Tradewinds to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 542KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our second stay - this time we were in the cottage - and everything seemed just perfect (again). The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable, and has an incredible view. The hot tub on the spacious deck, looking out on the mountain and sea, got daily use from us. The thoughtfulness that went into the details is impressive - and the thoughtfulness of the owners and their staff was even more impressive. Fresh fruit (such as pineapple, bananas grown on the property) were delivered by the groundskeeper, and we were greeted with a beautiful fresh flower arrangement in the cottage.
The location is perfect for some great adventures, shopping, and dining. The Hana Highway is less than a mile away, and we found charming and interesting shops and restaurants in nearby Pa'ia, Ha'iku, and Makawao. Mama's fish house and a great beach are both within 10 minutes. We look forward to planning our third trip here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmazur1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the suite for 4 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The owners really made us feel at home. Having your own yard with a view of the valley was nice. This place is well equipped and they even have a BBQ which I took advantage of.
Everyone was nice at tradewinds even the local ground keeper. I enjoyed our chats.
If you are arriving at night it's tough to find the driveway as there are no signs. ( maybe there is a local regulation not allowing) just call the owners and they will guide you in.
We had a great trip to maui and when I return we will stay here again. Thanks

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JimAndJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
22.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
515 reviews
14.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
19.2 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Property: Maui Tradewinds
Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing