We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Hiaku”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pinewood Springs CO.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Hiaku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary at the Tradewinds Suite. Beautiful jungle paradise with an abundance of hospitality, this is Maui at its finest. We loved the outdoor tropical shower and the jaccuzi that looks out over the jungle and the ocean. Access to all areas of Maui were easy and even better with all the little touches Bev and David provide for their guests, always we had beach chairs in our car, water bottles, beach mats, even sunscreen and tour books, now that is beyond hospitality. My husband travels alot and these touches added so very mich to our stay. Nothing could make our trip better, it was all at our fingertips. I cant recommend this property and its hosts highly enough, above 5 stars for all the touches and hospitality. The property stands out on its own but is made even better by these wonderful owners. You cant go wrong staying at the Tradewinds. IT was the BEST!!!

Room Tip: the outdoor shower makes me love the suite over the cottage, personal preference only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEmerson962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
180
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed the first four days of our honeymoon at Maui Tradewinds, and boy did MT spoil us! Our flight was a couple hours delayed, and Bev was more than happy to still greet us with a smile and a few necessary tips about our accommodations before allowing us to hit the hay. After many hours of flying, we were so thankful for such a friendly welcome and relaxing place to crash.

It wasn't until the next morning that we could actually see the views that their website so accurately shows, but doesn't quite do justice like seeing it in person does. Maui Tradewinds was absolutely what we needed after several months of intense wedding planning and fun, yet whirlwind weekend of wedding festivities. The breakfast food was such a nice touch! We absolutely loved the apple bananas and passion fruit that Bev and David left for us. It was even more cool to know that they are grown on the property!

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of MT, our hosts and Maui in general. What a magical place! One of our favorite places ended up being Pa'ia, the town closest to Maui Tradewinds. We loved Flatbread (oven fired pizzas) so much that we ate there two nights in a row. The service, the food, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. And, if you like craft beer, ask for Kona Brewing Company's Coco Loco or Koko Brown Ale. Amazing!

Anyhow, we cannot rave enough about MT! All of the reviews that we read before booking our trip are exactly accurate and true. If you are thinking of visiting Maui and want to truly escape, don't miss out on MT. We visited a large, fancy chain hotel while we were there, and went back to MT thanking our lucky stars that we didn't have to stay at the chain hotel.

Thanks again David and Bev for making the start of our honeymoon one that we'll never forget!!

Drew & Julie Scholl
Indianapolis, IN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Maui to celebrate our wedding anniversary and her milestone birthday all wrapped up into one.

We stayed in the Starwind Cottage which provided an abundance of space for just the two of us. The cottage is perfectly situated for traveling along the north/north-eastern side of the island, but other areas really aren't that far away. Once in the front door it's a wide open space with tons of southern exposure and a lanai that goes on forever. Walk out and you're greeted by amazing views including Haleakala which looks like it's in your backyard. You can enjoy beautiful sunrise and sunset views on a deck chair or in the hot tub.

Bev & David have thought of just about anything you'll need while staying and this really is no exaggeration. We made fresh ground coffee and brought it up to the top of Haleakala in a pump decanter, along with paper cups, to keep warm (it's cold up there!) and all these items were found in the kitchen. And they take care of your every need while there, whether it's information about an activity destination or you just need to find out where the nearest grocery store is. There's even access to a washing machine and dryer so you don't need to pack heavy.

Overall we thought Starwind Cottage was a great place to stay and a great pick for our first trip to the islands. We'll definitely choose to stay with Bev & David again when we return. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our sixth stay at Maui Tradewinds. This trip we spent 15 days at the Tradewinds celebrating our 40th. anniversary. Everything about Maui Tradewinds is what we feel the Aloha spirit is all about. It's very private and at night a soak in the hot tub to see stars, shooting stars, the Milky Way and satellites crossing the sky is incredible. The hammock is peaceful and relaxing to lay back and read your favorite book. In the morning the outdoor shower is amazing...we want one!! We cannot say enough about Bev and David. Their aloha spirit that they share really completes our time at Maui Tradewinds. We love that we are within a short drive to restaurants and shops in Haiku, Makawao and Paia. The views are amazing of Haleakala and out over the rainforest. We hope to return many more times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joaquin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to Maui for our 12th anniversary. We wanted somewhere private, off the beaten path,Romantic, and picturesque, yet convenient to the Island activities. Starwind cottage, at Maui Tradewinds, was all this and so much more. From the fresh fruit and flowers in the house, to the hot tub and a view from the deck that is indescribable. David and Bev are the perfect hosts, they were there to tend to our every need, but only there if we needed something.Our privacy and comfort seemed to be their main concern. They furnish most anything one would need at the beach, from towels to snorkels and fins.
This was our first trip to Maui, and will not be our last visit to the Island, nor our last stay at Tradewinds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We cannot recommend this highly enough! After a few days at a resort in Oahu, it was heavenly to come and stay at the suite at Tradewinds on Mauii! So peaceful, and beautiful views! The suite is well furnished and equipped! It was so lovely to wake up and look straight out at the colourful garden, and listen to the birdsong! We really felt like we were living in Hawaii rather than visiting!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melgarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 15th Wedding Anniversary and it was fantastic!!!! Bev and Dave are great people and wonderful hosts. The place is private, peaceful, and very clean. The landscaping is beautiful. My wife and I visited the entire island during our stay and I was so happy we picked Maui Tradewinds to rest our heads. When you drive up their long driveway you really feel seperated from the rest of the island and any other tourists. I really can't say enough about the place. I would highly recommend to other couples who plan to visit Maui and are looking for privacy and peacefulness. The Hawaiian music is great!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
22.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
25.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
14.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
5.6 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Property: Maui Tradewinds
Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing