We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress Relief”
Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our second trip to Maui Tradewinds was 11 years in the making. We enjoyed our first trip so much and we planned a second trip many times but life got in the way. We finally spent two of the best weeks of our lives at the Starewing Cottage. It took us a couple of days to actually get used to the idea that we were not on any kind of schedule. Bev and Dave knew that we had planned a trip with very few places to be, just wanted to "Chiilax" and that we did. I slept for eight hours for the first time in I don't know how long, my fingers nails grew, I read several books, and we decided that indeed we could get used to retirement and not having some place to be all the time. The Starwind Cottage is such a beaufiful calming place and we saw a couple of rainbows everyday. When you go to Maui, don't plan to be somewhere everyday. Enjoy the paradise and relax at Maui Tradewinds, it is awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our 10th vacation to beautiful Maui and our 1st stay in The Tradewinds Suite. What a perfect place to stay if you want the beauty, peacefulness, and true nature of Maui. The Suite was in perfect repair and spotless. Bev and David thought of everything a person might need while staying in their beautiful home, right down to having safety pins available when needed! If you yearn for privacy, serenity, and romance you will thoroughly enjoy staying here. After a fun day of activity you can come back to your own little oasis of privacy and enjoy the beautiful grounds with your very own hot tub (perfect to relax in and view the stars), shower in the outdoor shower (so refreshing), or even spend time in the sauna. Tradewinds is near to so many excellent restaurants, beach, gorgeous drives, and fun activities, BUT, far enough away to have that 'just the two of you alone in paradise' experience when you come back to your home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Bev and David are exceptional hosts. They are very respectful of your privacy. Their home is the perfect spot to relax. The Tradewinds Suite offers beauty and serenity. It is the perfect getaway situated right off the Hana Highway and convenient to a variety of activities. We feel so fortunate to have found such a perfect retreat for our amazing vacation.

Wendy and David
Louisiana

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Tradewinds Suite is the perfect location for a honeymoon stay!
It was wonderful to be greeted by such a relaxing atmosphere after our wedding. The location is quite special, and the amenities very complete. The interior and grounds are immaculate and you pretty much have your own private spa with indoor sauna and shower, and outdoor jacuzzi and shower. There are stacks of soft towels so you won't ever have to use a damp one or ring for more.

The outdoor garden is completely private and secluded, so clothing is entirely optional at this location. The jacuzzi that sits in the garden is a real treat, overlooking the green slopes of Haleakala. The views of Maui and the Pacific are breathtakingly beautiful, and also a lovely spot for night-time stargazing or a champagne toast.

The spa is perfectly cleaned and maintained with no nasty chemicals used in the water. You may find you spend half of your stay in the jacuzzi!

There really is everything else you'd want too...full kitchen, some complementary drinks, coffee and snacks, reverse osmossis filtered water, bbq, hammock, sat tv, stereo system, books, games, and some very comfortable lounge chairs for enjoying the peaceful quiet of the garden.

David and Bev are the ideal hosts. After an introductory tour, they allow guests complete privacy. Their hospitality is excellent, they are never intrusive, and are ready to accommodate special requests.
We would gladly return someday for another stay! Thanks David and Bev!

Room Tip: The Tradewinds Suite is perfect for a peaceful, secluded honeymoon or romantic vacation .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twohoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Bev and David made us feel at home the moment my wife and I arrived in Maui for our honeymoon in mid-December of 2011. They gave us a brief, yet thorough tour of the amenities, then left us alone for the three nights we stayed there -- they were there when we needed them (just for helpful recommendations about town) and left us alone the entire time. Even though there were other guests in different areas of the property, we felt as if the whole grounds was our, and ours alone!

The place was absolutely beautiful! We tried to think of anything that the suite was missing, and it had every thing we could possibly think of... from the triple-distilled reverse-osmosis sink water, to fresh coffee, fruit, and healthy food stocked in the cabinets and refrigerator, to an iPod auxiliary plug-in jack for their sound system, to a full bookshelf full of music, games, restaurant recommendations... it was more than we could have hoped for... it was easy to tell that Bev and David care a great deal about their guests' privacy and happiness, as well as keeping their beautiful spot of land clean and inviting.

Located only minutes away from the cool, laid-back town of Paia, Maui Tradewinds is in a great location with excellent hosts and a very reasonable rate. Thanks again Bev and David, we hope to see you again soon.... -Adam & Julie

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but a private jacuzzi under the stars, on the side of a mountain... very romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It is hard to describe 'experiences of the heart'. After all, what touches one person may not be the same for another. Staying at the Maui Tradewinds touched my heart; for many reasons.

After our orientation by Bev, we soon realized that we had everything we would need for a wonderful stay. So many details - big and small - were provided. And the suite was immaculate. We loved falling asleep with the lanai doors open, feeling the breeze and listening to the occasional rain shower during the night. My daughter loved the hammock and it was well used during our stay.

Staying in the Tradewinds Suite meant we had our own private paradise; lush grounds with gardenia, hibiscus, heliconia, ti leaves, Bird of Paradise, red ginger, papaya, and palms (to name a few) and a view of Mt. Haleakala. Words cannot describe how beautiful the property is. Did I mention the outdoor spa/hot tub? It was very clean and watching the stars from the spa was a highlight.

Bev and David are a beautiful couple and their home is your home. They provide everything you need in order to give you the ultimate island experience. They also have wonderful, hard working people who help to keep things working so well - Derrick, who maintains the property and Sherry who cleans the Suite to an excellent standard. Mahalo nui loa Derrick for your kind heart.

You have everything you need for meal preparation; whether it is the BBQ, cooking in the kitchen or driving 15 minutes to Pa'ia for awesome pizza at the Flatbread Company. We also loved Mana Foods (Pa'ia) for groceries. Try the frozen yoghurt. We took a private tour with Open Eye Tours and that was a fantastic experience.

We felt true Aloha love and Spirit here. Let Bev and David honour you with a beautiful Maui experience.

Room Tip: Leave the lanai doors open to feel the breeze, listen to the occasional rain shower and listen to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I recently spent our most memorable vacation experience ever on Maui at the Tradewinds. The property and suite are exquisite. Bev and David were the most considerate and attentive of hosts. As previously mentioned by everyone on this site, Bev and David provide all amenities you will ever need for an enjoyable stay. The Tradewinds was the perfect central location that allowed us to explore the entire island. In addition, being a short driving distance from Kahului, Pa'ia, Ha'iku, Makawao and Kula, just to mention a few, it was easy to enjoy dinner at various fine local restaurants, We were also able to order prepared meals or shop for groceries to prepare our own dinner and eat in the comfort of our suite. We will be highly recommending this beautiful property to all of our family and friends.
Francine and Jean-Guy, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
6.4 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
757 reviews
22.2 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
17.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
23.4 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
360 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: $287 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing