We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice B and B away from big cities but close to fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nice B and B away from big cities but close to fun”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at this B and B for a few days. It was great. Close to the beach, including Jaws (One of the best surfing places in the world). Minutes away from the small town of Paia.
The Bed and Breakfast was very clean. The room was spotless. The continental breakfast was very good. There is a hot tub outside that we used at night looking at the stars. It is amazing how dark it can get in Maui. You can see so many stars while enjoying the tub. The owner, Sandy, is friendly and knowledgeable of Maui and all the fun places to visit. I would highly recommend this B and B to others and would / will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo_G_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    23
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
95
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avila, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a place that grows on you. The more you feel battered by the avalanche of tourists on Maui, the more you appreciate this island of peace. You are immersed in the Maui of olden days, and you get tons of historical information from Sandy, who appears to have seen it all. Even some of the film crew of the Descendants stayed here.

All the rooms are different, so pay attention to your needs. We stayed in the Plumeria room, light, airy, with a view of the lush garden. The bed was good, the bathroom was large, but the shower stall was old and needed to be replaced. Breakfast was OK, if disorganized and late. You basically serve yourself, but you get used to it. People who stay here are not the beach crowd type, they are more interested in the real Hawaii and enjoy discussing their discoveries. We had really pleasant discussions with other guests around the breakfast table and in the lovely living-room.

All in all, I recommend this B&B to people who like history, peace, and a beauty that comes from time. I never had any problem with the chickens even though they were around because I would much rather deal with them than overbearing tourists. Chickens were freed by the hurricane and went feral. It's the same all over the island and all over Kauai. They are now part of nature.

Room Tip: The Plumeria room is the most expensive, but the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Aloha, just to clarify.... the guests referred to were actual lineage family members and not film crew from the movie mentioned... just wanted to correct that comment. They were kind enough to share photos of the Kauai property filmed in the movie, which was very interesting for everyone.

Breakfast: It is served via buffet and since people do gather to talk and visit in the mornings possibly this guest felt it was disorganized but on the contrary. Over the years we have found that this actually works best, via buffet. Here in Hawaii , many people including guests learn Maui Time quickly, a relaxed routine as they say.. slow down. Our guests tend to trickle out for breakfast and forcing people to sit exactly at 8 am or one specific time really does not relate to the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere we have here. So coffee is ready at 7:30 am in the kitchen and guests can enjoy that as breakfast is prepared and set out on the buffet. Since I have an open door policy, guests sometimes come into the kitchen and chat while breakfast is being put out and feel comfortable enough to ask occasionally for something specific that was not part of that day's menu. I always try to oblige. There are several tables where one can relax and enjoy conversation or if privacy and quiet time is what you desire, one can sit on the front Lanai or in the back ohana table. We are casual and promote a sense of being at a home with family and friends. We want our guests to feel and experience what living in Hawaii is really like. Breakfast is often a social time where guests talk and share their excitement of their previous day's excursions or their plans for their trip. Maui, has so much to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Haiku Plantation is a beautiful property in a very good location. It is close to the North Shore surf spots and Commercial Center. Next door there is a Yoga and spa place. The breakfast is excellent and It is very quiet place, perfect for relaxing on your vacation. I have place a few friends there and all of them loved this place. Sandy, the owner is a great person. Very clean and beautiful garden. I totally recommend to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a one-of-a kind experience not to be missed on a trip to Maui. The Inn has all the charm of Hawaii in years gone by. You can forget the "hustle-bustle" of high rise hotels and traffic jammed thoroughfares, and relax in a place filled with the spirit of Aloha. Each room is decorated beautifully in its own style of "hawaiiana" and offers privacy. The dining area and living room overlook beautiful gardens and are a lovely gathering place after a day of exploring all of the island's natural wonders and quaint shops. Continental breakfast is served daily by Sandy, the owner, who offers great advice and tips about the island with a smile and usually a giggle or two!

Room Tip: Talk to Sandy when you book the room. She will find the one best suited to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Haiku Inn is not your typical Maui B & B. An old plantation building, it's surrounded by peaceful and private gardens, well away from the busiest resorts.

The pluses:

The house is old and attractive, with a large lounge/eating area; plenty of room for all guests to get together.

There are a couple of decks, just great for evening drinks.

Turtles on the beach, and surfing just off it, are just a few minutes drive away.

Haiku is a small village, just up the road, with a good, innovative restaurant.

There's no single spot on Maui that's convenient for both Haleakala and the Hana highway, but this area is about as good as it gets if you want to visit both, as we did.

You get a far better feel for the "real" Maui here than you would if you were in Kihei or similar resorts.

The minuses:

For some (but not for us) the fact that the nearest beach is not really within walking distance would be an issue, so this is a minus if you have small kids, but possibly a plus if you don't.

We might have been unlucky with the timing, but the B & B felt a little "unloved". There was sand in the bedroom chest of drawers, towels in the bathroom that were a bit frayed and had seen better times, a light fixture in the bedroom was broken and remained so even after we asked for it to be mended, the temperature of the shower changed when someone else in the house turned the tap on. The contrast with some other B & Bs we stayed at during our holiday (not in Maui) was considerable.

Other Tripadvisor reviews of this B & B have been very good, and it was partly based on these reviews that we chose to come to Haiku. Our experience may well not be typical therefore, so while we were disappointed, I should add that this has the potential to be a really exceptional B & B; unhappily it just wasn't while we were staying there.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a lot in character; ask for the brightest available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are sorry that your experience was not as well received as we would have liked as well. But I would like to respond because we love our home and guests tremendously. To take on a home of this age you must love it and we truly spend a lot of time with our guests assisting daily. We are hands on daily operation and love to give our time and energy to our guests.

Unfortunately, these guests arrived to us very ill upon check in. This might have set the tone unfortunately for their visit with us. It was hard to communicate with them since they really did not come out of the room much for the first couple of days. We respected that request. When they began to feel better we assisted cleaning their room and became more interactive with them but still they were very much to themselves. I was told everything was fine.

We made sure we prepared breakfast for them later most mornings.

As far as towels, we do certainly rotate our towels into new guest bath towels etc all the time. We check the towels each time laundered and when folded. Sometimes a washer or dryer can snag a towel so we watch that carefully. We check again when we hang them. It really upset me to hear they had a frayed towel and just as upset to hear how that minor infraction, really made such a difference to them.

If they would have just told me it would have been resolved immediately. I suspect an outside beach towel might be to blame, which we provide complimentary to guests. It rained like crazy and with all the wet sandy towels coming back multiple times a day, we went through a ton of beach towels and house towels those couple of days. Maybe someone pulled an older beach towel one day trying to accommodate the guest. Nothing else really makes sense. But rest assured we will definitely instill again the cross checking of towels when hung.

We do have a place for sandy towels outside.. But again this was an unusually wet week and sand sticks to slothing, shoes, towels etc. We pride ourselves in keeping our home very very clean. Especially for our type of environment. These guests brought a lot of sand into their room, with the beach towels. We cleaned out the room a few times from the sand but we would not go into any dresser drawers of course since personal items. If they would have let us know they somehow got sand into the dresser and with permission we would have cleaned that as well. Dressers are cleaned out and wiped down prior to any check in.

Water pressure and temp issue: We did explain how to use the standard shower handle to receive hot water.one day. Nothing unusual about the handle, just was turned the wrong way. Simple mistake which might have added something to their hot water and cold pressure issue they mention. Honestly since we were not notified during their stay I don't know since Ihave had no reports from anyone else. Or any experience personally either.

However, , while these guests were here, our county did experience a huge water main break during that very heavy rain storm. The county was indeed repairing and working on the mains for a couple of days a few miles from here. The pressure could have been affected. No other guest mentioned it nor did we have any personal experience . Since they were in their room so much , they might have had an isolated experience. Paia however, had businesses closed due to the water main break. If we had fluctuation in pressure we were pretty lucky to have ongoing services and thanks to the county workers for dealing with storming conditions to keep the water on!


Speaking of water, it is very precious here and the county maintains the public services. , But, sometimes in draught situations Haiku's water is placed onto conserving, since our water feeds the resort area of the South. That might too also affect pressure at times, but that would be rare and certainly not isolated to an experience here but area wide.


With reference to the lamp, the switch stem had been repeatedly turned around backwards which loosened the fitting. It was a very simple fix, and I did explain to the guest again to turn the switch the other way the first day. However, we did notice when they checked out the lamp switch was again loosened. Quick fix and no other issues.


We have never advertised we are at the beach, in fact we state we are a country Inn. surrounded by rural farms etc. So it is best if visitors understand where you are staying anywhere on island. We are so diverse.

The beach is about a 5 minutes drive ,which is very close compared to many vacation or B&B rentals in the Haiku area. Guests who normally choose to stay with us at an old plantation home, are looking for this rare experience. We are a quiet , peaceful place away from the crowds. Many if not most Haiku area rentals are a lot further from any beach access than we are.

I am so sorry they were so ill during their stay which might have made them think we were not being attentive or that we do not love our guests or home. On the contrary we were very worried and concerned about their health and well being. As well as the well being of the wonderful old home which we tend to and care for with love and much honor. mahalo everyone...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you want an amazing turn of the century Plantation Inn then this is the perfect choice. We stayed for a month in this wonderful bed and breakfast, with a comfortable bed, beautiful bedroom with very tasteful decoration and well appointed bathroom. The garden is such a delight with an amazing mango tree in the driveway and avocado, lemons, coconuts, bananas, breadfruit and guavas in the fabulous garden. Sandy is a briliant hostess, she could not have more helpful with all our questions. The best thing is that it is an oasis in the middle of an island full of so many adventures, which included everything from whalewatching, snorkelling, driving the road to Hana plus sunrise and sunset on the Hareakala volcano. The best holiday we have ever had!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
Green Features: Sandy has a strict recycling, water saving and less towel washing policy
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review since I know running your own B&B and vacation rental takes much of your own personal time as well. It means a lot to have the point of view from someone else who is also an owner from another country. It was great fun comparing stories and spending some leisure time sitting around talking story.

I am glad to see this review since these guests were here as well during the same timeperiod as the review discussing the property was unloved. Hopefully this will help others reading, researching and deciding on accommodations to evaluate us while having the comments as well of these guests in house at the same exact time. We do love our home and spend so much time working on it and improving this old gem on a daily basis. We love it, love our guests.. and thank everyone for choosing to stay with us and visiting the real Hawaii in a family home of a relaxed atmosphere of Aloha. Mahalo again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What an absolutely darling bed and breakfast......very clean,,,,Sandy was friendly and helpful....continental breakfast started our day as we left for adventures. Her upcountry bed and breakfast was a highlight of our stay in Maui-our room was private and very comfortable.Sandy had touches of island life everywhere. We enjoyed reading on the lanai, and even got to meet her sweet dog. Loved your place Sandy!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
24.5 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
15.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 555 Haiku Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5884
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's original bed and breakfast inn, located in the beautiful North Shore and Upcountry. Historic 1870's home, lovely guest rooms with baths, 2 tropical acres, near beaches, rain forests, crater summit, and all activities. Affordable accommodations, highly rated within guide books and travel magazines. Maui's truly Hawaiian destination sharing the Aloha of Maui. Each guest room is decorated in vintage Hawaiiana style complete with white fluffy towels and complimentary bath products. Continental breakfast included,wifi,free parking. Use of beach equipment: chairs, towels, boogie boards, ice chests, umbrellas. Permit #BBPH2009/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui b&b
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Hotel Haiku
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing