We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal and outstanding service”
Review of Dining Room - CLOSED

Dining Room
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Superb meal and outstanding service”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We made a reservation here after less than pleasing experiences at two other restaurants more highly rated on TripAdvisor. Granted, the prices are not for everyone, but the ambiance was perfect, the meal truly fine, and the service attentive. We had a three course meal, two bottles of wine, and left a 20% tip ... the total cost was less than $200 per person. Well worth it!! For appetizers we had a lobster bisque with crab cake and I had sweetbreads on a bed of slivered apples/frisee/endive and bacon bits; for entrees we had rack of lamb with grilled artichoke and mashed potatoes and kobe beef with white and green asparagus and gratin potatoes; for dessert we had a chocolate souffle with raspberry sauce. Started with a half bottle of French champagne, then a bottle of a California merlot, and with dessert two generous glasses of Tokaji wine. It was a true, fine dine.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely formal dining”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great meal here, superb service - very attentive and easy shuttle back to Manele Bay resort. I had a mushroom risotto which was delicious: husband had local fish - again perfect. A lovely place to eat. It's expensive, but excellent

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SFvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite what it should be.”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the 'fine dining' venue at the lodge. The room is lovely--be sure to reserve a table next to the fireplace. The menu 'tries' a little too hard and doesn't quite deliver (wish they would kept it simple). Prices are HIGH and neither the food nor the service quite meet the mark.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank liamlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Limited menu excellent food”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The food was excellent. One time we had a small communication problem with the server - my wife was done with salad, they didn't know or ask...so for some reason the meal was held up until I asked when do we get the main course. they apologized and all continued to be superb experience. We did prefer the Terrace because of it's larger selection.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A winemaker dinner where the food was the star....”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The whole Lodge usually outdoes itself and this dinner featuring simple wines from Oregon's Willamette Valley did not fall short. I love my CA wines I do! But these lighter style blends and one ambitious pinot noir were paired with the best food they could be. There were five courses and pairings. Each food, from the hothouse heirloom tomato salad to the ono and some wonderful kind of risotto or other rice dish was outstanding,as was every dish. Very satisfied for a great price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room also viewed

 
Lanai City, Lanai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing