We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Canoe Lanai - CLOSED

Canoe Lanai
Cuisines: Filipino
Restaurant details
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Skip the overpriced resort breakfast and visit Canoe's. Auntie whipped up some great home-cooked food. Try the fried rice (one of Hawaii's great breakfast foods), it was amazing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waikele_Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local diner all the way”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you want to experience eating where the locals go, try this place. You will find chili pepper water (local version of Tabasco) on the tables, and a menu full of local eats. My suggestion is to try the fried rice moco--a heaping mound of home made fried rice topped with a hamburger patty and fried egg, smothered in brown gravy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Listen, you are in an environment where service is what it is, no more no less. If you feel the need to have your own personal wait staff, don’t eat here. But if you want a good breakfast, I had Eggs, Hash Browns, sausage and toast for like 9 bucks (as opposed to $33 at Manele Bay) then this is your kind of place. My daughter’s French toast was very good and my wife had the breakfast burrito, each was well prepared and tasty. Don’t listen to a word from a 4 season’s groupie, try it for yourself, be adventurous

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
462 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Skip It!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We all have an opinion, mine of this place is not great. Service is borderline terrible and the whole experience less than desirable. There's something to be said for friendly waitstaff that are attentive and that regardless of how simple or extensive a menu is and that in cases such as this, takes the time to explain to you that if you order something called "hamburger" on the menu, that item is not what most of the world consider a "hamburger" in the form of a meat patty between two pieces of bread with lettuce, tomato, condiments and/or some variation of that. Instead, what you get is meat patties that are served in the form of a "Salisbury steak".

I think that as a waiter, is worth explaining this to your customers, especially if after the surprise of getting something that is not a hamburger you will naturally ask for a knife to cut your salisbury steak since one is not given to you. Matter of fact, I don't know if they even have knives and since service is so terrible battling to cut your meal with the fork is better than the effort of getting anyone's attention. That said, not once after my food was delivered I was asked if I needed anything or whether I was satisfied with my food. I think she may have read my mind and that's why she stayed away!

When receiving my bill, there was food on the check presenter and receipt, not very sanitary I'd say but not surprised as the table next to me sat dirty getting swarmed by flies most of the time I sat there battling with cutting the salisbury steak.

If after this review you still decide that you have the right to go and form your own opinion, I'd say to you....Good Luck! Oh, and bring cash as they don't take credit cards.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romazzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Service but....”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The staff were very attentive but the food was only so-so. A bit greasy again--seems to be a theme in the city. More locals here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillO554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Lanai also viewed

 
Lanai City, Lanai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing