We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat with the Locals”
Review of Blue Ginger Cafe

Blue Ginger Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Japanese, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Eat with the Locals”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

When confronted with sky-high restaurant costs in the hotels, it's always fun to check out the places where the non-tourists go. We did, and enjoyed "plate lunch" type heaping plates of fresh, local food for great prices. My husband had a "teri beef plate" with a huge portion of teriyaki beef, rice, and macaroni salad for $10. I had stir-fried fresh-caught ono and veggies for a few dollars more, with rice and a green salad. We asked about wine, and were directed across the park block to a grocery store to buy a bottle. When we got back a few minutes later, our food was waiting for us. Our waitress brought plastic glasses for our wine, and we enjoyed our meal.
We even bought fresh-baked fruit-filled pastries to take back to our hotel for breakfast.
It wasn't fabulous, but for what we paid, we left full and happy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    177
    46
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lunch at the Blue Ginger Cafe”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Not up to the local hype, but definitely authentic! My husband's chicken plate was ok and my hamburger was a non-event. The breakfasts looked better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
233 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The poke market was our first choice for lunch, but it is closed on the weekend. Our tour guide Garrett suggested the Blue Agave. My wife selected the Ono plate, two large thick Ono steaks on a bed of lettuce salad. It was a great choice of a fish lover. I had shrimp tempura with rice and salad. We also had an order fries that was more than enough for two people. Everything was cooked to order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanorLike2Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Bakery, Breakfast and Brunch”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

First time I had the breakfast special of portuguesse sausage omelette and coffee. Both were excellent. Cost $12 with tip and the omelette would have fed two. Big assortment of patries and homemade bread. Second time the honey fried chicken for lunch was awesome. There was a steady stream of folks coming into the Blue Ginger to either east in or grab something to go. The locals must know!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Authentic Lanai was a good change of pace”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Since we had the vehicle for the night, we headed into town for dinner at Blue Ginger. There are not many places to go and this one has decent TA reviews. We quickly picked up the protocol (ordering at counter, cash-only, food brought out for you as well as water) and it was certainly one of the cheapest meals that we enjoyed during the trip. The food was decent. This is not a place with ambiance, but certainly a great atmosphere with a mix of travelers, locals, and a friendly owner who stopped through the dining room to ensure all patrons were doing well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjtjtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ginger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing