We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Lunch and Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kailani - CLOSED

Kailani
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Manele Bay Road
Description: Perched above Hulopo"e Bay, Kailani specialises in contemporary Italian cuisine made from the freshest local and organic ingredients, sourced directly from Hawaii’s fishers and farmers. Served alfresco for lunch and dinner, innovative menus incorporate seasonal offerings that are proudly showcased in Chef Dario Montelvere’s daily specials. Dinner choices include lobster ravioli with local seasonal vegetables and vanilla butter sauce; locally caught smoked ono accompanied by rainbow carrots, baby artichokes and salsa verde; and cappesante e pancetta with scallops and pork belly, candy apple purée and micro celery.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dined here for lunch every day and dinner once or twice. A little pricey but the food was great. Service was friendly and attentive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsLanai, Manager at Kailani, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear KarenP
Thank you for the review and for enjoying the restaurant for both lunch and dinner! Your positive comments have also been shared with our service team and we thank you for writing about them. With regards to the pricing on the menu, I have addressed your note with our Director of Food & Beverage and appreciate you sharing this this with us. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kailani again during a future stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit.

Kind regards,

Jeremy R. Sidman
Food & Beverage Manager, Kailani Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was not fond of the entrees at this restaurant but the soup was very good, as was the tomato appetizer.
The service was terrific, but the entrees could use tweaking. Perhaps the chef at One Forty could help this restaurant.
I suggest having drinks at Kailani as the sun goes down and then move on to One Forty or Nobu for dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bookluvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsLanai, Manager at Kailani, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Goldielvr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kailani. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and service while dining with us. I am sorry to learn that you were not fond of the entree options and I have passed on your comments regarding those individual dishes to the chef. Your positive comments have also been shared with our service team and we thank you for writing about them. Feedback such as yours is absolutely critical to our success and I appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your experience. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kailani again during a future stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit.

Kind regards,

Jeremy R. Sidman
Food & Beverage Manager, Kailani Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“tasty food , good service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

enjoyed the new menu and esp the Nobu by the pool additions! always good service and atmosphere. Also dined here in the evening and it was very nice ( although better at Thanksgiving when there were nicer touches, candles on table, nice breads and interesting butters etc) would like to see a teen menu that is somewhere btwn the adult menu and the kids menu offerings. Thank you. Also bring back happy hour!! this was always a great buzzy time by the pool and now its dead up in the lobby . wine tasting theres a good idea but not for 5pm - need to bring back the buzz!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The more casual, poolside option”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited for dinner 3 times during honeymoon stay. Great service. Simple, straightforward menu (the menus are cool - they are battery powered and glow, providing a back light for the paper menu). Can order off-menu. My vegetarian husband was pleased with this. Waiters showed the utmost in care and attention. They knew we were on our honeymoon, and the waiter smartly asked if we would drink champagne (complimentary) before opening and pouring (because some people will decline). Quiet atmosphere, under the patio umbrellas, near the pool. Less expensive than the other sitdown restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hmetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really good food with a unique view”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Part of the Four Seasons resort this is the pool side restaurant which during the day serves great snacks and lunch but in the evening morphs into an excellent italian restaurant. It also has a unique view of the bay where the spinner dolphins come in to play almost every day, making it a great place to relax with a beer or a Mai Tai.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank elarondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailani also viewed

 
Lanai City, Lanai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing