We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you love cats....”

Lanai Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longing for the cat you left at home? Don't miss Lanai`s open-air sanctuary, a happy haven for spayed and neutered cats. Imagine a large playground in paradise, where cats romp and play in Hawaii's sunshine, and snooze under shady trees. Purring cats of all shapes and sizes eagerly await your visit. Our caregivers, who joyfully care for the cats, would love to meet you too. If you're interested in adopting a cat, we love matchmaking!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
La Jolla, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you love cats....”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Lana'i Animal Rescue is a wonderful facility that rescue unwanted and feral cats on Lanai. Kathy, who is the founder, has dedicated her life to saving and caring for these wonderful animals. A donation to this long term care facility for cats is most welcome and will help to feed and care for these little Lanai residents.
Judy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJudyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you need some kitty love on vacation....go here!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I did a day trip to Lanai from Maui in March. He found this place on TA and knew we had to make it part of the day.
So before we turned in the Hummer, we made a stop here and were overwhelmed with kitty love!
This is surely kitty paradise on Lanai. We met Lynn and some other staff (sorry I don't remember everyone's name).

There are just over 350 cats here which is just amazing. The care, love and support these animals receive is very evident here. Great pride and care is taken to ensure the welfare of the cats. Upon entering the enclosure you are greeted warmly by the staff and cats who really just want you to sit down and pet them. Sit you must because you will be lavished in cat love.

They offer lots of places for cat naps, climbing structures, and play things for them. Plus, if they bring out the treat bag, watch out as plenty of them will flock toward it. If you are missing your babies back home, this place will give you a good dose of love before you get home. And if you can't resist any of these creatures, Lynn can hook you up to adopt one and get it home safely.

This is a great place and well worth a visit while on Lanai.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljthumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cat Heaven”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I am not really that big on cats to begin with...a life time of allergies has kept me from really enjoying a cute, soft, pettable animal. But I so enjoyed LARC..the cats crushing the door to get at you, like your Rod Steward ....how often in life do you get that kind of reception? Since it is a outdoor enclosure and the trade winds are blowing, I was able to stay and enjoy petting and brushing the cats to my hearts content. Cathy and all the staff were incredible....the love they have for the animals and all the measures taken to insure a good quailty of life is heartwarming. Do stop by there and see what love looks like...careful there are some really cute cats to fall in love with.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seawall1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you loves cats, dont miss this opportunity of a lifetime”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We met Kathy at the Art Gallery and the conversation soon came around to cats. SHe invited us to visit the sanctuary and we made plans to visit. We met the staff, Lynne who is a Saint and the the other staff members and volunteers. The care and joy of the cats was impactful. The love you feel just surrounds the grounds like a halo. We couldnt spend much time due to plans, but it is an experience I will never forget. Thanks Kathy and Lynne for showing us your heart!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ExitNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cat house”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

If you love cats or animals the rescue centre is worth the trip . We visited there were 350 cats housed , most were very good at working the human for treats and rubs . It is a worth while endeavour , a lot of feral cats now have a life long home and are out of the ecosystem . Great centre , staff are very accommodating with visitors and the cats love ya .

Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing