We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A purrfect place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanai Cat Sanctuary

Lanai Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longing for the cat you left at home? Don't miss Lanai`s open-air sanctuary, a happy haven for spayed and neutered cats. Imagine a large playground in paradise, where cats romp and play in Hawaii's sunshine, and snooze under shady trees. Purring cats of all shapes and sizes eagerly await your visit. Our caregivers, who joyfully care for the cats, would love to meet you too. If you're interested in adopting a cat, we love matchmaking!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
331 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A purrfect place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great visit to the Lanai Animal Rescue Center. It is amazing that these formally feral cats are now so friendly and excited to see visitors for petting and purring.
Many of these cats are more than ready to go to forever homes. Unfortunately, much of the housing on Lanai does not allow pets. Hopefully the landlord will change this policy SOON!
If you visit Mike Carroll's Gallery in Lanai City there are a number of things for sale that, when purchased, will benefit this shelter. In the alternative, visit the shelter website and make a donation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bczican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A garden of cats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I first learned about the Lana'i Animal Rescue Center from reading the newsletter from Mike Carroll's gallery there in Lana'i City. But I had been aware of animal rescue efforts on Lana'i even before the founding of the center. Truly the center is the fruition of a lot of hard work and love by the founders. It's a large, beautiful garden-like enclosure with tons of room for the cats to roam, hide, perch high or sprawl on the grass in the sun. It could definitely be a model for other cat rescues on how to provide the most stimulating, yet stress-free environment for cats. And how the cats love receiving visitors! You'll be swarmed by sweet meows and gentle pawing as soon as you walk in the door. There's no way you can sit down without at least 3 or 4 kitties jumping into your lap or next to you. They love any attention you will give them!
We also had the pleasure of meeting and chatting with Kathy, one of the founders. She's a lovely person who truly cares about the cats. She and the other founders are so serious about the center that they have worked with the venerable Best Friends Animal Sanctuary (Kanab, Utah) to learn all they need to be a successful rescue. We were definitely impressed.
My husband and I would have taken two kitties home with us right then and there, but we have an old, ornery girl back home who prefers a one cat house. We will certainly be back, when the time comes, to adopt our next cats from here!
Just like another poster stated, this was the highlight of our one-day visit to Lana'i as well!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SteffiRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you like cats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you like cats, you will think this is heaven. Hard to believe that the hundreds of cats here, all roaming free in the confines of the center, were once feral. Now they just want to snuggle up with you and get some quality petting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank arminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“You must meet LOL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband arranged a surprise visit to the LARC for me while we were honeymooning on Maui, and it was one of the highlights of our entire trip! What a lovely outdoor enclosure with so many happy kitties ready to mob our laps and legs. Very clean, well-designed, and compassionate--as a veterinarian myself, I was truly impressed and touched by the love that went into this endeavor. Many kudos to the volunteers who make it happen every day! Please go visit the Hawaiian tigers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heart-warming cat rescue facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were met by the owner/operator of this wonderful facility. Perhaps 50 of the 317 "residents" purred around our legs wanting loves, attention, and to be adopted. This was the highlight of our one-day visit to Lanai.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasBobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing