We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These folks really care”

Lanai Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longing for the cat you left at home? Don't miss Lanai`s open-air sanctuary, a happy haven for spayed and neutered cats. Imagine a large playground in paradise, where cats romp and play in Hawaii's sunshine, and snooze under shady trees. Purring cats of all shapes and sizes eagerly await your visit. Our caregivers, who joyfully care for the cats, would love to meet you too. If you're interested in adopting a cat, we love matchmaking!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“These folks really care”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Found out about this from one of the art galleries we visited in town. They are making huge strides in getting the feral cat population under control, which is a major undertaking. The enormous enclosure has a roof on it, so these cute little furry carnivores cant kill the native birds, which is an even bigger deal. Heart them!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kitty shangri la”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you are a cat lover or are just interested in how humans can care for pets withoutt families you will LOVE this cat sanctuary. The executive director and her volenteers are amazing cat lovers who are making a difference. It's a huge fenced in area, the cats all get along and they are really friendly. It's just pure joy to see this place and to see all these ferral cats living out their years in a safe place. I asked the concierge about the place and they put me in touch with Kathy who personally met us to drive us there. Can't wait to go again!

Helpful?
Thank hawaiiginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special Haven”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Not like any animal shelter we have ever seen. Cat community in natural environment, no cages, friendly, committed volunteers, healthy, happy animals. If you like cats, this place is a must!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“'Lanai Lions'--Amazing!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When my husband and I were last visiting on Lanai, we got the amazing chance to visit the center TWICE, we loved it so much!!! There are so many beautiful, friendly cats in there, and Kathy Carroll and Amanda who showed us around were the sweetest ladies ever. We wished would could take them all home with us this time...or at least one....but fingers crossed we can do that in the near future (if my husband lets me add some more to our "cat pack" at home ;)). These cats are such wonderful cats, so if you can take one home, YOU MUST...however, I have to say, they're not bad digs for the interim that these kitties get to live in while they're waiting to be adopted....we'll definitely visit here every time we are on Lanai, and would recommend it to all you cat-lovers out there! You can help out in other ways too, as they're always looking for help with food, toys, etc. and ways to make the sanctuary the best cat home possible!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank slmstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Oh Those Kitties!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are looking for an unusual and very rewarding non-touristy experience on Lanai, make time to visit the LARC cat sanctuary to play with the kitties. This outdoor sanctuary is home to more than 350 cats, mostly feral but that seem to love human company. They line up to greet you when you arrive and follow you around, anxious to play. We visited in mid September, picked up at our hotel by the spunky and lovely Amanda. She gave us a tour of the sanctuary, which is very clean and has a beautiful distant view of the ocean. We spent close to 2 hours playing with cats, brushing cats, and just sitting quietly with cats. Some immediately climbed into our lap when we sat down, others crowded around just happy to have us close. Visitors are a part of a program to help socialize the cats, both to improve their chances of getting adopted and to simply improve their quality of life. They definitely love visitors and are free and easy with purrs, churrs, and flop-and-rolls. The sanctuary is a true labor of love, built by volunteers. The health and contentment of the kitty herd speaks volumes, truly exemplifying the passion that these volunteers have for the cats.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaOka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing