We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check out their "laptops"! Mouse not included...”

Lanai Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longing for the cat you left at home? Don't miss Lanai`s open-air sanctuary, a happy haven for spayed and neutered cats. Imagine a large playground in paradise, where cats romp and play in Hawaii's sunshine, and snooze under shady trees. Purring cats of all shapes and sizes eagerly await your visit. Our caregivers, who joyfully care for the cats, would love to meet you too. If you're interested in adopting a cat, we love matchmaking!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Check out their "laptops"! Mouse not included...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a fun visit! Amanda, the kitty concierge, gave us a ride from Hotel Lanai to the center. There were plenty of "laptops" to go around -- as soon as you made a lap by sitting down, immediately one or more kitties made their way to your lap. My husband had 4 kitties in his lap at one point. The volunteers (Amanda, Lynn, and others) are so welcoming and it is obvious they love the kitties and that they are well cared for. We had such a good time that when we had a jeep the next day, we stopped by to see if anyone was there, and were able to have more "lap time"! If you love cats, if you're missing your kitties from home, or if you want to experience some really loving kitties, this is the place for you!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pattic777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    5
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Louis Lanai, Pam, and Buttercup were so snuggly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visiting LARC was one of the first activities we scheduled when we got to Lanai. The concierge at the Lodge helpfully contacted Kathy, the founder of the sanctuary and we made arrangements for her to pick us up and see the cats. There are over 300 cats here and they are taken care of by dedicated volunteers who ensure that they are healthy, get spayed/neutered and enjoy a happy life. LARC also works to get the cats adopted.

We spent 2 hours here and enjoyed every minute. The cats met us at the gates and followed us around and within moments were on our laps. You can tell that Kathy and her team love all the cats and this sanctuary is clearly making a positive contribution to Lanai. This is a very unique experience, so you should definitely consider stopping by. It's also worthwhile donating to LARC. Kathy picked us up, took two hours of her time to show us around, provided us with gloves and lint removers to de-fur while we were there and didn't ask for any money. It was such a great experience. Thank you Kathy!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cuddle kitties to your heart's content”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are a cat lover, you must include the cat sanctuary on your trip to Lanai or Maui. Everyone here is so nice - they will even come pick you up from your hotel - just call and leave a message and they will get back to you and bend over backwards to arrange your visit. And the cats are terrific. So many friendly, cuddly, purring friends who will want to jump in your lap or sit at your feet. It's really a neat experience to see so many happy, lovely kitties roaming about the unique grounds that have been created just for them. I would absolutely adopt a kitty from LARC in the future and loved visiting in the meantime.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linz-likes-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must See!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The staff was brilliant, generous, and truly passionate about their work. The cats are healthy and loved. What a great model for a shelter this is. Make sure to buy some T-shirts at the Carrol gallery in the city. They are cool, and the money goes to a good cause. You won't want to leave until you've pet every cat that wants to be pet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Drtenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
“Kitty Heaven in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Lanai Animal Rescue Center was the highlight of our visit to Lanai. A beautiful, open air no-kill shelter, we found about a hundred well socialized, friendly. lovingly cared for cats that would love to be adopted. The place was very clean and had all the kitty amenities - plenty of food and fresh water, lots of climbing and snoozing spaces, and a warm and caring volunteer staff that keeps them safe and healthy. Right by the airport, be sure to make this a stop on your visit to Lanai!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJCSDiamondHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Owner at Lanai Cat Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting our Sanctuary, it means the world to us when people like you come and give our kitty's so much love! We are so glad you made time on your vacation to stop by. Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope you are able to come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing