We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LARC - a must stop for Lana'i visitors”

Lanai Cat Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longing for the cat you left at home? Don't miss Lanai`s open-air sanctuary, a happy haven for spayed and neutered cats. Imagine a large playground in paradise, where cats romp and play in Hawaii's sunshine, and snooze under shady trees. Purring cats of all shapes and sizes eagerly await your visit. Our caregivers, who joyfully care for the cats, would love to meet you too. If you're interested in adopting a cat, we love matchmaking!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“LARC - a must stop for Lana'i visitors”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Lana'i Animal Rescue Center (LARC) was an unbelievable experience for our family during our trip to Lana'i. The LARC is a beautiful sanctuary for over 300 free-range wild and abandoned domestic cats found all over the island. Cats are very well cared for by a team of local volunteers and local veterinarians. Upon entering the reserve, approximately 40 cats crowded toward the door in anticipation of being petted and held. My kids instantly fell in love with several of them and wanted to arrange for adoption (shipping can be arranged via the LARC). When inside the reserve, we were able to interact with all of the cats.The cats are very affectionate - as I bent down to pet one purring fellow, another quickly jumped onto my back to reserve his space in line. Kathy Carroll serves as president of the LARC and is a wonderful personality who is dedicated to this organization; Kathy is the wife of the artist Mike Carroll and a visit to his gallery is another must when visiting Lana'i. No fee is required to enter the reserve but donations are appreciated since the reserve is a non-profit community service organization entirely run by volunteers and donations. In summary, the LARC is a must stop for Lana'i visitors (even the dog lovers will like it). Don't miss out on adding these memories to your stay while visiting Lana'i.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Owner at Lanai Cat Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So glad your family enjoyed your time at LARC! It is our dream that all our cats will find a home to call their own, and it is so easy for animals to venture out of state. We hope that your family will stay connected with us via Face book and consider adopting on your next vacation! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lanai City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cat's Dream”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Loved the grounds and the TLC that our furry friends were given. The whole atmosphere is bathed with LUV....Gr8 job LARC!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Owner at Lanai Cat Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mahalo Jerry!! It always makes us extra happy when "locals" stop by for a visit! We hope that you will stop by often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best attraction on Lana'i!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I read about this amazing cat rescue center on Lana'i but didn't know we couldn't take a taxi there. Well we were looking at the shops and came across the Mike Carroll gallery. Absoluely beautiful art there. Mike's wife( Kathy) started the center so he contacted Kathy and Kathy arranged for us to be picked up.
There are over 300 cats at the center . They are clean, healthy and very well behaved.
We had a fantastic time there. Amanada drove us to the center. She is an employee who takes so much pride in her work.
That was the best part of our 10 day vacation. If you love animals, go see the center. You can call the Mike Carroll gallery in Lana'i for more information at 808-565-7122 if you have questions.

Joyce and Bob Thomas

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy C, Owner at Lanai Cat Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mahalo Joyce and Bob for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure meeting you both and showing you our Sanctuary. I am so glad that our paths crossed, thank goodness we can keep in touch via FB. Truly hope that the winds bring you back for a visit again! Our cats miss you already
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The icing on the cake known as Lana'i”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were on Lana'i for the first time ever for a wedding so the weekend was filled with excitement and beauty, but the icing on the cake was to walk into a cat lover's heaven!!! My husband, who is not as crazy about cats, but definitely warming to the idea, had a great time too. How could you not when the cats all beg for "nooges" or to be brushed. For cat lovers, imagine a 5-6 cat group hug....now imagine 3 more rubbing up on leg while you're loving that group hug...PURRRRRR!!! This place is so clean! All food and water dishes are sparkling. Kathy Carroll, the kitty concierge, was so gracious and generous in offering to pick us up at The Lodge and personally take us to the sanctuary. She has a vision for LARC and the smarts to make that vision a reality! Ask her about each cat's story--she knows each one. To see cats living a stress free life in the most natural setting I have ever seen almost brought me to tears (of joy). If you don't have a rent a car, ask the concierge at your hotel about LARC. My dream is that the hotels will offer shuttle service to LARC too. We only had about an hour before our flight, but it was the BEST way to top off our wonderful weekend!! We will definitely be back again. Thanks to Trip Advisor--we would have never known about this piece of heaven. Thank you to Kathy and all the volunteers who keep this purrrfect patch of heaven alive!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a great afternoon up at the cat sanctuary. Kathy met us in town and drove us out and we spent a couple of hours chatting to her and playing with the cats.

It's a great cause, and well worth a stop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Cat Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Cat Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing