We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirt, dust, mud and boulders!”
Review of Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garden of the Gods can be found driving off paved roads past the Stables and a Preserve. It is surrounded by Rock formations caused by years of erosion.
Maui
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Dirt, dust, mud and boulders!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stunning beauty in a desolate and devastated terrain that emits an uncanny spirtual warmth. Amazing profiles of soil and stone...worth the drive!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    50
    31
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Colors on the way to Polihua Beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We rented a jeep and made the trek from the Lodge at Koele to Polihua Beach and to get there we drove through the Garden of the Gods. The sun wasn't necessarily cooperating with us early on as it was peeking in & out of clouds. At first the many colors didn't seem that striking, but after we made our way back from the beach later on in the day, the clouds had drifted away and the many colors were beautiful. It was very windy, so not sure if it was that were were visiting during the winter months or if it's always windy here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZTraveler1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks like we landed on Mars!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a fantastic experience. We had a tour guided jeep tour and our tour guide Garrett was an islander who had lived on the island all his life. His knowledge and experience of the area made the tour. The landscapes at Garden of the Gods are very unique and extreme. Terrific experience...very windy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoeK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Windy and don't bring your best clothes”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

we took the 4x4 jeep excursion to this location. The bumps and rough terrain are part of the fun. Just, be aware of the thick red clay on the roads, I had to almost throw away my clothing I wore on this adventure (until Oxy Clean got it out). It was VERY windy so be careful when standing on the edges of the rocks, but very picturesque and fun to get there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mystical experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Amazing place to be able to experience. A bit of a drive, but well worth the effort. The views are remarkable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank educated53037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of the Gods also viewed

 

Been to Garden of the Gods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing