We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We respect the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garden of the Gods can be found driving off paved roads past the Stables and a Preserve. It is surrounded by Rock formations caused by years of erosion.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“We respect the past”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a bunch of random rocks, very windy, not much to say.. Dress warm, good views around on a clear day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mongching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    30
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
352 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“EERY”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

There is something very special about this place but it is hard to really explain. In addition to the rock formations and unique landscape there is a feeling that you are at a special spiritual place - especially if you look at some of the rock formations and mounds. It is not something that will be apparent to all but, if take the time to learn a bit about the place then you will better understand what we are trying to point out. It is a beautiful place for all and a very special place for those who have taken the time to understand it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OMNISCIENT_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Off Road Adventure”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Exciting - really back to nature - take a high clearance vehicle and be prepared for off-loading even though you are on the "road"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caerfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Other-worldly landscape”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

You need a jeep to navigate the dirt road to Garden of the Gods! It's a wild, bumpy ride, as are many of the roads on Lana'i, and takes 20-30 minutes to get there. The rock formations are not what you expect on Hawaii, but worth the trip; great views!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joyful1LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Take the jeep”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

There was nothing here but rocks and dirt roads. I had a rental jeep and it was a fun place to ride. Not much else here. If you don't like off road driving you will hate it here. I never had to put it into 4wd so it wasn't that bad of a road to travel. If there is any mud You should stay out of it I hit one puddle twice and had to pay an extra charge for a extra dirty jeep at Dollar rental. I kinda thought it was a rip off. What kind of place rents a jeep to drive on dirt roads on a rainy island and wants you to keep it clean. I may be crazy. I did get it a little dirty I'll post the pictures taken by Aaac service heating and air Mcdonough. (had to throw in a plug for the boss he paid for it). There was only one puddle 20' long I might have slowed down if I knew they were going to charge $40 extra to clean it. No I would have gone threw it 6 more times as fast as I could . No food or restrooms for miles plan ahead. Don't drive the jeep in the deep sand on the beach at the end of this trail.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RodDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of the Gods also viewed

 

Been to Garden of the Gods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing