We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long ride” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shipwreck Beach

Shipwreck Beach
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Long ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We didn't get a close look, very uneven terrain. Make sure you leave your jeep far enough back so you're not in the beach sand

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nyyfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    58
    31
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We enjoyed a packed lunch here looking out at the shipwreck and watching the kite surfers doing there thing.

Lots of turtles in the water too which was cool.

It was pretty easy to get there, but we were glad we had booked a Hummer to make the journey more comfortable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank scottiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful day - the ship is haunting. The views were great. Virtually no one was there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hau'ula, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“See it from a distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The walk from the parking area to the ship was long and painful. Wasn't able to stroll down beach, but had to clinb over sharp rocks for about an hour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaluanuibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Save your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

It seems like you are expected to rent a Jeep and explore the island. I say save your money for a nice dinner or drinks at the bar. We went to Shipwreck Beach and other than the view of Maui it was a total bust. We explored some of the Coastline as well but it was a bust as well. Whether you are at a Four Seasons property or the Lanai City Hotel, you are better off spending your time there than renting s Jeep!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank pebblebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Beach also viewed

 

Been to Shipwreck Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing