We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Hawaii”
Review of Hotel Lanai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lanai
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Spent 4 nights at Hotel Lanai - It was an incredible experience. Inkeepers Mike and Michelle (and entire staff) welcome you with the warmest Aloha Spirit. The Hotel is a unique and special Hawaii experience that will not be found anywhere else. We took the entire hotel (11 rooms). We had a blast. The Hotel Restaurant - Lanai City Grill, is one of the finest dining experiences in Hawaii - food, service, everything. Away from the faster pace of tourist Hawaii, Lanai and this hotel is a unique corner of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RowerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lanai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 202 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

Loved this little hotel with big personality. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are very comfortable. High speed internet if you're so inclined. The only place to stay to get to know the island. Quiet and intimate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel is a gem. It was built in the 1920s and seems to have been recently restored. It is charming, welcoming, and distinctively Hawaii. The furnishings are tasteful, the beds are simpy divine, and the room is very clean. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The continental breakfast is included in the price of the room and features Island fruit, juice, coffee and homebaked muffins that change daily. The hotel is within walking distance to the town square where there are cute shops, a bank, open air dining options, an art gallery, and a sweets shoppe. It is also next door to the Lanai Historical Center which is a beautiful and interesting center about the rich history of Lanai.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just back from a birthday bash with friends at Hotel Lanai. Who knew the place was jumping on a Friday night with a live band and dancing? And of course there was great food from the kitchen. Accommodations at Hotel Lanai were the best -- comfy, great decor and relaxed island style ambiance. Managers Mike and Michelle are terrific hosts.
Lots to do on the island: we hiked, we visited the cultural center, we shopped, we ate and we ate some more. Great weekend, great island! This little gem beats the fancy resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamuelaFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We found a lovely, Hawaiian style, historic hotel on the Island of Lanai, The Hotel Lanai. The hotel is located in the small, quaint town of Lanai. The guest rooms are charming but the real surprise was the hotel's restaurant, The Lanai City Grille. The menus are created by the famous Hawaii chef Bev Gannon. It is a first class restaurant with world class wines, but at reasonable prices. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, and enjoyed the live music on Friday night. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, especially Michelle and Mary Lou, the bartender. We will definitely return to the Hotel Lanai.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovegolf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Hotel Lanai is refurbished and is charming and rustic. Everything is clean and new but the hotel has maintained the feel of old Hawaii. Staying at the hotel is a must for any traveler who wants a unique and truly relaxing experience. Set among the beautiful, majestic tall Norfolk trees in the cool climate, you can breathe fresh air and hear yourself think. I was there for a fabulous traveling golf school called Insight Golf School for three days. We dined each night at a five-star restaurant Lanai City Grille in the hotel. The service by the owner/manager Michael and hostess/manager Michelle was unbelievable. The food and presentation of each dish were top of the line and could easily compete with any high end restaurant at moderate prices.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParLadyLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

we went to a golf school, Insight Golf School -traveling golf school, and stayed at the Hotel Lanai. It is a very charming place to stay....very quite, relaxing. The Lanai City Grille in the hotel is absolutely fabulous. the chef is as good as it gets. Would give it a 10 our of 10!!!! And it doesnt get better than this: Great Food and Great Golf!! the pros were very special in that the lessons were customized to fit me at my level. Then after golf, the social part of the group was really good also.Would highly reccommend both the Hotel AND the Insight Golf School! We are going to travel again with them to Vermont in October!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
20.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
376 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
539 reviews
15.6 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanai

Address: 828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Cook pines is a small country inn with ten plantation-style rooms and a private cottage called Hotel Lanai. It is a historic landmark, built in 1923 by James Dole as lodging for his pineapple plantation executives. Inside Hotel Lanai is a beautiful restaurant and bar, the Lanai City Grille, with award-winning cuisine. Tourists can relax in the cool breezes, enjoy the quiet atmosphere, and appreciate affordable accommodations. Complementary continental breakfast is provided to registered hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanai City
Hotel Lanai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing