We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

If your looking for peace & tranquility, you will certainly find it here! A great way to appreciate the finer things in life but also be thankful for our blessings! A great family experience, cant wait to come back. Mahalo!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Lodge at Koele – it is a very special place. We look forward to welcoming your family again to Lana’i.

A Hui Hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
133
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Four days at the Koele Lodge can either be about right or not quite enough. Set in one of the most picturesque corners of Hawaii, it's a perfect respite from Honolulu's hassles. But knowing we can't stay here forever, four days was probably about right in being able to recharge the batteries before diving back into the rat race. Enjoy the walk to and from Lanai City (from where James Brown the cat followed us all the way back to the lodge), the hike on Koloiki Trail to one of Hawaii's best views, the great dining, beautiful grounds, and wonderful staff. Maybe we should stay here forever after all!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ddbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your great review with us. We agree that four days is not enough (forever may not even be)...The island has so much to offer from activities to relaxation. We are so happy you enjoyed the beauty of Lana’i City, hiking, dining and especially our team! We look forward to welcoming you back – maybe for even longer.

A Hui Hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were treated like royalty here. It was such a nice change of pace from all beach resorts we stayed at on Maui.

Room was nice clean and had an awesome porch.

Restaurants were pricey but the food was excellent. Service was great all around.

We were greeted by our names the whole time.

We hope to be back next year for our first anniversary :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lfrancis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our team strives to treat every guest like royalty – we will be sure to give them kudos! We are glad you enjoyed your room, the food and the service. We look forward to welcoming you for your first anniversary and many more.

A Hui Hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely place in the middle of nowhere, but very restful and well-furnished. Had a hunting lodge feel. The other hotel at Manalele by the ocean was more typical, and had the only true spa services, and golf course during the time of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorjohn1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the relaxation of the Lodge at Koele – it’s unique with a upcountry feel. We definitely have best of both worlds with Manele and Koele. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

A Hui Hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were greeted at the airport, our luggage tagged and whisked away and delivered directly to our room (no opportunity to tip anyone, either). Shuttle driver was obviously not prepared to be a tour guide, though and we found a number of his claims to be total BS. (He claimed the coffee place in town was $14 for a frappucino, as an example.)

We were greeted with a flower lei for me and a Kukui nut lei for my husband, warm towels for our hands and face, and cups of hot chocolate. We were seated in the lobby and the desk clerk brought us papers and room keys and a little welcome pamphlet, then walked us up to our room. It was a huge room, with lots of comfy seating and a lanai overlooking the grounds on the quiet side of the building. Bathroom amenities - OMG! - and towels and a double-sided closet, so that you could grab your clothes from the bedroom side or the bathroom side. Separate toilet room with light and fan. Wonderful, wonderful change of pace! Bed linens were exquisite, and towels and lots and lots of "free" bottled water in the fridge, by the side of the bed and on the fridge area. Nice note from mgmt and bottle of champagne to recognize our anniversary.

Nightly turn down service - all towels whisked away and changed, bed linens untucked, floor mats by the bed, flower and card signed by all the housekeeping staff for our anniversary the 1st night.

Complimentary limited use of 2 computers and a printer - 1 hour on the 1 computer and boarding pass privileges on the other - in a little room right by the front desk.

Hiking sticks in the rooms, but we had brought our own collapsible sticks, since they also function as tripods. Did lots of hiking.

As I recall, the pool and spa privileges are not reciprocal at Koele and Manele Bay It didn't look to me as if anyone at Manele Bay was enforcing that, as we were offered water, fruit, towels by Manele Bay folks when we were transiting the pool area down to the beach area and back. The beach area was very well staffed and run by the Manele Bay folks and we stopped by for the fishing demo and snorkeling on Friday, since we weren't able to rent the Jeep after a rainstorm. Beach staff was also gracious to us on Saturday, when we decided on a little more hiking - one of the trails goes past the beach area and we were offered water and smoothies for our hike. Surf was again very high on Saturday, too cold to swim up at Koele and the Manele Bay's wonderful pool was really full, so we only got to swim on Friday.

Nitpicking - Koele concierges didn't really coordinate with Manele Bay conditions. We were told no to the fishing demo and snorkeling on Friday - surf was still too high. We went down to the beach since we were bored (no Jeep, remember?) and the folks down there said everything was to re-open by mid-morning - the MB concierge even came down to the beach to make sure we knew things were available again. The official path to the beach had been closed, since the rainstorm had washed out a footbridge, so you could either take a more "active" path down, or take a shuttle down to the beach. Koele folks should have had the same info, we think. We ran into a similar situation Saturday - Koele didn't know beach activities were curtailed Saturday morning. Koele concierges worked really, really hard to keep folks from eating in town, too, but MB folks didn't care so much. That might be since Koele's golf course is closed and they may be hurting for business.

Shuttles were great and we got along very well with most of the drivers, who came to recognize us after a while. Many opened up about places to go or visit, and they were the first to tell us about the beach being scheduled to re-open - even before the concierge. They run on the 1/2 hour, and stop in town, also pretty much on the quarter hour. The Four Seasons shuttle seems to be the unofficial bus for the community; Hotel Lanai guests and day trippers also used the shuttle, but we never saw any townspeople on the shuttles.

Nitpicky thing: Our flight out was in the afternoon and we wanted to do some activities in the morning. I asked the front desk what about the time between check out and our flight? How do we get cleaned up? They told me that we had to use the Fitness Center, which is a separate building in the back of the property. So, we had to roll our suitcases down a couple of hallways, down a short flight of stairs, along a sidewalk, along the pool deck and into the Fitness Center. Fitness Center attendant was a little surprised, but we were able to shower and change clothes for our trip back home. Then, reverse the process to get our bags back to the bell stand. I'm glad we had a place to get cleaned up, but boy is it inconvenient.

Food and drink prices were jaw-dropping, so we ate appetizers on night 1 for $85 (!!!), went to eat at Manele Bay for our anniversary dinner and brought sandwiches back for night 3. We found fantastic places to eat in town, used the supermarket, and stocked up our fridge. We ate where the locals ate and they got to know us and we, them. Town is about 15 minutes walk downhill, if walking leisurely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
453 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a luxurious highlands resort which has positively gorgeous grounds. Positively, unlike other hotels in the Hawaiian Islands, it has a wonderful ambiance which is quite an unusual combination of various cultures of the world. I loved listening to the Hawaiian Kahuna who was selling his handmade goods in the lobby. His knowledge of the islands was incredible. With the large fireplaces in the common areas and the games offered on the lawns, one has a feeling of a gaming lodge or something which one might find in Scotland. The rooms are, also, something other than is the 'usual" in Hawaii. There is shuttle service between the various points on the island. Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha DRRIGBY,

Thank you so much for writing a great review about your vist this March. It is true that the Lodge at Koele offers a very different Hawaiian experience that many do not expect. I am so happy you were able to experience this and enjoyed it.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With warmest Aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Most visitors to Lana'i have probably visited the other islands, and are perhaps looking for a different type of Hawaiian experience. Koele doesn't actually feel like Hawai'i at all - but is still spectacular. It is hard to describe....the drive is lined with Cook Pines, there is croquet and lawn bowling and huge stone fireplaces. It is a place to feel pampered and curl up with a good book - perhaps wearing a sweater instead of a swimsuit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
16.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.6 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing