We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they anticipate your every need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“they anticipate your every need”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am not even sure how to begin to describe this place. Maybe, I should focus on the water.

When you arrive, in addition to your lei, they offer you fresh pineapple juice. In the lobby, there are large tanks of water with cut fresh fruit (pineapple, orange, lemon, etc.). In your room, there are two bottles of water. The bottles in your room are replace every day.

If you go to the fitness room, every machine has a bottle of water waiting at it in addition to a large tank of water with fruit. By the pool, there is another large tank of fruit infused water. If you take the hotel shuttle on an excursion, they offer you a bottle of water. If they see you waiting for the hotel shuttle, they offer you a bottle of water.

Am I obsessed with water? No. When I travel, I tend to be cognizant of where I can purified water while on the go. With water as with almost everything else in this hotel, they anticipate your need before you have it.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, and the food in the main restaurant was very tasty.

I have stayed at other Four Seasons. This place was nirvana.

Room Tip: The sunsets are beautiful looking out from the front of the hotel. My room was on the first floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_traveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we have just had 5 days staying at the lodge and it met or exceeded all of our expectations in every way. we had read reviews that complained about staff or poor service, we found absolutely none of that, they were all genuinely friendly helpful people. we rented a jeep wrangler through the local dollar franchise so that we could explore this beautiful little island and not rely on the shuttle. we drove down to the other 4 seasons resort at manele bay and ate at their terrace restaurant and swam at their beach but we were so glad after visiting there that we had chosen the lodge....so much quieter and more peaceful. manele could probably be anywhere in hawaii or the pacific islands....the lodge is lanai... we intend on returning .

Room Tip: a koele deluxe room is our recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have visited the Lodge at least 5 times. Simply put, it is my favorite resort in Hawaii. Why? It is beautiful, relaxing, and totally in the spirit of Lanai'i. If u are looking for night life, fast pace resort environment, this is not for you. But, if you really want relaxation and a no "rushed" experience, this place is right will fit your needs. The golf is great, service excellent, and the atmosphere stunning. Trust me, it is worth your time. What can I say, it is vintage Four Seasons

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dcknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I were browsing in magazines to find that special place where we would hold our wedding reception. We found a picture of this resort in a magazine and decided to fly out here to see it in person. This property was even more exquisite and stunning in person! Needless to say, this resort is our "special" place and many thanks to the gracious and accommodating staff for making our day the PERFECT one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiavu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just completed our 9 day stay at the Lodge. This was our sixth year in a row so we are aware of the changes under the new ownership. There is a new sense of excitement in all of Lanai!! We have stayed in the huge fireplace suite above the library, complete with your own dedicated fireplace attendant, a standard room, a one bedroom suite, and the larger corner room overlooking the pond---all are wonderful. The historic pictures around the Lodge are quite appropriate and very interesting. The interiors of the The Lodge are immaculate. The fireplaces now are kept going all day and night keeping that distinct smell of what I'd call mesquite wood in the air. The two cats are there as always. Last year they experimented with moving part of the restaurant seating to in front of the fireplace which we didn't like. This year the restaurant seating is back to where it is was which was nice. Everyone is very friendly and they make you feel at home. In fact, the previous 8 days of our Hawaii trip was spent at Hualalai in a two bedroom house which was nice, but we really looked forward to our return to Lanai. There will be some needed minor improvements to the Hotels technology (TV, internet connection, and room thermostat) coming soon. The Lodge of Koele is truly a special place and is our most favorite place in the world!!

Room Tip: We like the room overlooking the pond or the rooms overlooking the gardens. The least desirable roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha chipper4,

Greetings from paradise! Thanks you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback from your recent stay this month. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your ifinity and loyalty to the island and resort having stayed with us the past six years. As you mentioned, there is definitely a sense of excitement on the island with the recent enhancements and new guest experiences. I'm delighted to learn you enjoyed the spacious and luxurious fireplace suite. It offers such a romantic and elegant setting, complimented by the grand fireplace. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, it was great briefly meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your seventh visit!

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a relaxed Four Seasons hotel, which meets most of the standards of the other Four Seasons properties I have visited, but falls a little bit short because there is no sense of aiming aggressively for a high standard that one feels at the Four Seasons in Shanghai or Boston, for example. However, this is Hawaii, and things are relaxed, and it all feels natural. We had a lovely visit, enjoyed all of the facilities, and particularly liked the cool air and beautiful climate. The golf course is closed until "late 2014 or early 2015", according to a sign posted on the door of the pro shop, and that was actually great because it meant that the entire place was quiet and calm, without golfers or golfing activity. This is a good place to go if you just want to sit back and relax. There aren't a huge amount of things to do, so you can lounge in a hammock, play croquet, hike, or ride a horse through the fields. The fact that most of the guests were retired couples seemed to confirm that this is a low-key kind of place, and that was perfect for us. Bring some warm (for Hawaii) clothes, and spend an evening by the fire pits on the terrace, under the pine trees, and you will be in heaven.

Room Tip: The rooms facing toward the ocean also face toward the road, and this becomes very noisy just after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45CountriesSoFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We loved this hotel, spacious rooms, beautiful gardens, pool, and lobby. Unfortunately, the prices at the restaurants are outrageous! The town is close so went there to eat. The "Koele" golf course is closed while they make changes, so we played the "Challenge". Very fun, views on almost every hole and we even saw whales. How fun is that!

Room Tip: It's a small island, but there's lots to do and explore. The "lodge" is close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 231Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
814 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
314 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing