We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional Customer Service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have not yet had the pleasure of visiting the Lodge, but will be there in March of this year. I was quite surprised by the level of service, directly from the hotel manager, that I was offered to help me resolve a booking error that I had made.

The hotel had no obligation to help me resolve this issue, but offered me a few different options to fix the issue, all of which were very curteous. This hotel, as with all FS resorts, really put the customer and their experience first, whcih makes it clear why they are at the top of their class.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank documenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aloha documenter,

Greetings from paradise! Thank you for taking the time to share your pre-arrival experience. We are very much looking forward to your visit next month and as you discovered, our team (myself included) is very happy to assist. I'm glad we were able to resolve your booking inquiry and please be assured, we are always here to help - whether it's prior to your stay, during or post visit! Please let us know if we can further assist with any recommendations or coordination leading up to the trip. See you very soon, March will be here before you know it!!!

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at "The Lodge" was a fantastic way to kick off our island hopping vacation. Our accommodations were incredible. The facility and grounds were gorgeous. And we felt as though we were completely insulated from an otherwise noisy world. Very relaxing and comfortable.

Though access to the beach was a bit inconvenient, the Four Seasons shuttle service made it virtually a nonissue. The dining staff made our special anniversary celebration unforgettable!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aah987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at Koele from Jan. 16-20, 2014, we keep going back yearly, because it's such a relaxing place to visit, very nice and not crowded, and the entire staff at both Resorts are fabulous, First Class Service for entire stay. Views are awesome at both Resorts, one with ocean views (Manele Bay ) and The Lodge @ Koele with Mountain Views.

Room Tip: Upstairs corner rooms are very nice, although we moved downstairs, more convenient, because we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronaldrezentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Aloha ronaldrezentes,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent January stay with us. On behalf of the entire team, we are honored that you return yearly to our beautiful Resort. As you noted, the island and Resort is incredibly relaxing and an idyllic destination to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. While there is an abundance of adventure and activities to experience, most guests seem content relaxing around the property and enjoying the luxurious Four Seasons service. I look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

A hui hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Lodge @ Koele is a great example of Four Season experience: it's luxurious without being overbearing or stuck-up; it's beautiful but accessible; and expensive but worth it. Overall, it's a fantastic way to experience a relaxing side of Hawaii, whether you are traveling by yourself, as a couple, or family.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. Deluxe rooms overlooking the pastures are especially notable, as they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelioSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge almost 20 years ago when it was quite new. We were overwhelmed with everything about it and couldn't wait to go back. When they offered a night free for 2 nights paid, we booked and were really pleased with the entire experience in January 2014. Some reviews discouraged us and we had cautious expectations, but the Lodge is still one of the best anywhere.

The unique location in the "hills of Lanai" is wonderful. Having access to the beach at Manele Bay is great. The snorkeling and beach experience there is the best in Hawaii. Umbrellas, chairs, lunch service on the beach, etc. are all included with no nickel and diming which is a welcome benefit. Several reviews complain about not being able to use the pool at Manele. Who wants to swim in a pool in Hawaii anyway?

The golf course at Koele is closed "indefinitely" while they rebuilt it. That may discourage some, but watch for some discount room rates.

Some people question: "What is there to do on Lanai?" I can't think of anything there is on other islands that isn't on Lanai except traffic and shopping malls.

We enjoyed the simple restaurants in town, especially the Lanai City Grill. Yes, the hotel restaurants are expensive, but we shared some entrees and kept our meal budget under control. The wait staff was great and encouraged sharing. Some restaurants sneer at customers who want to share food. On Lanai, they do whatever you ask for with a smile.

In it's early life, the Lodge was supposed to resemble an English hunting lodge. It was charming then and still is even though they took away the animal heads. The fire places are still used and so strange for Hawaii. The charm and warmth of the Lodge never ends. It actually gets chilly at night at 1500 feet above the ocean.

The only very minor complaint was a unmentioned "transportation fee" of $47.50 per person which was added to our bill. There is no resort fee or other nonsense, but this mandatory fee covers pick up and return to the pier or airport and shuttles between the hotels and town. The strange part about this fee is it's a one time fee regardless of whether you stay a day or a year.

If you like Las Vegas or spend vacations in shopping malls, please don't go. If not, don't delay, go to Lanai.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. There is no reason to pay for a large room. The standard rooms are huge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Don't miss out on a stay at the Lodge at Koele on Lanai, Maui, Hawaii. You will be treated like Royalty. We were on Island to do some serious Mountainbike riding. Even as dirty and Muddy as we were when we rode up to this exquisite Hotel, the staff invited us in as if we were a King and Queen. We declined and opted to check in from the lanai. What service. Mahalo to the staff. They know how to treat guest. Aloha from maui

Room Tip: The suites on the ends of the resort are amazing. Well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've been holding off writing this negative review because I was sincerely hoping the Four Seasons would contact me. We stayed at the Lodge at Koele for the first four nights of our honeymoon starting November 1. Following our stay, I completed the online survey they sent to me with very detailed feedback and a phone number saying I'd be interested in being contacted, but it's been two months and I'm thinking that's never going to happen.

We live on Maui and decided to go to Lanai for the first part of our honeymoon. We had heard wonderful things about the Lodge and since we are originally from Seattle, we were looking forward to a cooler climate and relaxing retreat. The best way I can describe our stay at the Lodge is that the property itself is stunning, but the service was a huge disappointment. Think of it as a 5 star property with 3 star service. It wasn't necessarily one thing that blew the trip for us, but more of a series of mistakes/annoyances that by our last day there had us fed up and ready to go to the Four Seasons Hualalai on the Big Island. I won't go into all the gory details, but suffice it to say that we do not plan to return to the Lodge. A few examples: They said they would call when our room was ready but no one called us. Hardly anyone acknowledged that we were on our honeymoon. The service at the restaurants was inconsistent and lacking and the food was not good. A shuttle driver told us 5 mins for the next shuttle- we waited in Lanai City for 45 minutes until one finally came to get us after we called the hotel.

I have read the reviews from other Trip Advisor members and I guess our stay was not the norm. It just felt like communication was lacking. I want to be balanced in my feedback and say that the girl that showed us to our room was nice and one night they printed a Congratulations message on our menu at dinner, but otherwise, the stay was a huge disappointment. Feel free to read my review of the Four Seasons Hualalai if you are interested in a real 5 star experience and why we will return to Hualalai but not the Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Aloha LovetheLux,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback from your stay with us in November. I appreciate you also taking the time to complete our online survey and apologize that you have not heard back from anyone regarding that particular survey, I will follow up with the team. Thank you for selecting the resort to celebrate such a special occasion as your honeymoon and congratulations. The resort, as you noted, is beautiful and quite a romantic setting for a honeymoon. Based on your overall review, I'm sincerely sorry we did not meet your expectations - of both the brand and reviews from past guests. Our priority is to offer the very best service, warmth and unforgettable experiences to guests and I appreciate you sharing your valuable insight so that we can identify areas to better improve the guest experience. Whether traveling for a honeymoon, birthday or as a family getaway, we want to ensure each guest leaves with a remarkable experience. I have already spoken to the departments you mentioned and will continue to follow up with the team so this does not happen in the future. If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please feel free to contact me directly.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
alice.bouman@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
816 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
532 reviews
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing