We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Event Horizon is Getting Closer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Lahaina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Event Horizon is Getting Closer”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Lodge at Koele has been our escape practically from the day it first opened its doors. Over those years there have been many changes, some small others large but the 'spirit' of the Lodge and the staff that care for it has always been the fundamental reason we continue to return. Since the sale of the island there have been noticeable face lifts and cosmetic changes, making things prettier or more functional but the larger changes are looming and for the most part the fundamental components of this evolution remain a mystery. Knowing that nothing lasts forever, we will return as often as we are welcomed and build on the lifetime of memories. Whatever happens down the road will indeed happen and we will deal with that when we have to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Lanai and the Lodge. They have been in the process of upgrading the Lodge and it is still a wonderful retreat. The service is outstanding as you expect from a Four Seasons. If you are looking for a very different Hawaii experience, this is the place for you. The resort is nestled in the center of the island within walking distance of Lanai City. They provide regular shuttle service to the Manele Bay resort and the beach. We spent a day on the beach and the excellent service extends there as well. We were invited to a manager's reception on the Wednesday evening of our stay. This was a very nice touch and gave us an opportunity to meet the staff and talk about the new changes that are coming to Lanai. Overall, this was a great, relaxing trip which was exactly the way we wanted to end the year.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to upgrade from a standard room because the views are better. I would also re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheelfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha tarheelfan91,

Greetings from Lanai! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the resort, especially the special mention regarding our service. We pride ourselves on offering the very best to our guests and want to ensure a luxurious and memorable experience. As you noted, the resort is located in the upcountry - about 1,600 feet above sea level, yet only a 20 minute shuttle ride to the beach. It offers an upcountry escape, surrounded by colorful gardens and the rolling hillside. Thank you for joining us again in paradise and ending 2013 in style. I hope to see you again next year!

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Decided to stay at Lodge vs Manele because rooms looked nicer and could at least walk to town (the only town). We had a corner room with view of the pond on second floor which was great. Room was very spacious, bed very comfortable, and bathroom real nice. Also came with nice lanai, although temperature was cool. We arrived early and was offered early check-in which was nice. Lodge and grounds have a wonderful feel and are very relaxing. Lodge lobby is gorgeous. We stayed on golf package and because course at the Lodge was closing for renovation in Jan and not in the best of shape, we played the Challenge at Manele twice. It was in excellent condition and breath taking. Their are ocean views on each hole and the holes along the ocean can compete with any ocean course. The Manele location is warmer and probably better if you are looking for sun and beach activities. Lots of renovation going on. It was nice being able to use their facilities but it is a windy 25 minute drive and my wife gets motion sickness. Shuttles run every hour till 5 then every 30 mins. There is a $50 charge per person to use the shuttles which is added to your bill. Dining is expensive. Overall, staff and accommodations were outstanding and worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more space and ours, 276, had great view of pond at end of building. Lanai on seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We escape Maui for a bit of holiday magic and the Lodge is the perfect place. Enjoy the relaxed comfort of the Lodge and they decorate the public spaces so tastefully. Staff is always warm and welcoming. This year they had a keiki Performing Arts group sing carols for the tree lighting party and it was a lovely event. Huge gingerbread "island" was made for the lobby, most unique! All in all a lovely get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Staff is amazing! You will not find better! Had an awesome Honeymoon! From the activities and setting - this resort considers every comfort and you will never want to leave! Gorgeous rooms too - light and colorful! Wish I could live there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just returned from a six night stay at the Lodge and our time there couldn't have been any better. The property is undergoing changes as always, and they were all terrific.

We loved the new lounge furniture and umbrellas! The hotel room was perfect as always and this time, not hot once! Nice new coffee maker too with great tasting coffee if you miss the complimentary coffee service in the morning.

The Terrace restaurant has been moved around back to its original location - so beautiful and peaceful to dine there. The food was terrific - all meals breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had to get creative with the menu because we are vegetarians and the staff and chef went out of their way to accommodate us. We did not go hungry!

The management is terrific and keeps notes on your personal preferences and such. For example, we had extra hangers in our closet when we arrived because they know we always need them.

I can't say enough about this hotel. It is a hidden gem.

Last year we were upset about the prospect of not being able to use the Manele Bay pool and surrounding areas any longer, but I didn't miss it at all. We stayed at the Lodge and hung out there and in the city for five days, and only went to the beach once. The beach service is top notch and I actually preferred it over the Manele Bay grassy area where we used to relax. I highly recommend going to the beach as it is spectacular.

So, if you are wondering whether to go back - do it! And if you haven't been there you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookluvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha goldielvr,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to learn that you are a returning guest and appreciate your praise regarding your overall stay. We truly appreciate the warm feedback regarding our recent public area enhancements. The resort, as you noted, has never looked better and the feedback has been wonderful. Between the new décor, landscaping, and new food & beverage offerings to name a few, it's an unforgettable experience. Thank you for highlighting all of the thoughtful upgrades to the resort. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A hui hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have been to the Lodge on four different occasions, and never cease to be amazed by the facility and staff. The ability to access the adjacent property at Manele Bay is also a bonus. We were a bit disappointed in our inability to use the pool at Manele Bay, and hope this changes, but otherwise everything is just about perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
816 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
532 reviews
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing