We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh how I love the Lodge at Koele......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“oh how I love the Lodge at Koele......”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge at Koele in September to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Our trip began on Maui and we took the ferry to Lanai for 2 nights. Lanai itself is a really neat departure from Maui. The Four Seasons shuttle met us at the ferry and drove us up the mountain to the Lodge at Koele. Its about a 20 min drive to the Lodge from the ferry. The island is majority owned by Larry Ellison (Silicon Valley-Oracle) as of late and the shuttle driver had nothing but nice things to say about the somewhat recent transaction. The people who live on Lanai are happy to have the cash infusion by someone who loves their island and wants to keep it the way the people want it. The island is a very mellow place to relax. We spent our nights at the Lodge and took the (included) FS shuttle to the other FS resort on the beach for the days. The Lodge is at a higher elevation and is forested. We enjoyed walking around the grounds of the resort. There are fountains and trails and stables with horses. They have a nice gym that is located near the pool that is well equipped and comfortable. We like to frequent FS hotels as they always have icy soaked towels in the gym and lovely flavored waters and gatorade. Nice touch. The gym was very clean. Our room was gorgeous and had wonderful views of the grounds. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Its a Four Seasons!! There was nothing missing. Turn down in the evening is always nice (slippers, water, chocolate) and the bed was delicious! The bathroom was enormous and lots of marble and a nice makeup area with chair. Once day upon our return to our room after a day out, the maid had noticed my husbands reading glasses laying on the desk. She had folded up a little FS eye glass chamois cleaning cloth and laid it on the glasses case. I feel its those little sublties that make a Four Seasons experience different from other hotels. We enjoyed the ease of taking the shuttle to the other FS property on the island that is beachside (Manele Bay). We enjoyed the beach resort by day and the lovely, quaint, peaceful and ROMANTIC Koele by evening.

If you get the opportunity to visit Lanai, both the resorts are lovely, but if you are looking for quaint, romantic and relaxing, then Koele is the place.

Room Tip: We stayed off season with rain. We had a 2nd story room that had a balcony off of the grounds. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5boys2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Another great stay at the Lodge. From the pick up,at the ferry to the drop off, it's always a great time. Miniature golf, shooting sporting clay targets, eating in Lanai City, it starts with the Koele Lodge. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha Greg L,

Thanks for your great review! I'm glad to learn you are a returning guest and appreciate your loyalty. As you noted, there is an abundance to do on the island and it's a very easy, 45-minute ferry ride from Maui - making for a stress-free trip to paradise. There are a lot more activity options to explore - from horseback riding and golf to UTV rides, so I hope you visit again soon.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I want to make this an annual trip. It was absolute perfection.
The service was impeccable, all with friendly smiling faces.
The grounds were spotless.
Total relaxation.
If you're traveling with young children the four seasons at manele bay is better suited.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June Lake, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the lodge and it keeps getting better. We stayed 9/12/13 – 9/16/13 and the staff was great especially the pool attendants. Sounds like we stayed at the hotel about the same time as lucindaw and can’t understand what her issue is. Again, the staff was great. Alice Bouman since you addresses the departments about the disappointing behavior please address them for us and let them know that we think they are doing a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Truly a lovely up country experience. You may choose to enjoy the beach and dining at the Manele Bay property, and escape back to the tranquility of Manele when you are ready. Many times we felt as if we were staying at our own private plantation. The staff were helpful and effective- we felt spoiled and very well cared for. We would definitely return, and recommend others to the hotel.
Mahalo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I read the review of the lodge where the reviewer commented on the staff talking loudly . I must come to their defense in this matter. I think that the reviewer may have mistaken the joie de vive of the islands for rudeness. We have found that the staff and guests share the fun and old fashioned good times of weekend at a English country estate .The times we have been there we were over come with such a state of happiness watching people get up and sing and dance and just share the joy of being alive .We love Hawaii but the lodge makes us feel like family welcomes us back home .

Room Tip: After four trips we never found a bad room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovemywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha Ilovemywife,

Thank you taking the time to share nice feedback from your stay. You truly experienced the beauty, charm and genuine warmth of the island and culture. The resort, as you noted, is a beautiful country-like estate surrounded by colorful gardens and and the rolling hillside. I'm so glad to learn that you feel like "home" and enjoyed our wonderful staff and service. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A hui hou!

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Lodge at Koele remains one of my favorite hotels in the world. With just over 100 rooms, even if it was full, it would feel special. It's not on the beach, and it costs a pretty penny, so you won't get the [--] vacation crowd like you will at lots of other places. Don't get me wrong, Hawaii has some of the best best front properties in the world, but this is something different. Being in up coutnry Lana'i gives you a country manor feel. The air is several degrees cooler than the lower parts of the island, like Manele. This is the perfect getaway for Hawaii residents, when you don't have time to fly to the mainland. The housekeeping service is wonderful, while the dining staff, save several of the servers, is truly hit or miss. Make sure you walk into Lana'i City and grab something to eat from Blue Ginger Cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 160AdamH160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing