We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Nearby Hotels
$1,100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,029
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$434
$379
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
$233
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
$469
$399
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$212
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$641
$435
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$338
$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$185
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
631
70
23
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
70
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseshuttle servicebest of both worldsbeautiful resortcroquetbaygamehawaiiislandlanaiupcountryhiketubs
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 735 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our stay at Koele was wonderful as usual. The hotel is located in such a beautiful area (upper elevation of Lana'i). It's sunny most of the day, but remains cool. There are misty mornings and drizzly afternoons, which is very nice after spending a hot & sunny day at the white sandy beach down at Manele Bay (another Four Seasons Resort). There is a shuttle that will transport you between the resorts. The staff make you feel very welcomed to their tiny island and will go out of their way to help find what you need. There are beautiful gardens on the grounds, activities, and of course an amazing golf course. We have to say that aside from the tranquility of this beautiful hotel, the beds are out of this world. Best nights sleep EVER! If you are looking to decompress, this is it. Can't wait to return~

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One of the things that has made the Lodge at Koele so special and unique, was the timeless ambiance that was the vision when this property was first created and built as a an " old English/Victorian" hunting lodge back in 1991. My husband and I thought of the Lodge as a true getaway because of this. We were shocked and disappointed when we entered the Great Hall a few days ago, after one year had passed since our last visit. What was once homey and inviting is now a mishmash of seating arrangements that do not entice one, as before, to curl up in front of the fireplace and read a book. The beautiful classic decor and antiquities have been replaced by an over abundance of potted palms and plants.
Sitting on the front lanai with a cocktail and listening to one of the paniolos/ cowboys serenade the guests and play guitar, is something of the past.
Aside from the friendly staff, who remain untouched, the rest of the experience actually does not seem like the Four Seasons experience any longer. Something is off, and it just isn't the interior design facelift. A bit of " freshening up" is always good and necessary, but like many famous stars we know, this facelift was botched and has changed the appearance for the worse..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captainzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha captainzodiac,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and sharing your honest feedback. Thank you for the praise regarding our friendly staff, they truly go above and beyond to assist our guests with genuine aloha. Additionally, we appreciate your loyalty for the property and I'm pleased to learn you are a repeat visitor to the island and resort. As you noted, the resort recently completely a series of enhancements which in addition to the refreshed decor also include new landscaping, new restaurant concepts and guest experiences. My sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and I truly appreciate your feedback regarding the decor. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please feel free to reach out to me directly at the address below.

Kind regards,
Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
alice.bouman@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we come back year after year (usually after 7 days of sun, sand and swimming on Maui) for the relaxation, quietness, peacefulness, and elegant luxury of the Lodge at Koele. Easily one of our top 5 places in the whole wold. Staff is so friendly, fun and sincere. Fun activities like croquet, lawn bowling, par 3 course, shuffleboard, billiards, and the incredible golf course, The Experience. The entire property invites you to sit back, relax, enjoy each other's company and let time slow down.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room, its only 2 floors. Each location has something to recommend it. I prefer ground floor so we can just walk out. But the beds are terrible :-(. You might consider sleeping on a rollaway or ask ahead about the beds. My neck & back killed me for days after the beds at both Manele and Koele
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirenAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We did not actually stay at this hotel as we stayed with friends while on Lanai. However, we did spend a fair amount of time here. A beautiful grand lobby, although we wish the decor had more of an old Hawaiiana feel to it rather than Restoration Hardware. We like Restoration Hardware, but we can see that at home. it seems out of place here.The chairs seem stiff and formal, rather than low and comfortable allowing easy access to a complete view of the surroundings and easy conversation with others. That said, the Lodge is in an absolutely beautiful setting. We enjoyed breakfast in the Terrace Dining Room as well as dinner in the evening. From 3-5PM tea is served in the lobby area. We enjoyed this very much. The bar offers half price drinks and appetizers from 5-6PM. From 7-9PM there is live music in the lobby. We were fortunate enough to enjoy the music of Kimo Garner the two times were there. A great place to enjoy an after dinner drink, or coffee and dessert.
The entire staff is so friendly and accommodating. It would be hard not to feel welcome here.
The grounds are just stunning and the orchid house is a definite must see. If you are here, take the time to walk around and explore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a really lovely and relaxing hotel. I am very glad that I booked the hotel directly (and not using Expedia) as I was able to change my stay. The hotel staff is very accommodating. The only downside is there is nothing to do in Lanai - no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ming K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews