We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very first trip ever to the Island of Lana'i. The Lodge at Koele is simply beautiful! It is very peaceful and restful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. You are treated especially special in every way. The grounds are beautiful and the food was quite excellent. The WiFi and TV are very good. Our room was with a garden view and was spacious and comfy. Loved it! I am sure it is much quieter then 4 Seasons Manele Bay. At The Lodge you can walk and enjoy the gardens and close by there are riding stables and small golf course. And then 10 minutes away there is the world famous Lana'i Pines. You are also close by small and quaint Lana'i City and there is shuttle service on the hour that can take you from The Lodge at Koele to Manele Bay it's sister 4 Seasons Resort with world class golfing and ocean activities. We prefer the quiet and serenity of The Lodge at Koele. You are able to unwind, relax with superb room service and dining with staff that are friendly, professional and want to make your stay memorable in a most positive way!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RamonaP769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha Ramona P,

Greetings from paradise! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your April stay with us. I enjoyed reading your wonderful account of your stay on the island, especially your mention of the beautiful grounds, friendly staff and excellent food. As you noted, the ambiance of the resort truly lends itself to a tranquil and peaceful setting in Hawaii's upcountry and there are plenty of options close by for more adventure - such as the horseback riding, golf and sporting clay facilities. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. There are many more parts of the island waiting for you to explore.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We try to stay here at least once a year to rest, relax and recharge. It is the perfect spot for our family to spend quality time together: croquet, mini golf, archery, horseback riding, hiking, golf, shuffle board and pool in the game room, snorkeling at Manele Bay and of course catching up on sleep! We even bring our dog with us--this was his 3rd or 4th stay at Koele. The rooms are lovely and well appointed (Nespresso machines and coffee capsules in every room!) staff could not be nicer, the food is good and the cocktails even better. We have always had the most positive experiences here which is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Instead of the usual Hawaiian hotel, this is high in the mountains near Lanai City, with more of a British-Colonial-meets-Ralph-Lauren feel. Wood fires at both ends of the Great Hall welcome you, along with pineapple juice and superb service. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The grounds are just lovely, with ponds (the front desk provides food for the koi), waterfalls, a lovely Orchid-filled greenhouse, and much more beyond the usual pool, exercise room, billiard room, restaurants and library. A shuttle provides regular service to the golf courses, the other 4 Seasons hotel, the village and the Manele beach. We love the feeling of isolation and the cooler temperatures here! Check for online specials; we have stayed twice at well below book prices.
This is a much quieter spot than most Hawaiian resorts--we probably would not choose to stay here with teenagers, but there were young families as well as retired types. You don't get charged for wifi, the refrigerator in the room, morning coffee and muffins, beach umbrellas and chairs at the Manele beach, or even kids' activities. We paid a one-time shuttle charge which included airport pickup and drop-off. You can either fly from Maui or Honolulu or take a passenger ferry from Lahaina on Maui.

Room Tip: The discounted rooms (from the specials) are still terrific--no need to pay for an upgrade, in our o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wife and I stayed our fifth and final night on the island here. I had already played golf up here so knew the difference. Grounds beautiful. Setting spectacular if not un-Hawaii. View from room could be in Italy, Virginia, South America.
Happy hour awesome. Room awesome. Staff awesome.
Wife and I preferred Manele and the beach. Older folks seem to like Koele better.
At Ritz Kapalua now for my last night and I would take either gladly. Cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goof87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a beautifully situated lodge in a decidedly different Hawaii setting. It's surrounded by Cook Island Pines and hills and overlooks the quirky town of Lanai City. It is the sister property of Manele Bay, which is on the beach 25 minutes by shuttle away. It often felt like the "red-headed step-child" of the two properties; We were not allowed to use Manele's pool although the website stated that the properties are fully reciprocal. After finishing a round of golf at Koele I asked to post my score. They informed me that I would have to go to the Manele course (25 min away?) because they did not have a computer. That's a first at any resort course that we've ever played at! The breakfasts and lunches at the restaurant were great, dinner was marginal. The workout room was beautiful as was the small pool. We took several great hikes from the resort which we thoroughly enjoyed. The town of Lanai City is funky and fun to visit. There are a couple of good breakfast places there for authentic Hawaiian food. We had a corner room which was just beautiful. We took full advantage of the large porch.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor corner room, especially the ones facing the rear of the property.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Aloha daylilypath,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with. I'm pleased to learn you enjoyed your corner room - which offers beautiful views of the gardens, as well as the variety of hikes around the property. The upcountry offers incredible opportunities to explore the pristine surroundings and unique topography of the island. While it's great to learn you enjoyed your breakfasts and lunches, I apologize your dinner did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our culinary team - appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Regarding your mention of the reciprocal facilities of our sister resort, guests registered at either resort do have charging privileges at both and I apologize for any confusion. Guests have access to all dining and lounge venues, as well as the beach facilities at the sister property. Please let me know if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I hope to see you again soon.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a terrific stay. The Lodge at Koele and its staff provided an authentic and relaxing Hawaiian experience, not just the feel of another luxury resort. Both golf courses, the one at Manele Bay and at the Lodge provide completely different experiences, one by the sea the other in the mountains - both with spectacular scenery. Don't skip the hiking trail.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Tired of the beach, this is the place to go. Tired of crowds, endless shops and noise, this is the place to go. Secluded in the mountains with mist on the great lawn in the morning, koi in the large pond, and elegance everywhere, this hotel is a true gem. The guest rooms are the most beautifully furnished I have ever seen with bright colors and patterns. We had a one bedroom suite with a wrap around porch that was large and airy and luxurious. You are pampered from morning until night. Your every wish it their command. Lanai City is the main town - a few streets around a central square. The lodge has a shuttle service that takes you there. Runs every to minutes or so. But to really see this beautiful island with its various topography, you have to rent a jeep. Garden of the Gods, Shipwreck Beach and many more spine jarring locations. This island retains the unspoiled beauty of the true Hawaii.
Although there is a sister hotel, Manele Bay Hotel on the beach, the Lodge is where you want to stay to see something so unique you will never forget it.

Room Tip: You want a room in the south wing overlooking the Great Lawn, not the front of the hotel. It is easy...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
828 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
16.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: $840 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing