We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Nearby Hotels
$1,100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$679
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $799/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$428
$349
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Lahaina Inn(Lahaina)
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
$389
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Pioneer Inn(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$212
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$242
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$709
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
$276
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
631
70
23
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
70
23
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseshuttle servicebest of both worldsbeautiful resortcroquetbaygamehawaiiislandlanaiupcountryhiketubs
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 735 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Instead of the usual Hawaiian hotel, this is high in the mountains near Lanai City, with more of a British-Colonial-meets-Ralph-Lauren feel. Wood fires at both ends of the Great Hall welcome you, along with pineapple juice and superb service. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The grounds are just lovely, with ponds (the front desk provides food for the koi), waterfalls, a lovely Orchid-filled greenhouse, and much more beyond the usual pool, exercise room, billiard room, restaurants and library. A shuttle provides regular service to the golf courses, the other 4 Seasons hotel, the village and the Manele beach. We love the feeling of isolation and the cooler temperatures here! Check for online specials; we have stayed twice at well below book prices.
This is a much quieter spot than most Hawaiian resorts--we probably would not choose to stay here with teenagers, but there were young families as well as retired types. You don't get charged for wifi, the refrigerator in the room, morning coffee and muffins, beach umbrellas and chairs at the Manele beach, or even kids' activities. We paid a one-time shuttle charge which included airport pickup and drop-off. You can either fly from Maui or Honolulu or take a passenger ferry from Lahaina on Maui.

Room Tip: The discounted rooms (from the specials) are still terrific--no need to pay for an upgrade, in our opinion.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wife and I stayed our fifth and final night on the island here. I had already played golf up here so knew the difference. Grounds beautiful. Setting spectacular if not un-Hawaii. View from room could be in Italy, Virginia, South America.
Happy hour awesome. Room awesome. Staff awesome.
Wife and I preferred Manele and the beach. Older folks seem to like Koele better.
At Ritz Kapalua now for my last night and I would take either gladly. Cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank goof87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a beautifully situated lodge in a decidedly different Hawaii setting. It's surrounded by Cook Island Pines and hills and overlooks the quirky town of Lanai City. It is the sister property of Manele Bay, which is on the beach 25 minutes by shuttle away. It often felt like the "red-headed step-child" of the two properties; We were not allowed to use Manele's pool although the website stated that the properties are fully reciprocal. After finishing a round of golf at Koele I asked to post my score. They informed me that I would have to go to the Manele course (25 min away?) because they did not have a computer. That's a first at any resort course that we've ever played at! The breakfasts and lunches at the restaurant were great, dinner was marginal. The workout room was beautiful as was the small pool. We took several great hikes from the resort which we thoroughly enjoyed. The town of Lanai City is funky and fun to visit. There are a couple of good breakfast places there for authentic Hawaiian food. We had a corner room which was just beautiful. We took full advantage of the large porch.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor corner room, especially the ones facing the rear of the property.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Aloha daylilypath,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with. I'm pleased to learn you enjoyed your corner room - which offers beautiful views of the gardens, as well as the variety of hikes around the property. The upcountry offers incredible opportunities to explore the pristine surroundings and unique topography of the island. While it's great to learn you enjoyed your breakfasts and lunches, I apologize your dinner did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our culinary team - appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Regarding your mention of the reciprocal facilities of our sister resort, guests registered at either resort do have charging privileges at both and I apologize for any confusion. Guests have access to all dining and lounge venues, as well as the beach facilities at the sister property. Please let me know if you would like to discuss further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I hope to see you again soon.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a terrific stay. The Lodge at Koele and its staff provided an authentic and relaxing Hawaiian experience, not just the feel of another luxury resort. Both golf courses, the one at Manele Bay and at the Lodge provide completely different experiences, one by the sea the other in the mountains - both with spectacular scenery. Don't skip the hiking trail.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Tired of the beach, this is the place to go. Tired of crowds, endless shops and noise, this is the place to go. Secluded in the mountains with mist on the great lawn in the morning, koi in the large pond, and elegance everywhere, this hotel is a true gem. The guest rooms are the most beautifully furnished I have ever seen with bright colors and patterns. We had a one bedroom suite with a wrap around porch that was large and airy and luxurious. You are pampered from morning until night. Your every wish it their command. Lanai City is the main town - a few streets around a central square. The lodge has a shuttle service that takes you there. Runs every to minutes or so. But to really see this beautiful island with its various topography, you have to rent a jeep. Garden of the Gods, Shipwreck Beach and many more spine jarring locations. This island retains the unspoiled beauty of the true Hawaii.
Although there is a sister hotel, Manele Bay Hotel on the beach, the Lodge is where you want to stay to see something so unique you will never forget it.

Room Tip: You want a room in the south wing overlooking the Great Lawn, not the front of the hotel. It is easy to get an upgrade if you book with a Virtuoso Travel Agency. The one bedroom suite is magnificent with a wrap around porch and two entrances to your room - one inside and one outside.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews