We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family of five stayed in two rooms at the Lodge, located in Lanai's interior. Our guest rooms, the great hall and grounds were all lovely. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We used the shuttle service (separate charge, unlimited rides for the 5 of us for $95) at least once a day, going into Lanai City (a five minute ride) or to the sister resort at Manele Bay (about 20 minutes). The beach and bay at Manele are spectacular and uncrowded and the resort is lovely, but when we return (and I'm sure we will), we will stay again at the Lodge at Koele. One sees more of the island during the shuttle ride and we found the ride relaxing. The schedule-- every 30 minutes all day and evening-- worked well for us. We also enjoyed the difference in setting and weather-- the bay was always sunny, whereas the Lodge was cooler, and sometimes cloudy and misty. The approach to the Lodge at Koele offers views of the mountains and pastures, and the grounds are a quiet and beautiful place to take a stroll. We had dinner at the lodge and also at several of the restaurants in Lanai City, and the dining experiences compliment each other nicely. We can't wait to return to the Lodge at Koele!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Aloha GinaMaine,

Greetings from Hawaii! Thank you for the great review, we appreciate your glowing remarks. It's wonderful to learn your entire family experienced the island. It's such a wonderful place to reconnect and enjoy time together, without all the distractions of everyday life! You captured the beauty of the upcountry perfectly - rolling hills, mountains and pastures adorn the grounds and really make it an unexpected experience for Hawaii. The warmth, charm and beauty of the upcountry is quite alluring. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our piece of paradise very soon!

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 736 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great visit to the Lodge this week. We had never been to Lanai before. We flew over on Mokulele which was exciting! The pick up and check in was smooth and they had upgraded us to a bigger room. However we did not like the location of the room (overlooking the staff parking lot) so we asked for a received a standard room with a better location.
Pros:
Hotel staff was very professional and accommodating
Room was nicely appointed and clean
The location is beautiful
The shuttle was convenient
We had two amazing meals at Manele - one at Nobu and one at Kilani
Cons:
The carpet in the room needs to be replaced
The food and service at the Terrace were average at best. One lunch the food was bad, the service was unhelpful and the price was way too high for what we got.
Overall we had a lovely stay. We also rented a jeep which was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkeleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My extended family (8) and I stayed at the Lodge in April, 2012 and came back again for 12 days in December, 2012. In the time between our stays, Mr. Ellison bought Lanai island, and the Four Seasons properties. The changes (they like to call them "enhancements") are everywhere: the golf courses are being maintained at a high level, the hotel grounds were as gorgeous as ever, and the new restaurants at Manele Bay (particularly Nobu) are fantastic. Lanai continues to be a hidden gem. It may not be as perfect as Hualalai, Four Seasons, but at 1/2 the cost it is excellent. Aloha!

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms facing the courtyard are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXtraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the ambiance to the staff, this hotel makes you feel like you are at home and among friends.
Rooms are beautiful and serene. The housekeeping is superb. The grounds are meticulously maintained and lovingly manicured. The food is delicious (especially the lattes!). But what makes this hotel is the service staff who are polite, friendly, welcoming, and genuinely nice people. This was one of our best vacations ever. I would choose the Koele Lodge over the Manele Bay property on Lana'i any day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge at Koele is a " Jewel in the Pacific". I cannot say enough about the ambiance and service. It is well worth the price. If you want to leave the rat race, this may be your go-to hideaway. If you are a golfer or into hunting this is the place for you. It is definately not your typical Polynesian resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Four Seasons service culture can be defined by The Lodge at Koele; service perfection from the moment staff take your bags at the airport (or ferry) until they drop them off at the check in counter upon departure, this was a most memorable vacation in an absolutely perfect setting. Every member of staff was knowledgeable and well trained. Rooms were impeccable; the restaurant, with locally sourced materials, conjured up both delectable and healthy dishes. The golf courses were fantastic and we regret only having time to play each once. The grounds are manicured, the pool and gym service excellent. Undoubtedly we'll return next time we visit the islands.

Room Tip: I doubt that there's a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Aloha Garth C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your experience. On behalf of the entire team, we really appreciate your kind words and praise for our luxurious accommodations, golf and dining experiences, and most of all impeccable service. We pride ourselves on offering the best service and it's wonderful to hear feedback such as yours that we are taking care of your every need. Great to hear you enjoyed the new menu at the Dining Room. The menu is comprised of 100% local ingredients from Hawaii and our culinary team has created a delicious menu. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon!

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently stayed 7 days & nights there for our Honeymoon. This was our 9th trip there because it is like no other place. We reside on Kauai which is where we plan to retire, however, whenever we want a break from the usual beach vacation, we go to Koele.

The staff and surroundings have a special feeling about them that make us feel like royalty. The golf is some of the best we have ever played and the activities are endless. The crew @ Lanai Western Adventures are salt of the earth. We went horseback riding with Molly and we had a blast! We highly recommend anyone staying on Lanai to experience what they have to offer.

Room Tip: We prefer the down stairs rooms for access, however, there is not a bad room location on the whole p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Maui, Ka'anapali Beach
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
15.5 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
16 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: $840 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing