We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ORACLE AT KOELE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Kula, Maui
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ORACLE AT KOELE”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

OK; a REALLY rich owner is able to do more for a community than a really rich owner, no matter the first’s intention. This has proven itself again on the Island of Lanai.

One’s treatment of a wholly owned totally unique resort property is possibly a different story. I have been fortunate to visit the Lodge at Koele since its creation. The premise of its presentation, that of an exclusive lodge in the Mountains with an early 20th Century décor with a noticeable Oriental Flair, greeted the uninitiated visitor with both surprise and aw. Whether passing from either the bright Hawaiian sun or an infrequent torrential rain, the transition across the broad veranda to the portico and finally into the sparsely populated Great Hall gave the traveler a feeling of having reached home, less the hustle and bustle of everyday life. One could sink into comfortable older style couches in front of either fireplace and reflect upon having arrived at a truly unique location. One which left a visitor with the continuous question of what delight is around the next corner.

The long term staff continues their superb service seen under both Starwood and now Four Seasons. However; if the scuttling of the unique decorating objects and presence of large screen TV’s in the “Music Room” and the “Recreation Room”, both just off the Great Hall, did not enough in making the hotel “Hawaiian” for whoever is now in charge, the breaking of the serenity of the Great Hall with yet another to TV to add to the new “Hawaiian” theme, makes one think about saving money and staying on Oahu at the Royal Hawaiian, (Stay in the Old Wings;).

That said; the Island itself offers what is now the seldom experienced pleasure of enjoying Hawaii with no crowds. Those who have had the opportunity of enjoying the life of a town square will relish experiencing that, well almost, it’s a rectangle, Lanai style. Quality food is available on the square, and for those who like veggie omelets, the Blue Ginger’s “Vegi-Ugly” is the best I have found on three continents and several islands :) The Golf is great and Lanai Western Adventures continues a heritage left by David Murdock of world class Sporting Clays, and a great stable.

I hope what was special is not turned into just another bland expensive resort with plenty TV’s, glitz, and rowdy vacationers.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadyonMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Aloha ReadyonMaui,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. It's wonderful to learn that you have an affinity for the island and have been a frequent visitor for so many years. As you mentioned, the resort is an escape from the everyday and is certainly an unexpected Hawaii with the tranquil countryside setting of pine trees and lush gardens 1,600 feet above sea level. Thank you for the feedback regarding the superb service, I will make sure to share with our team. They are repeatedly recognized by travel publications for the Best Service awards and it's great to have your comments mirror those of the awards. Regarding the decor, we are enhancing our artwork to include local Hawaiian artists to offer a strong sense of place and the feedback has been very well received so far. I do look forward to welcoming you back and please let me know if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Thank you again!

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a great time staying here. The service is wonderful, the grounds are beautiful and our room exceeded expectations. We particularly loved walking around the Koi pond, sitting in the Orchid house and being greeted by our new feline friends Koele and Garfield.

This island is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, serene experience. We stayed here for six nights during our honeymoon and we were never bored. There are plenty of outdoor activities (hiking, horseback riding, off-road driving) to complement lazy days on the beach. While the Four Seasons at Manele is much closer to the main beach on the island, we'd definitely agree with some of the other reviews that the Lodge has a unique ambience and we were happy that we stayed at the Lodge. There is a shuttle service that runs every 30 minutes that is very convenient to getting to Lanai City and Manele.

The Koloiki Ridge trail is a wonderful hike that starts out near the golf course at the Lodge - you should set aside a couple hours for this! At the end of the trail is a beautiful lookout where you can see Molokai and Maui as well as the scenic valleys and gulches of Lanai.

It's true that the dining options in Lanai City are few in number, but we really enjoyed all the restaurants we went to in Lanai City (even more than dining at the Lodge). The city is really charming... one night when we were walking back to the Lodge from the City (about a 15 minute walk) a friendly stranger gardening in his front yard clipped some fresh Hawaiian Ginger flowers and gave them to us on the street when we passed by. They smelt wonderful in our room!

The gym here is simple, but has everything you need for a quick morning workout.

Everyone at the Lodge was very friendly and helpful, providing excellent advice throughout our stay. When we arrived on our first night we were surprised to find a congratulatory card and champagne in our room, because we had only mentioned to them that we were on our honeymoon in a passing comment.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Of all the hotels we stayed in while traveling to three islands in early September this was by far the best place. From the moment we arrived on the ferry to the moment we were dropped off at the airport, the service was impeccable. My comment was I want to live at the Four Season Lodge at Koele, it was that perfect.

You have full use of both the beach resort at Manele Bay and the Lodge, but I think staying at the lodge is the way to go, it is so much more relaxing and warmer feeling. It's like a country estate on an Hawaiian island.

Rooms were very nice, the staff was wonderful, the shuttle service easy to work with so it all works perfectly.

Lanai itself is not for everyone. Not a lot to do, the resorts are the center of activity on the island for guests and residents alike. The town is very small, with a few restaurant that are on the more basic side (the Lanai City Grille is the only real restaurant in town outside of the resort restaurants). We also liked eating at Pele's Other Garden, very rustic, but the food was good. Breakfast at the lodge is wonderful.

But you have to be able to entertain yourself on this island. If you are looking for tours and shopping, or nightlife don't bother. But if you are looking for a quite restful place then this is the place to do in Hawaii. We stayed three nights are the was perfect not too short, but any longer and it might have been a bit too isolated for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmth308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Aloha mmth308,

Greetings from paradise! Thanks so much for your very thoughtful review and great feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, so much so you want to live at the resort - a fabulous testament to the incredible service and experience of your stay. The peaceful and tranquil setting of The Lodge lend itself to a relaxing and peaceful time and while many of our guests enjoying the spacious rooms and surroundings, there is ample of adventure to experience - from hiking and golf, to 4x4 off-roading and water activities. Thanks again for visiting and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with none other like it in the Hawaiian Islands; locals will really like it. The whole place is gorgeous and Four Season's has spared no expense in it's design and upkeep. The service was great (shuttle driver and hotel staff were very accomodating), and we especially enjoyed using the heated pool and the lawn croquet. Also loved the complimentary soaps and lotion in the room.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are great as it's great to look out on the beautiful lawns and grounds. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlydcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Amazing property and staff. Every wish and desire is handled promptly.

Special thanks to Chef Junior at Koele and Chef Carlo at Manele for creating vegan options.

Further Mahalo to the resort management.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights/three days at the Koele Lodge on Lanai. We decided to take advantage of the discounted rates they were offering to celebrate our 20th anniversary a little early. We did not rent a car since the Koele Lodge has a shuttle bus that took us everywhere we wanted to go.
The Koele Lodge's exceptional customer service was evident right from the beginning of our stay. The shuttle bus from the airport to the lodge was waiting for us and immediately tagged and took care of our luggage. We did not handle our luggage again until we arrived at our room. Upon arrival, we were escorted to couches and lounge chairs and given leis, a warm oshibori towek, and a non-alcoholic drink. A Lodge representative approached us, checked us in, provided us with a tour of the lodge, and escorted us to our room. We did not have to wait in a check-in line.
Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. It included all the amenities including nice soaps, lotions, body washes, and a shower cap. I especially like the 2-sided magnifying mirror by the vanity to help with make-up application.
We ate all of our meals at the Lodge, except for the evening we ate at the Lanai City Grille. The meal in the dining room at the Lodge and our meal at the Lanai City Grille were both fabulous. If I was forced to choose one over the other, I would give Lanai City Grille the edge. Nonetheless, one of my favorite meals of the trip was the Venison chili served at the Lodge's Terrace. It was so good, I had it for lunch two days in a row!
So what did we do for three days on Lanai? We went horseback riding with an outstanding, friendly guide that even sang us a country song with guitar accompaniment; golfed at the Lodge's beautiful golf course; shot trap at Lanai Pine Sporting Clays and Archery; played pool, shuffle board, and lawn croquet at the Lodge; and wandered and admired the Lodge's beautiful grounds. I especially loved the Jacaranda trees with their gorgeous bluish/purple flowers and the small orchid greenhouse. I also liked the small touches like the water with orange slices available in the lobby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this wonderful lodge!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KailuaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Are you stressed and need a few days to unwind, then come to this place. We were so truely looking forward to this vacation and were not dissapointed. From the welcoming pick up when we arrived with the Ferry to the sending off, it was friendly and welcoming and we were taking care of the whole time. We were so glad we chose to stay at the Lodge and not at Manele Bay, because the Lodge is smaller, more intimate and so much quieter. We got up every morning before sunrise and walked up the hill to see the sun come up or just sat outside on the balcony. Housekeeping was exceptional and on a private cocktail reception we had the pleasure of meeting the Housekeeping Manager Ms Betty and were able to thank her. Everyday we would come back to the room it was clean, or in the afternoon a little snack would await and in the evening the turn down service greeted us with fresh water. We also used the facilities at Manele Bay and enjoyed the special treatment on the beach were every need was catered to us at no extra cost. We hope that with the new changes in ownership the Lodge will get even better, maybe new funds to update the bathrooms. The only thing we did not think was up to par was the quality of the food. Its understandable that the food is expensive as everything has to be brought to the island, but besides the breakfast we did not have one exceptional meal. In any case that does not take away from the experience. Chose the Lodge on Lanai for your next get away and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_addicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Aloha Vacation_addicted,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with feedback from you stay. It's wonderful to learn you enjoyed the Resort and felt pampered throughout your stay. We truly appreciate the great comments regarding the Housekeeping staff, they are quite exceptional, as well as Betty, our Housekeeping Manager - she is fabulous! Glad you enjoyed the sunrises around the property, it's truly a breathtaking sight to watch the day begin in the picturesque countryside of Koele. The sunsets are just as magical too. Regarding your feedback about the cuisine, I'm sincerely sorry it did not meet your expectations. I have alerted our Food & Beverage team so that we can make take a closer look at our cuisine. We appreciate the feedback. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

A hui hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
469 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
816 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
531 reviews
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing