We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Four Seasons Lodge at Koele is Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Lana'i is not the conventional Hawai'i - only thirty miles of paved road and no traffic lights because so little traffic, no condos, no McDonald's, just 2,000 people living in a small town in modest homes with tin roofs built years ago for the pineapple workers when Lana'i produced most of the world's pineapples. No more pineapples. Lana'i is like going back to the 1930's. BUT - it has two five-star hotels, both Four Seasons, the Manele Bay on the beach and the Lodge at Koele up in the hills on the edge of the pine forest. I stayed at the Lodge and enjoyed the superb service for which Four Seasons hotels are famous. What could be better than breakfast brought up by room service and served on one's balcony overlooking beautiful gardens and the edge of the pine forest - fresh papaya, eggs benedict, and fresh croissants. The hotel is built like an English country house with The Great Hall as the centerpiece - a baronial hall with a huge stone fireplace at either end and two enormous chandeliers, where people gather for drinks, pupu, and conversation. Behind the hotel are the gardens, including the orchid garden, and places to engage in such genteel activities at lawn bowling and croquet. There are two excellent restaurants.. A shuttle bus leaves each hotel every half hour for the other hotel and guests can use the facilities of both. For someone who wants to enjoy complete relaxation in peace and quiet and beauty with superb service the Lodge at Koele can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have better view - the gardens rather than the drive way.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hitherejimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Aloha hitherejimbo,

Greetings from paradise! Thank you for the wonderful review, we truly appreciate your comments and your affinity for the island, people and history. Great to learn you enjoyed the peace and tranquility, along with the exquisite dining options at the Resort. I must agree, breakfast at The Lodge, whether on your private lanai (balcony) or in the Terrace, overlooking the gardens is an excellent way to start the day. It truly can't be beat. I look forward to welcoming you back to the island soon.

A hui hou,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Excellent place to relax and recharge. The staff is amazing! Rooms are large and very well appointed.
We took the ferry from Maui and never rented a car during our 4 day stay. The shuttle b/t the 2 hotels is great. Got to experience the beach environment at Manele Bay and the cooler envirnment of "up-country" at Koele. Golf at both courses was spectacular!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buddyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

There is nothing in Hawai'i that can compare toThe Lodge at Koele specifically and Lana'i in general. The small town familiarity coupled with the understated elegance of a Four Seasons Resort makes a stay at the Lodge an unparalled opportunity to unplug and re-energize. It is difficult to explain the impact of the pervasive serenity and calm in prose, but perhaps an allegorical reference might suffice: You could play golf at either or both the Experience and Challenge and it wouldn't matter if you shot 73 or 93.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Having lived in Maui for 23 years, my choice is the lodge at Koele for the peace and tranquility of the property. Outstanding service by all and the golf, restaurants, pools are the best.

Room Tip: Ask for the fire place rooms !
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. It was the second visit for my wife and me and it was, again, near perfection. The Lodge is a fantastic place with excellent rooms (better than the Manele Bay rooms) and unique grounds. Where else can you go lawn bowling? There is a shuttle between the Lodge and the Four Season beach resort in Manele Bay every 30 minutes. The ride is about 25 minutes long. Once you are at the beach, you have full use of the Four Seasons at Manele Bay. At Manele, you can enjoy the beach and sun. Thus, you have two resorts in one. One word of caution is that it can be damp and cool in the winter months at the Lodge. Even so, the warmth of the beach is a short shuttle ride away.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Four Seasons Manele Bay before and had come up here for dinner before so we knew it was a special place. We actually prefer it to the beach property as it is just more relaxed and quiet. Plus you can go to the beach property whenever you want on the shuttle so it is almost like you get 2 properties in one - they are very different from one another but both have such exceptional service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Aloha Kelleyanne,

Thank you for taking the time review your experience with us. Between the tranquil gardens and intimate atmosphere, The Lodge is a very magical resort and I'm so glad you discovered how special and unique it is. Between two wonderful Four Seasons, guests have full access to each property, which allows for that "island hop" experience just a 20 minute resort shuttle ride apart. From ocean to upcountry, guests can have it all! I look forward to welcoming you back to the island soon. Thank you again for your nice comments.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Sorry, but it was nice that everyone seemed to know our name! What a beautiful place. Nice bar. Walk around, lots to explore. Pack sweaters. It is 10-15 degrees cooler here than the other Four Seasons at Manele Bay. We played golf at the Experience.

Room Tip: any room is peaceful
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellis_NC_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
828 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
16.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: $840 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing