We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Four Seasons has a well-deserved reputation for outstanding customer service and The Lodge is no exception. It's important to note that there are basically only three hotels on the island of Lanai--The Lodge, The Four Seasons Manele Bay (sister property) and Hotel Lanai in Lanai City (a much more casual hotel). We were able to get a special rate on The Lodge through a 3-nights-for-2 special that made it about 1/2 of Manele Bay, which is why we chose the Lodge. Unless you are a golfer, there is very little else to do on Lanai, so it's a great vacation if you just want to relax, not as much if you need to be doing something constantly. The most excitement at the Lodge is when the birds start singing in the bamboo forest at sunset. They have a nice pool, exercise facility, mini golf (real putting greens), croquet (play the one on the right, the left one is confusing) and an orchid greenhouse at the back of the property. And yes, a wonderful golf course attached. They have a shuttle that runs to Manele Bay every hour earlier in the day, then every half hour later in the day, so you can take advantage of all of the facilities of Manele Bay without paying Manele Bay prices. The Lodge is the inland location, Manele Bay is the oceanfront location. Yet we actually preferred the peace and serenity of The Lodge. The Lodge has the better dining options as well. Manele Bay does have a spa, although you can request a massage at The Lodge and they will meet you there. Overall, it was a great trip for me and my wife. Very pricey, but well worth it.

The only downside we had during the visit was a problem with mosquitos in the room at night. However, the hotel management did everything possible to try to rid our room of them, including sending the maids to swat them and giving us citronella candles to light on the balcony. Not sure how they were coming in, but yes, even paradise has mosquitos.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check-in, they may be able to offer you a suite (as they did for us) for...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 733 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

We came to Hawaii for 2 weeks and our 3 nights at the Lodge were the highlight. What words would I use.....peaceful, luxurious, understated elegance, immaculate, service centered, low-key, high quality. The remoteness of both Lanai and this lodge allow you to feel the real Hawaii without roughing it. The grounds are fantastic with Boccee ball, executive 18 hole putting green, croquet, quiet pathways, wild turkeys running around and an orchid house. The room is gorgeous and the Lanai perfect for sitting and having a cool drink. There is a small refridgerator in the room as well as a wine bottle opener and wine glasses. Behind the resort are hiking trails including a fantastic 5 mile round trip (3 hour) hike that leads you to a remote and AWESOME view of Maui, Molokai and the Big Island. Doing that hike was one of the most amazing experiences in our life! We started it at 7:30 am which was perfect as the clouds roll in later in the day. We saw no people, vehicles or any other signs of humanity for 3 hours....and we felt completely safe....bliss!
The shuttle will pick you up at the ferry dock or small airport. After arrival at the lodge you are immediately seated, served something to drink and given a cool towel. The front desk clerk will then come sit with you to do registration....no standing around waiting in a line. As mentioned by others the shuttle will take you down to Manele Bay where the spa will give you a complimentary locker to store your clothes. Then you simply enjoy everything this resort also offers. At the beach a lovely chair and umbrella are set up for you, lemonade is offered, complimentary snorkle gear is provided and orange slices are brought to you. Keep your eyes open for the spinner dolphins that will eventually show up leaping into the air! If you spend time at the pool you'll be treated to cool towels and water spritz.. At 4 pm there is a 1/2 price Happy Hour cocktail hour at the pool bar and the drinks are good. Not the typical watered down variety that I have found at most Happy Hours.
You'll also find classy "game" rooms at both resorts which have billards, table top style shuffleboard, board games, backgammon, chess etc.
I can't say enough about the Lodge at Koele! The price point is excellent too!
Also make sure and check out the small village near the Lodge. There are a couple of casual local eateries, two small grocery stores and a couple of churches if you'd like to attend religous services. You can also sit down on a bench in the central green area and watch children play baseball etc.
Lanai is THE PLACE to go if you want to leave the stress of big city life behind and the Lodge at Koele is your hotel if you yearn for quiet serenity.

Room Tip: After you make your reservation call and request a room away from the service road. Our room faced...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

ar yes2travel,

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experience on Lanai, we truly appreciate your positive comments. You captured the essence of the Resort and island beautifully as it's a true getaway for those who appreciate the beauty, privacy, adventure and richness of Hawaii. Great to hear you experienced so much of Lanai - between the tranquility of Koele's upcountry and Manele's tropical beachside setting. Glad you were able to hike the Koloiki Ridge as well! It's one of my favorite hikes, as the trail is peaceful and the views at the summit are spectacular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest aloha,


Alice Bouman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is such a great treat, because there was a chance to really relax, even though we were on a business trip. You can have crowded, noisy, and frantic Waikiki anytime. And if you want to get to the beach, the shuttle to Manele Bay was super convenient. The bay,itself, is one of the best and safest in all of Hawaii, and is better than anything on Oahu

Room Tip: higher rooms hardly need any a/c, especially when the trades are blowing. I would recommend mauka r...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istagner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This review may be a hollow echo of everything written before. The Lodge at Koele may be the most relaxing place on earth. My husband and I made our second visit to the Lodge in July 2011. When we visited previously, the property was still a Luxury Collection hotel; when Four Seasons took over managing it, we feared that we'd never be able to afford another stay at one of our favorite places on earth. in Summer 2011, Four Seasons ran a promotion that made a return trip to the Lodge an essential component of our summer visit to the islands. We spent five glorious nights at the Lodge being as active or as indolent as we pleased. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the service is impeccable, and the setting is heaven on earth. There is an incredible serenity to this property; it doesn't seem to appeal to families with children, so the vibe is quiet and calm. Guests seem to appreciate the exclusivity of the Lodge. You can certainly hop on the shuttle and join the comparatively frenzied atmosphere of the Four Seasons Manele Bay if you're looking for some beach/pool/spa time, but it's a glorious thing to board the bus for "home" when the activities are done. You really can't go wrong with the Lodge if you're looking for serenity, restoration, and peace.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. There's not a bad room at the Lodge in my experience.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2muchstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband surprised me with a week-long honeymoon at this resort and it was perfect. We loved that the lodge had a very exclusive feel to it and that the surroundings were peaceful and quiet. We took advantage of the regular shuttle service to the FS Manele Bay to enjoy the beautiful beach when we felt like it, but it was always nice to return to the Lodge as it somehow seemed more secluded and quieter. Also, the weather and the Lodge was cooler because it was at a higher altitude and that was really nice. We don't golf, but we made use of the free clubs from the front desk to try out the putting range on the grounds (lots of fun even for us amateurs), and also tried lawn croquet. The breakfasts at the hotel restaurant were superb (fresh fruit was so good, best raspberries I've ever had in my life) but pricey! The free coffee and tea before 8am was a nice touch. We had an excellent time, service was signature FS, very personalized and professional. Oh and high tea was also wonderful! We only tried this on our last day, and wished we had done so sooner...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgener8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you're looking for a crowded resort then you are in the wrong place. The Lodge was the highlight of our honeymoon! We spent a week in Bora Bora but it wasn't until we got to the lodge that we really began to relax.

The room had a beautiful wood burning fireplace in it which housekeeping would light for us nightly. The food and restaurants were amazing (I highly recommend trying the dining room). The staff was welcoming and they all knew our names. And finally, the property is beautiful and located a short walk (or shuttle ride) from town and at the base of some fantastic hiking trails. Our days were stress free and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Call the hotel; they will gladly describe the rooms to you and help you with your choice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallstquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you want peace and quiet, this is the place. I was able to read a short book in the walkway between buildings. This is impossible in Waikiki. The shuttle service is convenient so you don't really need to rent a car (unless you want to off-road). I wasn't able to take advantage of the activities offered on this trip, so I'm looking forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiratorm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#4 of 32 in Lahaina
828 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
15.4 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
16.2 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: $840 - $965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing