We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanai City Grille

Lanai City Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Lanai City Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: The inter island shuttle drops off and picks up at our door every half an hour.
Description: Lana'i City Grille, the restaurant under the roof of the charming Hotel Lana'i, with its fresh innovative cuisine and its comfortable interior is quickly becoming the premier restaurant on the island.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Lanai Hotel inw hich the Lanai City Grill is located. Great restaurant, great food, great wait staff, very comfortable atmosphere, good bar to just have a drink and meet with locals and other guests--and live music on Friday and Saturday nights.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    79
    22
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
N.C.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We always return to the Lanai City Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Lanai City Grille is the best fine dining on the Island. It surpasses the Lodge and Manele Bay for excellent cuisine. It's a bit noisy but is a fun place to dine. Service was excellent but not hovering over the table. Everything on the menu is delicious and I think we have sampled all the offerings. Try Joe's meatloaf, for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovemywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

After a 3 year hiatus from visiting Lanai, I was delighted to find Lanai City Grille still flourishing. I dined with friends on a weeknight and was, once again, delighted by the food, service and overall ambiance. We started with Crab Dip (for the table) and each of us had (2) courses. The presentation of each item was exceptional - the salads nicely chilled, the entrees piping hot.
The wine list is excellent and the service attentive without being overbearing.
Lanai City Grille is a perfect alternative to the dining options at the hotels. Keep up the great work. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMynarHana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our first stop on our overnight stay on the island of Lanai was the Lanai City Grille, set among the beautiful pines, the whole scene reminded me of the summers spent camping in the woods. We never ate this well on those trips though! The experience was perfect, from the warm welcome at the door, to the beautiful and cozy dining room, and especially the meal - Crab Dip to start, of course, Beet Carpaccio (who knew! Amazing!) and Grilled Filet with an "aged cheddar potato cake" you have to try to believe - so delicious. My only regret was not leaving room for dessert!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Homey Plantation Inspired era decor...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited Sat. Nov. 3rd 5:45 pm

As a huge fan of Bev Gannon restaurants on Maui, my wife and I where looking forward to dining here because of the Bev Gannon designed and inspired menu. Located at the Hotel Lanai in Lanai City, this is one of the shuttle stops on the Four Seasons Shuttle. (The other being Dollar Rent a Car, in Lanai City and the other being the two Four Seasons resorts).

When we arrived, other than (1) person sitting at the bar, we were the only patrons in the restaurant. The restaurant decor brought back found memories of my grandparents Sugar Plantation style homes of Waialua Sugar on Oahu or Grove Farm in Puhi, Kauai from the 1930's. It had a homey feel and you were kind of expecting a Tutu or Grandmother to come out of the kitchen in her white apron to take our order.

With that being said, server was friendly & polite, but inconsistent in coming around to take our order, checking-up on us and suggesting desserts for after the meal. It just seemed the timing was off, which is unexplainable because the restaurant was not crowded, other than the 7-8 people watching the Oregon State & Arizona State football game on the bar flat screen.

My wife ordered TK's Favorite, which is a Slow Roasted Pork entree with accompaniments. I ordered the Rotisserie Chicken entree. My wife raved about the Roasted Pork dish being similar to how her mom use to make it. I was a little disappointed in the chicken being a tad dry, but the Macaroni & Cheese side dish made up for the chicken disappointment.

All in all, our experience here was OK and maybe our expectations were high from our past experience at other Gannon inspired restaurants. This is great place to meet friends or have dinner with family and take a stroll down memory lane with the older set, who can probably tell you great stories of the old Sugar or Pineapple Plantation days of the past...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SGerard_S84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai City Grille also viewed

 

Been to Lanai City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing