We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best on the west!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ishihara Market

Ishihara Market
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best on the west!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Before heading out on your long journey to Waimea canyon or bringing your family to see the ocean, peer, swim, enjoy the sunrise/sunset or anything? This is a must stop local mom & pop store! They have hot lunches, varieties of prepared barbecue meats, poultry and don't forget their famous poke (raw fish) and bentos. Everyone there is always helpful and courteous and will put a smile on your face before you leave. The downside is they are kind of high in prices in certain things and I know they try their best to compete with Times which is across the street. However if you want quality and happy employees and Ono food, this is the place to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloha-Kauai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    72
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stopped here on our way to the Waimea Canyon. Very large selection on lunch items to go. Plate lunches, sushi, sandwiches, etc. The sandwiches were already made and packaged with some pasta salad both very good. Great quick place to stop and grab lunch for your trip to the canyon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvvacation58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wasabi poke is great...but also try the Kalbi beef ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Tried about 5 of their many poke varieties. Found wasabi ahi to be my favorite.

Saw the kalbi beef marinating down the way for a reasonable price so I tried it (the condo I was staying at had a condo). Wow it was great.

Service also was great. They were so willing to offer samples. Would have given 5 stars but found the regular ahi poke to be goodbut not necessarily noteworthy.

Very much recommend. Not too far from Poipu beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTrvlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best Poke bar, very very fresh and affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had such good luck to be introduced to Poke at this market and we are HOOKED! The friendly old Asian man behind the Poke counter asked me if I would like a sample. Wow! I have never had Poke before and to be honest, I wasn't sure how I would handle a lot of raw seafood. They taste so good and fresh. They also have warm rice to go with the Poke if you like, so we end up buying everyone lunch here and really enjoyed it. Go there in the morning and get it fresh. This is the best Poke we had in Kauai.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BoneyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped by here on on way back from the Canyon based on other's reviews. I'm sure our hiking may have contributed a bit to this review, but I had the absolute best fish sandwich ever from Ishihara. Also had a chance to try some raw crab and a few other samples.

We took our food out to one of the park benches outside- although not beach front, it was definitely a great value and earns a repeat visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benguin986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishihara Market also viewed

 

Been to Ishihara Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing