We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full Service Supermarket” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ishihara Market

Ishihara Market
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
641 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Full Service Supermarket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a good place to pick up snacks, drinks, and sandwiches on the way to Waimea Canyon if you want a picnic lunch. We got sandwiches for between $3 and $4. They have specials on their day old sandwiches. We are not into poke so I can't comment on that but this is a good size, clean supermarket to help your budget.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    72
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everyone drives up to Waimea Canyon when you visit Kauai so you will pass right by this place. It is the local grocer for Waimea but they also have a very good deli counter with a wide assortment of fresh prepared lunch plates, sandwiches and other prepared food items. It was packed with locals ordering their lunch both times I visited. I bought some sandwich fixins' and they were fresh and excellent. Don't drive by without taking a look.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food to pick up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This isn't really a restaurant but more of a deli where you can pick up food. Great variety of seafood dishes. The woman working was very helpful and let us try samples. Prices are very reasonable. The food was so excellent my husband couldn't even talk and requested to go back on our trip. This is a good place to pick up food and take it to one of the many beautiful locations on the island to eat it. One evening we picked up food here and ate on the beach watching the sun set.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great to pick-up food on go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The town of Waimea, Kauai is small and compact. If you come on a day when most of the restaurants are closed, on Mondays, it may be challenging to locate a place to offer lunch. A good alternative is to stop by the Ishihara Market in Waimea. It is right across the street from the Capt. Cook Monument. They have a wide choice of prepared foods to select from-- including fresh fruit salad, mini turkey rolls x8 in a package, Chinese chicken salad were among the items we tried. You may eat out in the picnic tables right outside the store or across the street at the Capt. Cook Monument picnic tables. Nice place to stop for a lunch as the town is so laid back and non-rushing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chillywillypenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“poke lunch to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stopped at the Ishihara Market on the road back from Waimea Canyon to pick up ahi poke, shrimp poke, cucumber kim chee, rice and a papaya for lunch. The deli counter is at the back of store and the friendly servers offers samples of their poke. Rice is behind the counter, just ask. Ishihara's is not a restaurant, it is a local grocery store that happens to have a deli with very tasty poke!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishihara Market also viewed

 

Been to Ishihara Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing