We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip to Kauai”
Review of Liko Kauai Cruises

Liko Kauai Cruises
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Kauai”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

After years of using trip advisor (including using it to select which Na Pali boat tour to take) I finally made an account to review these guys. We booked a tour on April 12, but that date coincided with a strong cold front bringing thunderstorms, high surf, and poor visibility. Everything we read told us to book tours early in our trip to allow time to reschedule in case of bad weather. Glad we did because Liko Kauai called before ou tour to cancel or reschedule due to the weather. Going out that day would have been risky and they didn't want to make us pay for a choppy cruise with views of just clouds and rain. We rescheduled for Monday 4/15 and had a great trip. The crew, Captain Rob and Daryl, treated everyone on the ship like an old friend, providing lots of great information and making considerable effort to ensure everyone was enjoying the trip. Even the two women who were struggling with seasickness were smiling most of the trip; the crew worked hard to make them as comfortable as possible.

Rather than stick to some pre-determined route Captain Rob and Daryl cater the tour to the wildlife that comes into view, the interests of their passengers, and the wave/weather conditions. We got to see the entire Na Pali coast and partially entered dramatic sea caves with waterfalls (couldn't go all the way due to the surf - but still amazing!) We saw bottlenosed dolphins on the hunt right next to the boat, spinner dolphins, sea turtles, and to my surprise given how late in whale season it was - lots of Humpback whales, including both young males and a baby whale fully breaching. At one point Captain Rob dropped a microphone in the water so we could hear the humpbacks sing - he seemed just as excited as us tourists by what we heard!

The 30 minute snorkel stop wasn't the best snorkeling I've done on the islands, but was still fun and the setting amazing. You may or may not be as lucky with wildlife viewing as we were, but that was all just icing on the cake to the views of the Na Pali. The key takeaway from me is that these guys know the area well and have the freedom and enthusiasm to make your trip as good as it can be. The rest is up to Mother Nature, and this company seems to know her quite well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    31
    7
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect boat tour for families!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We brought young children, ages 5 and 3 on this tour and it was perfect for us all. The size of the boat is ideal to see the beautiful Na Pali coast and go into sea caves. They had snorkel gear for everyone, including the kids and made sure that everyone had a great snorkeling experience. The lunch was good with lots of delicious native fruit. We saw more sea life on this trip than ever before - spinner dolphins, sea turtles, fish and even a shark. Our crew, Captain Rob, Phil and Daro were awesome. Daro is a native and was so knowledgable about everything. We all had fun sitting on the bow for most of the trip to take in the spectacular views. Captain Rob even let the kids see the helm, where he drove the boat. This was the best Hawaiian cruise we've ever done - we'll do it again next time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda11333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent! Best part of our whole trip!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our tour with Liko Kauai Cruises. The crew was FANTASTIC. They were incredibly friendly and excited to share their knowledge of the island with us. We had great weather, which allowed us to get all the way up the Napali Coast and see the breathtaking scenery. We saw spinner dolphins, turtles, and whales--the crew was just as excited as (if not more than!) everyone on the cruise when we spotted various wildlife. We even got to snorkel and swim along the coast; the water was 30+ feet deep, and we could see all the way to the bottom of the brilliant blue water. Lunch was much better than I had expected it would be on a boat tour with 30 people--fresh sandwiches (lots of veggies on my vegetarian sandwich), fresh fruit, various drinks, chips, and homemade cookies.

Our boat did have a slight mechanical mishap--but I say that only to highlight the crew's calm nature and expertise. They told us about the issue and explained their plans to fix it; we were all so thrilled with the experience, we actually wished they couldn't fix it so that we could spend more time on the water! In the end, they were able to solve the problem, and we returned without issue. No one felt concerned because we were confident in the crew's ability to manage the situation, which they did with excellence.

I have seen few/no places in the world more beautiful than the Napali Coast, and the crew of Liko Kauai Cruises left nothing to be desired! I absolutely recommend this tour company!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nyindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best way to see Napali - best boat tour!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We used Liko Kauai this year after larger catamarans from Port Allen - this was far superior. The boat gets you closer to the action and coast, the crew and accommodations are great and the sights including very knowledgeable crew provide better snorkeling, dolphin and whale watching. We had our three children and it was the highlight of the trip to Kauai. Can't say enough great things and it was very nice of the humpback whales to put on a very dramatic show for us! Mahalo Liko Kauai.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun and great trip from the west side.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been on this trip a handful of times before. This is the first time during the winter. We love Liko Kauai for the local folks who run it, because it goes out of Kikiaola harbor since we stay in Waimea and the boat they use is great.

Speaking of the boat, every one sits forward so the view is great. There is no view obstruction. They have a marine head (bathroom) and there is a covered portion of the rows so if you need shade you can get it. They also let you sit on the front with your feet hanging over when the conditions allow. I stood at the side railing near the rear for a great view. We did not snorkel due to cloudy conditions. The captain asked all aboard if anyone wanted to and since no one did we spent more time sightseeing.

We saw humpback whales, spinner dolphins, bottlenose dolphins, turtles hauled out on the beach and albatross.

The captain and crew were attentive and provided a wealth of information. I got some hiking advice from on of the deckhands.

When we bring friends and family we always take them on Liko Kauai and we will go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liko Kauai Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Liko Kauai Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing