We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner after visiting Waimea Canyon”

Wrangler's Steakhouse
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Waimea
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Polynesian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner after visiting Waimea Canyon”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner. Nice to be seated outside. Staff nice and friendly. Soup and salad bar underwhelming but the steak and seafood specials were excellent. Must have peach cobbler for dessert!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChangYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    135
    58
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Do not miss this stop on your way to or from Waimea Canyon. We stopped for a late lunch here following a breathtaking trip into Waimea Canyon. Situated on the main street of Waimea in a historic building, this casual but excellent restaurant was a gem. Service was quick and friendly. The salad bar was very fresh and yummy and included the soup of the day, garlic vegetable...it was delicious! My husband loved his steak sandwich but my salmon salad with a very generous portion of pecan encrusted very fresh salmon was to die for! That being said from a west coast gal who has ready access to salmon all the time! Highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dutchgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good steak dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here many times and have not been disappointed yet. The menu is not extensive with steak being the main focus. I have eaten just about every steak dish and tonight had the pepper crusted ribeye steak. My wife had the caper new york. Other selections include sizzling steak, puhelu fillet and pork porterhouse. They also have New York, ribeye and fillet simply grilled over keawe. Tempura is the vegetarian selection. The seafood selection is basic, including crab and lobster. The only local seafood was the special which was wahoo. If you have enough room I highly recommend the peach cobbler which they bake to order. We split one between the two of us. There is no "bar" but they do serve cocktails during dinner. The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. I always look forward to eating here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Dismal Food and Service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were driving to the canyon and stopped in Waimea for lunch. We picked this place and were very sorry we did. Of the 4 of us, not one of us enjoyed our lunch. The salmon filet on a bed of wilted greens was the worst of the dishes - and at approx. $15 for the plate, was also the most expensive. Only the raw ahi appetiser was finished.. at least this restaurant didn't ruin raw fish. Skip this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I ended up eating here a couple of times in the afternoon. We ordered the same thing (burgers) both times. The waiter remembered us and even remembered my special requests/changes for my burger - very impressive! The burgers were good and they were reasonably priced (for Hawaii). The salad bar was disappointing, but it was all fresh. It was great sitting on the patio - it's quite dark inside the actual restaurant. However, don't expect the view to be amazing - you'll be looking at a road and a grocery store across the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank foreverblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Wrangler's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing