We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but not for people who get car sick.”
Review of Waimea Canyon

Waimea Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Kauai: Waimea Canyon Tour
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Grand Canyon of the Pacific," Waimea Canyon is 10 miles long and 3,600 feet deep.
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not for people who get car sick.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A loooong slow road up the mountain. The road is very winding and curvy. We stopped along the road to go for a small hike. It was raining (as usual here) and we were so carsick and wobbly we decided to skip it and head back down the mountain and hang out at the beach. It was beautiful though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,139
    603
    74
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Beauty - Not to be missed”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

You can see it by helicopter and it is amazing butthere is nothing like seeing it from the overlooks and through hiking trails. This was my favorite activity of all things we did on either Maui or Kauai!! Nothing like the views and the trails were greatly maintained........unbelievable majesty and sights should not be missed!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“World class views”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is worth the drive up the winding, narrow road to see the Napali Coast on one side and the expansive Waimea Canyon on the other. The pictures don't even do it justice!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cckoffarnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Prior to our trip to Kauai, people told us to be sure to drive to the Waimea Canyon...It was worth the drive even though the road to the top was very boring. It was a windy, two-lane drive. Fortunately, there were three or four viewing spots along the way. The best pull-off was the first one. We did reach the top and expected a "Wow" view. It certainly was beautiful but not spectacular...Drive up was disappointing but it was worth the drive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Grand canyon of Kauai”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is not Grand Canyon, but the view is just as breathtaking and beautiful. It has the mountain/canyon on one side and the Pacific Ocean on the other.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sher2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waimea Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing