We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Tacos!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Taco

Island Taco
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tacos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The wife and I were in Hawaii quite a while ago, but forgot to rate this place. Definitely gets five stars, one of the best places we ate on the island. Tacos are delicious and very filling, worth a stop here after driving down from the Canyon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    176
    50
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family of 6 and loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have 4 boys from 4 to 10 years of age. We just finished a 5 mile hike and pounded some killer tacos. We spent $50 but could have done without 2 or 3 of the kids meals per everything was huge. The gals working here love what they do. Super friendly! For the price and how quick it was I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balzaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

After driving to Waimea Canyon last week my husband and I were starved. Island Taco was recommended in our guidebook so we gave it a shot. I ordered a Wasabi Ahi taco and my husband ordered a Kalua Pork. I wasn't sure how many to order since they offer them as a plate of one, two or three. Well, one was more than enough! These are big tacos and they are packed full of whatever delicious filling you choose and served with a side of thin, tortilla chips and salsa.

Everything tasted fresh and homemade and the flavors were fantastic. I tried my husband's Kalua pork, which was good, but the Ahi was the winner. The flavor of the wasabi was just right and worked wonderfully with the fish, cabbage and rice filling.

Simple, no frills roadside restaurant that lets the food speak for itself. Saw several people coming from work to have lunch so it was a good mix of tourists and locals. Would definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeInTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The fish tacos were very good. We chose this restaurant because it was the busiest of the three restaurants in closest proximity. Would recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge tacos, fun options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband was talking about tacos since we landed. Our first attempt was Pat's Taqueria, but we had just missed him by a couple of days. This was next on our list. After visiting the canyon, we stopped in for a late lunch. My husband had the fish taco (ahi or mahi mahi, not sure) and I had the kalua pork taco. While we were tempted to get two, the staff let us know that unless we were crazy hungry, one would do the job - she was right, of course. My husband taco was great, the seasonings were yummy and the sauce provided was a great compliment. Mine was just as good, but I would have liked a little more kalua pork and a little less cabbage. Either way, I walked away full and happy. We were also able to drink our own beers out on the picnic tables. Great with tacos!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rykey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Taco also viewed

 

Been to Island Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing