We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripoff”

Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc.
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkel the majestic Na Pali coast of Kauai off of Captain Na Pali's zodiac. Ride alongside dolphins, turtles, and whales with unbelievable vistas from every angle. Explore sea caves, visit remote beaches, waterfalls, and more!
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked a last minute snorkeling trip. Got up next day at 5 am to show up at 7 and was promptly told no snorkeling due to excessive rain and weather. Rain and stormy conditions persisted for prior 3 days and therefore Captain Joe knew that there would be no possibility of snorkeling yet he booked us anyway. We truly believe this was planned to gain the $600.00 in fees he collected at the time of booking. PS, we were firmly told no refunds.

Worst part of our 3 weeks vacation in Hawaii. Horrible ride pounding over waves in an open zodiac small rubber boat. Soaked and cold with peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch.

Low class operation, one to avoid.



Questions to ask at time of booking, 1. is there a possibility snorkeling will be cancelled? 2. If so, I will receive a refund? If no to either question, don't do it!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe6511, Owner at Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc., responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience exploring Na Pali Coast. We want to create wonderful experiences for our guest and when we hear that you did not enjoy your tour, we feel sorrowful. You booked a tour for 4 the night before you were leaving the island. We had two others aboard that day. Kauai's winter weather conditions change daily, so we take steps to ensure customers understand what they can expect that given day. Each morning, we assess the weather conditions, providing this assessment to the guests. On the day of your tour, snorkeling was not ideal, so we offered you the option to reschedule or cancel the tour with full refund. The opportunity to reschedule or cancel was provided before the tour began to all guest. At that time, we were inform it was your last day and you chose to proceed with the tour, so off we went! We realize that expectations differ in people, we have been fortunate to share Kauai's Na Pali Coast with many who embrace the adventurous nature of being in the 24ft ocean raft with twin 115hp engines. We have a staff member Marcial who answers the phone daily please call him any time. He will be glad to help you. Mahalo Capt. Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    11
    2
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spoilt by a bad attitude”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hopefully the Captain got out of bed the wrong side the morning of our tour and he is not always so grumpy and rude as his attitude was the one thing that really spoiled our trip. I have to say that the Napali coast is beautiful and well worth seeing from a boat. I enjoyed the ride on the zodiac but please be aware that RIBs aren't to everyone's taste and things can get a bit bumpy. We did a morning trip and it can be quite cold so take a jumper or two. We didn't get to snorkel as the swell was too large and the water churned up, this was understandable and perfectly acceptable - we wouldn't have wanted to go in in those conditions. A good lunch of sandwich crisps and drink was provided. Joe was clearly a very skilful and experienced boat handler but did not make use of his kill cord.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe6511, Owner at Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc., responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aloha, thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us! We enjoy the opportunity to share the beauty of Na Pali coast with you, even in the less than ideal water conditions during the winter months.

We learn and grow from our experiences. We are continuing to work towards providing the kind of service people expect.

Your comments of Captain Joe's boating skills is a testament to our 100% safety record since 2008 when he started the company. We are committed to provided a safe and fun rafting tour for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great view, awesome ride!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a great attraction for younger people, in good condition. The boat ride can get BUMPY, and it takes awhile to get out to the Napali Coast from Waimea. Needles to say it is well worth it, we saw spinner Dolphins, get a great view of the coast, got to go in sea caves, and explore the beauty that makes Napali Famous. The snorkeling was better than I expected. The captain was friendly enough, but you could tell he had done this a 1,000 time before and was not the most friendly person in the world. There were some overweight women on boat, and they couldn't get off the boat to go snorkeling. This is an 22 foot inflatable boat, not the most stable thing in the world, which is why I enjoyed it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank reneescutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe6511, Owner at Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc., responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Aloha thank you for your feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a blast on our tour of the Napali Coast with Captain Joe of Captain Na Pali Adventures. We rode in a zodiac raft and enjoyed just over 5 hours on the water weaving in and out of beautiful features of the Na Pali Coast. We even got to stop and snorkel in a beautiful bay only accessible by boat where we saw hundred of fish, gorgeous coral, and swam with two huge sea turtles. Captain Joe was very information of the history and use of the lands of the Na Pali Coast and the Navy Base located on the white sand beach of the coast. I must say the ride is very bumpy and it takes some strength to hold onto the ropes but if you follow his instructions and lean backwards, you will be fine. I do not think smaller children or older adults would enjoy this ride, however we are young adults and had the strength to hold on. The tour provided lunch and although it was a sandwich and a bag of chips, Captain Joe never claimed to be a chef! Perhaps the most exciting part of the tour was seeing huge groups of dolphins, both spinner and bottlenose, socailizing near the shore. We would stop right in the middle of them while they popped up and jumped out of the water right next to us. There was some splashing but my Nikon camera that is not waterproof was safe- I highly recommend you bring you camera on this tour! We saw so many gorgeous sites and can't say enough how much fun we had!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randilundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“na pali zodiac tour”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

One word awesome! This needs to be must for your stay for kauai. Great adventure down the west coastline. Captain Joe puts his own personal touch on the trip by advising you of the coastline history. We say spiiner dolphins & followed them for a while. Snorkeling was great but no turtles but still an awesome adventure! A BIG MAHALO TO CAPT JOE

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing