We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day trip”

Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc.
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snorkel the majestic Na Pali coast of Kauai off of Captain Na Pali's zodiac. Ride alongside dolphins, turtles, and whales with unbelievable vistas from every angle. Explore sea caves, visit remote beaches, waterfalls, and more!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Day trip”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful excursions, and a must for first time visitors to the island. The catamaran was clean, the food was excellent, and the crew was very knowledgeable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shafa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    11
    2
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Bouncy but Beautiful Zodiac Raft Excursion”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second time taking the 5 1/2 hour morning Na Pali Coast tour. The zodiac raft seems like the best way to see the breathtaking volcanic mountains along this rugged coast (short of getting a permit to hike in them). Sitting in the raft when it hits the waves feels like being on a rough, bouncy amusement ride and is definitely not suited for anyone with physical issues that can be exacerbated by bucking bronco-type motion. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride, despite having an ancient low back injury, so it's just an individual thing. The larger catamarans provide a much smoother ride, so are always an option. This trip was very pleasant. In contrast to a rather rushed and more touristy-feeling raft trip we took with a different rafting company during a previous visit in 2008, the tour with Captain Na Pali felt more relaxed and educational. The Captain, Joe, took the time to tell us about the history and geology of the area, which made for a much more interesting excursion. We saw a school of spinner dolphins and several sea turtles while out, visited a popular and luminously gorgeous sea cave, stopped at an abandoned fishing village to snorkel and enjoyed the misty, magical, multi-layered views of the coastal mountains. Captain Joe and his skipper were friendly and fun. At one point, when we were snorkeling, someone lost their wedding band in the murky waters. The skipper dived right in and actually found it, but it seems like a good idea to leave any particularly prized jewelry back at the base. All in all, a great time!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Way to See the Na Pali Coast”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic zodiac (inflatable raft with metal bottom) tour that goes up and down the Napali tour and visits sea caves (weather permitting). The captain, Joel, has lived on Kauai for many years and understands, appreciates and communicates the Hawaiian culture via its roots on the Napali Coast. Tis tour is awesome but unfortunately, not for everyone. The boat slams the waves and can give your spine a jolt. If your prone to seasickness and not a fan of rough rides it'll be too bad.

This tour also has more competitive priced than others at the time.

Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Exciting, spectacular, memorable, not for the faint of heart.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Joe took us along almost the entire Na Pali coast--truly beautiful. We went in several caves, saw many dolphins, and snorkeled among numerous sea turtles. He shared a wealth of interesting information, making the tour meaningful as well as gorgeous.

However the ride is not exactly comfortable. My (normal-sized) feet were killing me from being stuffed under the strap, and though my back is not normally "bad," it got thrashed when the boat would bang down in the waves. I felt like my vertebrae were being compacted--it was painful. At least I didn't get sea sick! Overall it was well worth it, but do heed that "no bad backs" policy--he really means it.

Helpful?
Thank Eaglerockmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Fun”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I did the 5 1/2 hour snorkel adventure. The views of the Na Pali cliffs were amazing. We did see a few spinner dolphins and two sea turtles along the way. The crew were friendly and gave great info regarding the history and folk lore of the local area. Lunch was provided after we snorkeled (deli meats, bread, pasta salad, soda, and beer, wine).

The snorkeling was OK but not spectacular. However, that's all relative depending on one's experiences. The seas can get a little rough so if you're prone to seasickness premedicate and be prepared.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank soitgoes2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Captain Na Pali Adventures, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing