We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveler rating
576
215
58
41
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
215
58
41
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold hawaiibedroom cottageblack sand beachplantation cottagessalt pondwest sidebanyan treesauthentic hawaiian experiencelaid backkokee state parkishihara marketnearby riverfull kitchenrocking chairsthree bedroomshrimp stationbeautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 921 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a very special place. Grounds were enormous and lovely, and our ocean front cottage # 69 was perfect for my husband, our new baby, and grandma. Expect atmosphere, period furnishings, and a basic but workable kitchen in a beautiful setting and you will not be disappointed. The ocean breeze and surf at night led to fantastic sleep, we did not have any issues with roosters so they have either been run off or perhaps congregate near other cabins? The town of Waimea was actually larger and more interesting than I expected, but other reviewers are correct about the limited dinner options. Thankfully we found the restaurant on site very friendly and more than adequate for several meals. I certainly preferred it to anything much pricier at the larger resorts.

It seems reviewers are unhappy based on variance between cabins, this seems easily addressed by requesting cabins recommended here on Tripadvisor or calling to describe preferences. Visitors who prefer all inclusive cookie cutter resorts will be happier elsewhere. It is true that some of the period furnishings are not in perfect condition, but we found everything very clean and perfectly usable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

From what I've seen, these are the most beautiful accommodations on the island. I absolutely loved staying here and wish I'd stayed longer. The cottage we stayed in is beautiful and well appointed, and the grounds are spectacular. The ambiance is relaxed and majestic. The beach is beautiful and the pool lovely.

It would have been nice to have someone on staff to accompany us to our cottage the first time that we went there. It turned out we'd been given the wrong key, so at first we weren't sure if we had the correct cottage (why not identify each cottage with a sign stating it's name that matches it's name on the map?) We weren't sure we had the right cottage since our key didn't work, but then realized we had been given the wrong key, and went back to reception to correct the issue.

Also, we did not realize we could park in front of our cottage until someone from staff came by on a golf cart and told us. It required driving across the lawn, so we didn't just assume we could do so. It would be nice if we were told at reception when we picked up our key that we could drive across the lawn and park in front of our cottage.

The cottages are old so bugs get inside even if the screens are all closed. I suppose this is just part of the ambiance but if there were a way to prevent it that would be ideal.

Since there is a lack of healthy breakfast options in the area, it would be great if there was a breakfast option at the hotel. There was an advertisement for the Aston Wimea Plantation Cottages posted in the breezeway that pictured softboiled eggs, so I just assumed breakfast would be available, but then I discovered that it is not. The nearby breakfast restaurant recommended by the lovely gentleman at the front desk was convenient but greasy and of mediocre quality.

And finally, this hotel is not super centrally located. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in the east and/or the north, you may consider not spending your entire stay here. It'll be a 30 minute drive to PoiPu and a 1.5- 2 hour drive to the north. But there is still a lot to do using Aston Waimea as a jumping off point, including Waimea Canyon and Koke'e national park, catamaran/snorkel/whale watch tours on the Na Pali coast out of Port Allen (Ele'ele), visits to Polihale and other western beaches and Hanapepe art night on Friday nights.

Room Tip: Stayed in the kuwate cottage and loved it because it's more secluded than most. 2 bedrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This may be the best slice of old Hawaii that is also a lovely hotel. The grounds are spacious, full of palms and flowering plants, and the cottages are just adorable. Most are fairly close together in a couple of rows down the middle of the resort, but there are also some outlying cottages, mostly larger, set out on large lawns. We had one of those, a two room cottage well away from others, with views of the ocean across the lawn beyond a row of trees. The beach is narrow, dark gray, and swimming is not recommended because the water is quite murky and sharks are common. It's a good beach for walking along.

There was a nice big porch on the ocean side of the cottage, perfect for reading or just kicking back. The furnishings were basic, nothing fancy, but very much in keeping with the beach cottage theme. The bed was just fine. If you can't deal with roosters crowing at odd times this is not the place for you. The grounds are inhabited by a colorful collection of birds, both chickens, many unusual looking crosses of colorful jungle fowl brought by the Hawaiians and other modern varieties. There are also plenty of lively mynahs.

The restaurant was basic, but handy for very good breakfasts and decent simple dinners. Waimea is a very small town so there aren't many nearby alternatives. Driving towards the big resorts at Poipu you'll find more choices. It's a lovely drive and not all that far.

The major disadvantage of staying in Waimea is how long it takes to get to the north side of the island, where the scenery is lusher, the beaches are prettier, and there are good spots for snorkeling. Some of that can be found in the Poipu area about half an hour from Waimea, but the north shore is still prettier
It takes at least a couple of slow hours of driving to get over there.

Right above Waimea is lovely Waimea Canyon, carved by the Waimea out of the distinctively bright red lava of the area. There is an excellent scenic highway to the top with good viewpoints. At the top you get more surprises. One is that you are on top of the rugged Na Pali Coast, falling away below you in narrow green ravines. There is a trail that takes you along the cliff tops and then into a shallow bowl atop the island that is a high altitude swamp. Boardwalks cross the wetter bits, but the rest of the trail, including along the cliff tops, is very slippery and sometimes quite steep. Only recommended for the sure-footed, but gorgeous even if all you do is drive up and back down.

This was one of the best vacations I've ever had, a perfect week in a resort that consistently exceeded my expectations. Not for people who want every possible activity right at their resort. This is for kicking back and enjoying a look at old Hawaii.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfcueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Cottage 57 was a dream come true. A perfect place to call home; I wish is was. The windows and fans provided great feeling of nature and the location couldn't have been better. Near the pool and beach with large covered patio facing the sunset. The plants provided privacy from near cottages and there was an a/c unit in the bedroom. Perfect for one or two.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Bubblebutt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our family has been going here for over 20 years and just love it. Great location, Wonderful people and a cottage all your own set amongst gardens and a huge lawn. Perfect place for families who want a low key vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chapin802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews