We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waimea Plantation Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt like home!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for the second half of our trip, after spending the first half on the other side of the island at a more upscale resort. To begin with, we felt like it was a bit of a let down after the first resort, which was very luxurious, but after we settled in, we really loved this place. It felt like a real home experience, to come back to our own little cottage, our own well stocked kitchen, even our own little garden. The cottage we stayed in was designated as a disabled accessible unit, with a ramp and an oversized bath, however, I'm not sure somebody in a wheelchair could actually use it, because there is no way that a wheelchair could actually get into the main part of the cottage without negotiating at least one step or door sill! This was not an issue for us, so we just enjoyed the extra space in the bath!

Our cottage was off to the side of the property, adjacent to the little graveyard behind the Catholic Church, so not in the really scenic part of the property. There are some other fairly dilapidated buildings nearby, so we did have to walk into the main part of the property to really enjoy how pretty the resort is. I would love to stay there again, but I would request a unit in a different part of the resort next time!

The kitchen was basic, but had everything we needed. We were supplied with an abundance of very nice towels in our two bathrooms. The furniture was simple, but comfortable. The only thing that was not great was our internet access, until our last morning, when a router was finally installed in our unit. The next guest will benefit from that.

We did have some issues with mosquitoes, and the roosters woke us up early every morning, but that is just how it is when you visit Kauai. All in all, it was a great experience!

Room Tip: Cottages on the inner loops of the resorts have the nicest ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    175
    54
    37
    26
See reviews for
237
329
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived it was raining and I was concerned about the warm very humid air and the one little air conditioner in the bedroom. By the next morning I realized what a quant and serene place this was.

After a few days we wished we could live here. This i cottage housing for employees of the former sugar cain plantation. It is an assortment of individual cottages at surrounded by grass and chickens.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a large family vacation and all decided to go to the cottages for a bit more of a rustic style vacation, instead of staying in a resort hotel. We were absolutely blown away by the best experience of our life!
The cottages are beautiful! When you step into them for the first time, you instantly feel that you're at home. Every cottage (we rented two) has all the amenities you should need. Large living room, with a comfy couch and chairs, a dining room table and lovely overhead light, a large kitchen, with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator. Two bathrooms (some cottages vary) and an amazingly soft bed.
The staff was hands down what sold us on the place though. I'm from Seattle and I sunburn easily, so naturally I got cooked on the 3rd day. The staff was kind enough to bring me aloe stalks every morning and give me all the aspirin I could want, to help me with a speedy recovery.
The grounds are meticulously groomed, they have a bar and grill on site (karaoke in the evenings), swimming pool and volleyball court next to the beach. All you would ever need to be entertained. Also super close to Waimea Canyon.
The only complaint that I could possibly think of, was on our first day entering the cabin, some dirty dishes were put away, so we had to clean them all as a result. Other than that, rave reviews all around.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We loved this place for its oceanfront location, uniqueness, and laid back vibe. We loved our cottage, which I think was in better shape than some. It has gorgeous refinished wood floors in all areas except the kitchens and baths. Screens have some holes, and the tiled tub in one of the bathrooms needs repair. Some of the walls had red dust on them, maybe from having windows/ doors open when it was windy - should give these some attention at least a couple of times a year! I will say that the cottage was otherwise very clean. The kitchen was well equipped - I had no problem making Thanksgiving dinner with the utensils, pots, etc. that were provided. Wifi was fast and reliable. Temperature inside the cottage was good as long as we managed the windows and ceiling fans. The grounds are beautifully maintained. Grove Cafe was closed and was supposed to open 'some time in the fall'. Still not open Thanksgiving week, was told December 1...don't think so based on the state I saw it in on November 28th! There is a Big Save supermarket right in town, so not sure why there are complaints on this site about availability..it's big, right on the main drag and hard to miss. Laundry room - only one washer and dryer, could use a couple more of each. Desk staff could have been a little more engaged, but were helpful. All said, I would stay here again if I could have the same cottage.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front cottage. Good breezes from the ocean to keep comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pammo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights in November. We absolutely loved it. To be fair, we prefer unusual and casual places, and we really do not like all-inclusive resorts. This is not a typical Hilton type resort, so if that is what you are looking for, do not stay here.
Yes, the restaurants are limited in this area of the island, and some close early, especially on Sundays, but we actually got the Hawaiian BBQ (fast food) and loved the fact we could bring it back to eat on our lanai. The second night we went the Wrangler, and I wished we had gotten take out just to enjoy the cottage more. The grounds are beautiful and we had no problem with bugs inside. The chickens... ok, they are noisy, but you get used to it. And they are all over the island, - no natural predators and they are protected, so unless you like to travel all the way to Kauai to pretend you are staying in a Florida air-conditioned resort, you're going to hear chickens crowing.
The beach is lovely, actually long enough to take a decent walk on, unlike a lot of other beaches, and the sunsets are gorgeous. You'll have to ask my husband about the sunrises...
It is very tranquil and the cottages are spaced apart. I would have stayed longer, but there is so much to see in Hawaii that we had to continue onward.

Room Tip: If you're lucky and travel in the off season, you might get an upgrade to a bigger cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neatplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. We stayed in cabin 39 for 4 nights via Groupon. Definitely not coming back. To start off the good things:
1) quiet
2) beach is within hearing distance
3) ...
4) they have a PS3 and DVDs you can rent nightly.

That's about it.

Being on vacation cleaning up continually wasn't something I wanted to do, however the ant infestation was so bad that 20 minutes after leaving a paper towel used to rest our pasta spoon on it was covered in ants. I spend the evenings cleaning up every scrap of food up to limit the grossness. We bought some pasta as the food selection here is nil and opened it about 30 minutes before using it. The box is now infested with bugs. Not sure what we will do now since everything that supplies food closes at 9pm.

Some other notes:
The shrimp station, taco place, and shave ice places here are good. However they close at like 5pm so you're pretty much on your own for food. Also note the grocery selection is extremely limited. Ishihara Market has fresh tuna and beef, so if you're not into eating either then you're stuck with frozen pizza dinners.

This place is great for a non-foodie / someone who loves frozen food/ looking for seclusion but if you want a few good places for dinner and a decent grocery selection then DEFINITELY look somewhere else. Also. Bugs. Everywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Stew0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall Y, General Manager at Waimea Plantation Cottages, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments. Our resort is a collection of 60 restored plantation cottages spread out on 27 acres of a verdant plantation setting fronting the ocean. Our lush grounds are maintained by a staff of 6 full-time groundskeepers while insects are controlled by regular treatment by a professional contracted service. While the on-going property services are more than sufficient to keep incidents of insects to a minimum throughout the year, there are occasions such as the recent rains on Kauai that will cause some increased activity around the cottages. Our staff responds immediately to those incidents to reduce or eliminate the situations as quckly as possible. Throughout most of the year, the Waimea area is quite dry. In contrast, our property sits like an oasis, watered by the irrigation waters from the mountains that formerly watered the plantations that once served as the local industry.

Our resort restaurant is currently undergoing renovation and will reopen in mid-December as a full-service restaurant and bar serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Wrangler's Steak House in Waimea town, about 3 minutes by car, is another option for lunch and dinner for those who would like to dine at a steakhouse in Waimea town. Obsessions Restaurant is a great place for breakfast. Additionally, each cottage has a full kitchen and is stocked with dishes, utinsils, and appliances. Ishihara Market is a good local market to pick up supplies and Big Save / Times Supermarket is large enough to more than meet the needs of our guests.

Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages offers a truly unique experience - a chance to stay in an authentic, restored plantation cottage dating back to 1910-1930's. Each unit has a large front porch with lanai furniture where the family would gather to relax at the end of the day. Outdoor barbeque grills are provided at your cottage as part of our amenity fee (which includes high speed cable internet service as well as wi-fi hot spots, free newspapers, DVD and game rentals, and free local calls). The numerous seasonal fruit trees on the property offer compliementary fresh fruits for your picking including lychee, a varieity of mangoes, banana, local oranges, limes, and other fruits. Currently, star fruit are in season and available to guests.

At Aston Waimea Plantation cottages, we understand that we are not a match for everyone's taste. However, for those who are looking to experience what it might have been like to stay in a plantation cottage in "old Hawaii" in a beautiful, tranquil setting along the oceanside, we believe the experience that we have to offer here is unmatched anywhere else in Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Randy You
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Except for a flat screen TV, Sony play station & (slow) wireless connection, Plantation Cottages has an utterly 1950's feel: low ceilings, plasterboard walls, tiny & minimally equipped bathroom, smallish queen bed, thin curtains, funky furniture & no decoration, an indifferent male front-desk clerk. It's a bit evocative of a Hitchcock movie.

The upside is the tranquility of the large & uncrowded property, interrupted only by the many roosters who start competitive crowing around 2:30 a.m. As in most of Kauai, thick ear plugs are essential until your brain starts ignoring the urgent, ancient competition for gene pool continuity.

Very long beach just 100' beyond the closest cabins seemed appealing despite the warning signs; other on-site activities seemed limited to pool & shuffleboard. Seems like a good place for a large family get-together, maybe for honeymooners or for a writer needing solitude. Not a great place for nearby water sports or for food of any quality (restaurant is closed for major renovation).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Plantation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Plantation Cottages

Property: Waimea Plantation Cottages
Address: 9400 Kaumualii Highway, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Waimea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waimea Plantation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, individual plantation cottages set on a historic 27-acre coconut plantation in a beachside setting close to Kauai's famous Napali Coast and Waimea Canyon. Each self-contained cottage has been fully restored with modern appliances, full kitchens, and amenities. The simple, comfortable charm, genuine history and beautiful grounds allow guests to enjoy a unique experience unlike any other in the islands. Waimea Plantation Cottages offers beautiful settings for Wedding Celebrations, Anniversaries, Family Reunions, and Corporate Business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waimea Plantation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages Hotel Waimea
Resortquest Waimea Plantation Cottages
Waimea Plantation Cottages Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing